We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough about his place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Save Saved
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Poway, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't say enough about his place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friends and I just got back from a fabulous trip to Costa Rica and an Awesome experience at La Posada.... It's just the kind of place we always look for on our trips and more, warm, quaint, quiet, peaceful, friendly, comfortable, relaxing...... We stayed for a week, not long enough in our opinion so we have booked for next year. Everyone, owner, staff, guests were all so friendly and helpful, we felt as though we were staying with a large family. The place is small, I think like 8 roooms, which makes it possible to have that personal, family like experience. Mike the owner is a happy, friendly guy with a warm and natural style, he really cares about his guests, and wants to make their visit to be a happy one. His staff is fabulous, we wanted for nothing while in their care...Esteban took care of all our requests,and answered many of our questions, Jonathan was welcoming, helpful, and a great cook, Francine was such a sweetie she would go around and tell the guests when wildlife had come to visit so we could all visit back, what hotel does that? Thank You all for making our vacation so special, and for all the guides and excursions we went on WOW! what a trip. See you all next year.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the Monkey room and then the Villa, we loved both, one of our friends was sad to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    98
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
225
268
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband, 5 yr old son, and I stayed here for 3 nights. The house is nice and spacious...I would recommend renting it if you have kids. We loved the small, family friendly environment and enjoyed the hospitality of the ticos that work there. The hotel is located right outside the entrance to Manuel Antonio Park and walking distance to the public beach and restaurants. I would skip the public beach and pay the daily entrance fee to the park to enjoy its beaches. The beaches in the park are beautiful, clean and quiet...there were barely any people on the beach while we were there. We forgot our swimsuits in the dryer at La Posada and Mike/Jonathan were nice enough to send them back to CA! Great service! We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Where do I even begin? My friends and I absolutely LOVED everything about La Posada. Our bungalow was great, perfectly equipped (even a hammock on the porch) and ready for us to check in a few hours early. Jonathan (who is darling) showed us around the grounds and made us feel so welcome. The pool area is gorgeous and perfect for relaxing after a hot day. Being so close to the beach and park entrance made it easy to get around.

Mike, the owner, is such a gem. He invited us to a bonfire on the beach after we had dinner that night and just made it feel like such a family environment. The other guests at the hotel during our stay were so great too - all longtime friends who visit Costa Rica frequently - so it was really nice talking to them for their recommendations and seeing them around town.

All of the staff we met were also awesome - Liz made killer margaritas for us at the hotel bar, and hanging out with Esteban was so much fun...might be a little bit in love. ;)

We did not want to leave when our time was up, but hopefully we can come back to visit soon. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was quite pleased with my three night stay at La Posada, which is the closest hotel to Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica. The establishment is run by Mike, a California native, and he and his staff are very helpful in setting up tours of the national park, which is a tropical rain forest and one of the most biologically diverse areas of the world. The beach is only a short walk from the hotel. If you are interested in touring the national park, it is logistically the best place to stay, for the park gates are within 100 yards. Everything about the service at the hotel exceeded expectations. One of the best conveniences was that I was able to use the phone to call the United States, free of charge.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Expect to hear frogs at night. This adds to the character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This little piece of paradise has everything I love. Though it is American owned it is ran by local Costa Ricans that are very friendly and sweet. One of the girls would always come tell us when interesting animals were on the hotel property. This included different types of monkeys, iguanas, and a deer they've named Bambi. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in both "The Monkey Room" and "La Villa." The owner, Mike, does not live on site, but he was there everyday and was helpful and answered any questions we had. Jonathan and Esteban were also helpful, spoke English, answered our questions, and booked our excursions. I can't say enough about the staff. We were on a first name basis with them. They are truly amazing. One night Mike and Jonathan took us out to a local restaurant for a great dinner and live music. I don't know of other hotels that give you that kind of service. My friends and I are ready to book for next year and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was great! We stayed for 2 nights and easily could have stayed longer if we had the time. We had the Jungle Bungalow which was perfect for us, complete with coffee maker and microwave. The popcorn was an added bonus! The patio off the bungalow was excellant for relaxing and so close to the pool for coolling off. Location was great, steps to teh park, and only a 2 minute walk to the beach. It was an easy walk to plently of restaurants and we throughly enjoyed a few happy hours!

Breakfast was super - perfect actually. Since it is a small hotel, it is like having breakfast with an extended family. We used the laundry service here and were very happy we did - $6 per load, got our dirty laundry out of our bags and ready to wear again. This allowed us to pack lighter for this trip.

Johnathan, Mike and Marco were extremely helpful and full of advice - as far as I am concerned this is the ONLY place to stay while in Manuel Antonio. I almost did not want to write this review so I could keep this place "under the radar" so it has availability then next time I return..... because I definitely will be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Location - the gate to Manuel Antonio national park is literally 15 seconds from the front gate of LaPosada; extremely easy to find when driving since all one needs to do is drive to the park and you're there!
Grounds - lovely tropical vegetation; once you pass through the gate onto the property, you're enveloped in tropical plants & winding walkways to the bungalows & pool and you forget the throngs of tourists walking in & out of the park.
Rooms - we had #4 with a king bed & love seat with recliner/footrests, A/C, microwave (with popcorn!), refrigerator, tv, hairdryer (in bathroom); the room was immaculately cleaned from top to bottom every day!
Staff - Mike & Jonathon are personable, bi-lingual in English & Spanish, and saw to it our every request was fulfilled. The housekeeping staff is friendly, professional and trustworthy. It truly feels as if you're staying with a large family since everyone is so friendly.
Meals - Breakfasts were so filling that we never had room for lunch! Eggs are cooked to order, or pancakes available on alternating days; fresh bread is from the local bakery; mango juice & orange juice are fresh and plentiful; and of course...coffee...Costa Rican coffee!! Three nights each week there are dinners available for $7 each and we ate there each time one was offered. Our favorite was Mahi Mahi night.
Tours - Mike & Jonathon arrange for tour guides into the park at a lower rate than those of the commercial companies. Our guide was fantastic - a university student with impressive knowledge of the bio-diversity of the area, and armed with a telephoto camera lens to enable him to use our cameras to view the tiniest tree frog & photograph it.

We could've easily stayed another week at LaPosada and been completely comfortable there. The beach was a short walk (5 minutes) from our bungalow, and the little village of shops and bars in Manuel Antonio was only 10 minutes away. We also had several very good meals at a bar/restaurant recommended by Mike called El Sol. We were entertained by talented local musicians each time we dined there.

Thank you, LaPosada, for the perfect beginning to am unforgettable 5 week tour of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.