We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready to Go Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows to your Saves list
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ready to Go Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at La Posada with 3 friends this past weekend. We used TripAdvisor to find our hotel and finally settled on this place. The reviews were all so good but I was not expecting the hotel to be as nice as it was! The 4 of us shared a bungalow (the fishing themed one) for $70 a night (as it is low/rainy season). The room included 2 beds, one double and one king, a television, microwave (with a complimentary bag of popcorn and some snacks), coffee/sugar/creamer, a coffeemaker, a fridge, fan, safe, flashlight and more. I was impressed by how clean and kept up the hotel was. Our shower was hot and the bathroom well cared for. I slept very well both nights and the hotel was quiet at night time! There is a pool and Jacuzzi where you can set and take in all the beautiful wildlife surrounding you! The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast which includes coffee/milk/juice, pancakes or gallo pinto, eggs any way you like them, cereal, fruit and bread. They also make various dinners for $7 a night a few times a week. We stayed in the second night because of the rain and ordered pizza from a local place that was delicious! The staff is very accommodating, fluent in English and Spanish and eager to help. Our beds were made and rooms tidyed up each day. The location, of course, can't be beat. You are as close to the National Park as you can get and just a nice stroll away from the beach. I have more guests coming to visit me in the high season of next year...I am already planning spending a few days here! Really don't think you can beat this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    97
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
235
271
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Mike, Esteban, Jonathon, the girls- everyone at the hotel made my stay at the hotel over the top. The rooms are nice, very comfortable and accommodating. Good breakfast, dinners some nights with a movie available for $7. Book lending shelf, dvds, pool, jacuzzi, hammocks, right outside the park and a short walk to the beach- all for an unbelievably reasonable price. I wasn't able to reserve a room online because I was traveling but I sent an email to the hotel and when I arrived, my name was on the calendar on the fridge and I had a room!! That is the bones of the place. The fluff is the people! So helpful, not just for the hotel but everything you do, Esteban was giving me tips on the area, best methods of travel, best atms, they helped me with shopping for souvenirs and everything else you can imagine. They also organize outings on the nights they don't have dinner which is nice to see some other things and getting to know people. There are plenty of places to eat, drink and shop that you can walk to - no car needed. The neighbors around the hotel are nice. Everyone in Costa Rica is nice- like no place I have ever visited.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Posada room, which is one of the cheapest and it was awesome. Little kitchen, showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is located meters from the entrance to the manuel antonio national park. it's a 5 minutes walk to the amazing beaches of the town.
the hotel staff are awsome (mike and his crew) and they helped us from finding attractions and to going out with us at night to the best places of that day.
the hotel looks great and has an atmosphere like you are sleeping in the reserve!

Room Tip: sleep in the bungalows and you will get an experience like in no other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

For $85 a night I was expecting something correct but i found an old and noisy hotel, dark and unwelcoming with an old sad room with no view but instead was looking over the path to access other rooms so i would have had to stay in the room with the curtains drawn..., a dog barking at me when i walked in the hotel. I didn't stay, walked straight out and booked myself in another hotel much better (Si Como No) but La Posada refused to issue a total refund and kept one of the 5 nights i was booked for. Globally a very unpleasant experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The La Posada Jungle Bungalows was a very fun place to stay. Being right next to the park there was plenty of wild life around. Monkeys visited a couple of times a day. We sat on the deck and watched them play just a few feet away. There were some interesting frogs out at night and early in the mornings we could hear the howler monkeys in the park. It was a short walk to restaurants and the beach. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were yummy. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Six of us stayed three nights in the La Casa bungalow. Plenty of room and it was great to have a was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is paradise! Right at the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. Mike Auvil is the best! Beautiful setting, fantastic breakfast, great staff! We stayed here last year and just had to go back. Check our the pictures on the website! Also, they will arrange most tours for you and split their commission, so you save! We had a meal one night (usually someone cooks 2 nights during the week for $7 a meal) and it was very good! It is not far to Quepos and the bus stops right on the main road about 2 blocks away at the beach. Monkeys played around right over our heads near our bungalow!

Room Tip: All bungalows are great----just choose one that would suit you or your group. Mike is very good abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We only had 2 short nights here during the rainy season. When you come in the "green" season expect rain in the afternoon and do what you really want to do early and plan to relax during the rain. A hammock and a book is an awesome way to wait out the showers. Mike and Staff, super friendly and informative - like you are their houseguests but not nosey or pushy. They will help book tours, recommend dining (spot on everytime).
Pros: wildlife (deer you can hand feed)
monkeys (did not show b/c of earthquake)
great breakfast
10 feet to entrance of MA park
walking to beach and restaurants and super
very tropical locale
free calls to US and free wifi
hammocks, rockers, relaxing areas
basket of laundry for $6 and it comes back folded so perfectly
hot, highpressure showers
rooms are so clean, you could eat off any surface
coffee, popcorn, micro, ref, tv in rooms
lending library
you make friends with other guests
Our favorite was Blanquita, the owners dog - love her!!!!!!

Cons: our room was close to common area that stayed active until late, therefor noisy
had to go through a congested area/road to get there (not a big con)
one mattress was less than comfortable - ok now I am nitpicking
compact outside space

We will definitely go back as we loved it but would pick a different room - we were in bungalow #1. The location cannot be beat. I would recommend for families, couples, friends and solo travelers.

Room Tip: Choose one farther from the common room/area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.