We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Mango Moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango Moon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mango Moon
Save
You added Hotel Mango Moon to your Saves list
100 Meters Past La Mariposa Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay at Mango Moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in The Gecko Suite for 4 nights over the New Year holiday. Donna and her staff were superb! The view from our private balcony was beautiful. Sunsets from the pool area great. Moneys running on the roof in the mornings were a fun thing to wake up to! The breakfast included was really good - banana pancakes were delicious. On our last night there was live music which was rally good. Also, they prepared a special dinner for us. Truly a special place in Manuel Antonio! They make you feel like family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    90
    18
    15
    9
See reviews for
80
205
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oley, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We absolutely loved this place! Donna the owner was the best ever, making us feel like we were at home. The food and music was a wonderful experinece! The restuaurant was closed for dinner but Donna and her team ordered in pizza and sushi for us at our request and kept the bar open for us. We all shared the food and had the best time ever. The monkeys and the birds and view were to die for and make a wonderful eperience for both of us. You will be missing the best time if you don't visit this place when you are in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Relaxing and laid back we loved it and plan to return.A few cafes and bars are a short walk away. The monkeys are around especially in the evenings.We visited in the the rainy season we had nice sunny days and it was quiet.Best time of year to visit.The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and assisted in arranging a guided tour to the park.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am fortunate to have started the New Year off right with four nights at Mango Moon. While there are a few things that could (and should) be improved upon, it was overall a great place to stay and, needless to say, I wish I was there right now.

Mango Moon is located on a side street off of the main “drag” from Quepos to MA that also houses some of the better hotels in the area: Los Altos, Issimo Suites, La Mansion, etc.. The entire place is very quiet and peaceful. Capuchin and squirrel monkeys frequented the hotel on a daily basis. Our reservations were made somewhat late, so we stayed in two separate rooms during our stay – Kinkajou Quarters and Howler Hangout. Howler Hangout is bigger and more private and absolutely worth the difference in price. We found Kinkajou Quarters to be on the small side, both in terms in the main room and the bathroom.

Here are the basics:

WHAT MANGO MOON DOES WELL

Service: Rico (Rngo?) at the front desk is a great guy and always made us feel welcome. Donna the owner is also great and friendly. The whole staff was great and, over several days, this made a big difference to us and likely will to you, too.

Common Areas/Views: The bar/restaurant is great with amazing and relaxing views. Live music on T/Th nights was fun and a big plus. The owners do have a few dogs and a cat that hang out in the main area but they were clean, friendly and unobtrusive. The pool was small but beautiful and the surrounding area was serene. After a day of adventures or simply hanging out at the beach, this is a really great place to have cocktails and watch a sunset.

Food and drink: There is no set menu, but the chef knows how to cook some very good, basic food. He made great fish tacos and hummus and pita for appetizers. All of the breakfasts were very good as well and, in our case, were included in the price of the room.

WHAT MANGO MOON COULD IMPROVE UPON

Room Furnishings and Lighting: While our overall experience was very positive, we felt the rooms were getting a little long in the tooth and could use a little TLC. Specifically:
(a) Lighting in the rooms is not particularly good. This really isn’t a major problem and maybe adds to some of the romance of the place but we felt the rooms could have been brighter. Howler Hangout, their largest room, only had two overhead lights on one far side of the room and two bed lamps. Fine to walk around the place, but that’s about it.
(b) We felt the beds were a little hard for our liking. If you like firm beds than this would not be a problem for you. A thin layer of memory foam would work wonders.
(c) Finally, we would have liked some better bedding rather than simply a top sheet and a very thin blanket. Yes, this is Costa Rica and, yes, it is warm, but some more substantial bedding would have made the entire experience that much better.
(d) The bathroom in Kinkajou quarters could use a new mirror and shower curtain.

Overall, we had a great time at Mango Moon and think that most people would feel the same way. Thanks, Donna!

Room Tip: Having seen only two rooms, I would definitely choose the Howler Hangout over Kinkajou Quarters. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mango Moon almost a year ago and thought it was a delightful hotel. The staff was awesome, very friendly and helpful. Couldn't imagine a better place to watch a sunset-just beautiful. We stayed in two different rooms-Kinkajou Quarters and Howler Hangout. The Howler Hangout was much bigger with basic amenities. We didn't spend much time in the rooms, but the Howler Hangout was definitely better due to the size and being more private. The food was great and the service was even better.There is a nice set up for a pool bar which we thought would be open, but unfortunately it was not open at all. Would have been great for having drinks and snacks around the pool. Met some really nice people and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Easy access to restaurants, beach and other adventures.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I and two sons stayed in the Sloth Shanty for 3 nights. We loved it. Mango Moon is an oasis of calm and quiet. It's a cool refuge from the Manuel Antonio heat since the sun only comes around to the main area late in the afternoon - just in time to enjoy the sunset! Having a meal or a drink with an ocean view and monkeys in the trees is paradise. Donna also helped us navigate the Costa Rican medical system when my younger son got an ear infection. She and her friendly staff really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My fiance and I spent two nights at Mango Moon. Positives- our room, the Howler Hangout, was beautiful. We loved the jungle view, the monkeys, the beds, etc. The hotel was lovely- breakfast was good, the view was nice, the staff was friendly, Donna was helpful and outgoing.

There were a few things I didn't love. It was a bit pricey for what it was, but it seems that is true for all of Manuel Antonio. There are nicer hotels for sure, but if you want to save a little bit of money (and really it was just a little) I would recommend staying at Mango Moon and visiting the other hotels for meals or drinks. The only other big negative for me were the cats! I was not aware there were going to be pets running around the area where we eat. And while I thought the dogs were adorable, I am highly allergic to cats. But I do like that Donna takes in rescue pets, i just wish they weren't all over the common areas.

Room Tip: I loved the Howler Hangout- spacious, relaxing sounds, and great to see the monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mango Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Moon

Address: 100 Meters Past La Mariposa Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a bluff overlooking the shimmering waters of the Pacific, nestled in a lush tropical rainforest with unparallel ocean and sunset views, you will find a mango kissed hotel that beckons your stay. Mango Moon Intimate Boutique Hotel is located in a pristine area of Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica where monkeys and birds awaken your mornings and the gecko's and sounds of waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Moon Hotel
Hotel Mango Moon Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.