We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect way to begin a Costa Rica vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Save
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Three Rivers
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A perfect way to begin a Costa Rica vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Location - the gate to Manuel Antonio national park is literally 15 seconds from the front gate of LaPosada; extremely easy to find when driving since all one needs to do is drive to the park and you're there!
Grounds - lovely tropical vegetation; once you pass through the gate onto the property, you're enveloped in tropical plants & winding walkways to the bungalows & pool and you forget the throngs of tourists walking in & out of the park.
Rooms - we had #4 with a king bed & love seat with recliner/footrests, A/C, microwave (with popcorn!), refrigerator, tv, hairdryer (in bathroom); the room was immaculately cleaned from top to bottom every day!
Staff - Mike & Jonathon are personable, bi-lingual in English & Spanish, and saw to it our every request was fulfilled. The housekeeping staff is friendly, professional and trustworthy. It truly feels as if you're staying with a large family since everyone is so friendly.
Meals - Breakfasts were so filling that we never had room for lunch! Eggs are cooked to order, or pancakes available on alternating days; fresh bread is from the local bakery; mango juice & orange juice are fresh and plentiful; and of course...coffee...Costa Rican coffee!! Three nights each week there are dinners available for $7 each and we ate there each time one was offered. Our favorite was Mahi Mahi night.
Tours - Mike & Jonathon arrange for tour guides into the park at a lower rate than those of the commercial companies. Our guide was fantastic - a university student with impressive knowledge of the bio-diversity of the area, and armed with a telephoto camera lens to enable him to use our cameras to view the tiniest tree frog & photograph it.

We could've easily stayed another week at LaPosada and been completely comfortable there. The beach was a short walk (5 minutes) from our bungalow, and the little village of shops and bars in Manuel Antonio was only 10 minutes away. We also had several very good meals at a bar/restaurant recommended by Mike called El Sol. We were entertained by talented local musicians each time we dined there.

Thank you, LaPosada, for the perfect beginning to am unforgettable 5 week tour of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    106
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
260
288
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Great to be able to use the phone to call back to the US. The family style dinner was delicious. Loved the "house" dog that hangs out at the hotel. We felt safe in the area. The walk to the beach is down a long alley that has various local vendors. The beach was beautiful however; the vendors bug you constantly! We only stayed one night and then went to another location. No issues with the room it was the cheapest one they had ($65 I think) and it was very clean and adequate. If you like to hang out at the beach for most of your vacation, pick a place with a private beach. This hotel is fine for those on a budget that aren't hanging out at their room looking for a good view. It is right outside of the National Park. I gave this place a four out of five because I think this type of hotel just wasn't a good fit for us which isn't the hotels fault.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently stayed two night at La Posada, It is a great choice to visit Manuel Antonio. It is right outside the park. As with every place we stayed in Costa Rica, the service was wonderful, the grounds were pretty, the room clean, and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was the best of our trip and they offered an inexpensive family style dinner in the evenings. They even had very new dvd's available use. Manuel Antonio was a little to touristy but beautiful and La Posada is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

La Posada is more like someone's home than a hotel. The vibe is very laid back and Mike and his staff are welcoming and friendly. The jungle and landscaping is lush and beautiful and the little pool is pretty and welcome on a hot afternoon. There is wifi by the pool and eating area, and they can do laundry fo you. The location is literally steps from the park entrance and a five minute stroll to the public beach. There are restaurants and a few shops within an easy walk, but you might want a car or taxi to go further into Quepos. We told Mike we wanted to zipline but were pressed for time, and he recommended a tour that worked out perfectly for us. We had a great stay at La Posada and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Right near the entrance of the park.
Apt was nice and very spacious.
Breakfast was lovely. You can chose the kind of egg you like, many pastries, yogurt drinks, granola, fresh fruits, fruit juices, coffee.
The staff was very very kind and helpful. They gave good advice, were knowledgeable and friendly.
The pool was great though the Jacuzzi is not heated.
Great place for families. There are books and games to play with and near the pool there is a large box of pool/ beach items.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Manuel Antonio was our first stop on our honeymoon trip through Costa Rica. We definitely chose the best place to stay in Manuel Antonio. You are literally a few feet from the MA National Park entrance and a short walk from the public beach. Surrounded by the jungle, the private bungalows are perfect for a couple or families. They supply everything you need for your stay and more! Jonathan, Esteban, Marco, and Mike are all amazing at giving you the best advice on what restaurants are the best, and what activities you should do while you are there. You just let them know what you want to do and they set it up for you with the tour company. Wonderful home made breakfast every morning and dinners a few times a week. We are already dreaming of our next trip to Manuel Antonio and we will definitely be back to La Posada. We miss you all already! Thanks for all the great memories and give blanquita a smooch from us, haha!
Pura Vida,
Molly & Curt, Denver, CO

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pros--This place is right next to Manual Antonia park and a short walk to the beach. The staff is very nice and helpful and the atmosphere is easy-going. The pool area is small but pleasant. Free wifi, internet, and calls to the US and Canada. Good breakfasts.
Cons--The rooms are small and the bath area is not completely closed off from the rest of the room.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#16 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
1.3 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#15 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.