We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice, relaxing stay in paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Save Saved
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
wilmington, nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very nice, relaxing stay in paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in the Parrot Room of La Posada (King Bed, good for couples) for 4 nights and loved every minute of it! A very spacious room with a patio complete with hammock. Right next to Manuel Antonio with plenty of beaches, restaurants and bars. The bed was fine, but a little floppy and the bedding/pillows were a little on the flimsy side. If they put in some nicer bedding I would have given it a 5. We still slept great after all our outdoor activities! Very friendly, attentive, helpful staff, and a delicious morning breakfast! FYI: Lots and lots of families

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    98
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
221
268
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

There is simply no reason NOT to stay here in Manuel Antonio if you are looking to be close to the park/beach and away from much of the tourist hubub in the area. The staff is great, friendly, they really care about their guests, and the convenience to the park entrance can't be beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in La Casa, which was bigger than we needed, but we loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel butts up against the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park, and the public beach/shops/restaurants are maybe a 10-15 minute walk down the road. We stayed here for 5 nights. The bungalows are individual and quite roomy, with adequate hot water.

The rooms were cleaned meticulously on a daily basis. I had carelessly dumped out the contents of my bag onto the bed for a day at the beach, and when we returned I found all of my clothing neatly folded and my articles sorted and stacked.

There is a mini-fridge and coffeemaker in the room. Breakfast is free, served buffet style, and always pretty good. They serve dinner three nights a week, which is a good deal considering the price of food in Manuel Antonio.

The staff are personable but professional. They have two dogs who wander around the property and around town.

There are many trees on the properties, and the monkeys will often come over from the park in search of food. They are cute and small and fun to watch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

When we arrived at La Posada, we were greeted by our next door neighbors who were very friendly. They gave us tips on what to do in the area. Then they joined us at the beach, at the pool and at Manuel Antonio Park. La Posada serves dinner three nights per week for a mere $7.00. The food was awesome! There were only 8 units here which made is very easy to talk to people. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the fact that it was located right next to Manuel Antonio Park. Great place to stay!!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were in a good location. Perhaps Number 4 was the best if you want total priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Costa Rica always exceeds my (ridiculously high) expectations, and after my first visit to La Posada, I can say this little spot was no exception. There is no reason to stay elsewhere, if you are looking for clean, spacious, friendly accommodations. A few specific points:

The staff are efficient but there is a casual atmosphere that immediately disarms you when arriving at La Posada. It's not just the staff, it's the regulars who've been coming back year after year (or week after week, as it were). Service is fantastic, and at the same time you also feel comfortable helping yourself. It's impossible to imagine that a place so overridden with tourists has been able to maintain this balanced, relaxed atmosphere.

Location - obviously. Who needs a view of the beach when you have the park mere steps away, and all its glorious beaches and creatures? This might be the #1 reason to stay here. Hands down.

The food was delicious and fresh. I looked forward to the large breakfast every morning (and I hate mornings), and highly recommend the mahi mahi they serve up on Sunday nights. For a mere $7.

Staff were helpful and accurate with driving directions, as well as advice on tours and excursions. I can't describe how much fun and how beautiful this spot is. It won't be long before I return, that's for certain.

Room Tip: The Parrot bungalow was the furthest from the entrance and super private. With a massive king size b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanakena, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at La Posada Jungle. The location is perfect; right next to the entrance to Manuel Antonio Park. However, what makes this property most special is the people. Everyone from Mike (the owner) to Marco and the wonderful ladies go far beyond expectations to make your visit enjoyable. So much thought has gone into what makes a guest comfortable from wonderful bed linens, full-size coffee pot to a hammock on your private patio and so much more. The property is small, intimate and impeccably clean. When we left, we felt like we were leaving friends. Truly enjoyable experience. We would go back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are a family of four (boys age 9 and 11), and we ended our Costa Rica trip in Manuel Antonio. We stayed in the Monkey Room at La Posada, and had a FABULOUS time. The staff there are incredibly friendly and helpful, and we felt immediately right at home. Many guests there were returning for their 6th or 7th visit! We loved how the hotel employees were professional but flexible, and they loved hearing me try out my Spanish. Our boys were most impressed with their HUGE breakfast and assortment of bootleg DVD's, and all of us loved the 3 minute walk to the beach and village. The National Park entrance is literally a 30 second walk from the hotel, which means we got to see lots of wildlife in our hotel grounds as a bonus.
Admittedly, there are not ocean views from the rooms, but we didn't miss it at all. The grounds are well kept, the pool is cool and refreshing, and everything works like clockwork. Pura vida, La Posada....you made our dreams come true!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.