We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good, but has its ups and downs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Lagarto

El Lagarto
200mts. Norte de la Plaza de Deportes de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
2777-6932
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Unico y original
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Generally good, but has its ups and downs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went there twice. First time had baby back ribs and lomito - both were juicy, delicious and smokey. Went there second time and were a bit disappointed - instead of baby back they only had st.louis ribs that were kind of dry and not that tasty. They compensated with lots of garlic sauce to the extent that my stomach got upset the next day. Give it a chance, but it has its ups and downs - for the price i would expect more reliable quality

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    25
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great grilled food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner despite that it was empty when we went for dinner. The steak was very good! The grilled veggies were excellent. My son loved the ribs. It would be perfect at sunset!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canora, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This restaurant is a must when visiting Manuel Antonio! The view of the sunset is fantastic while you sip an exotic drink and take in the beautiful surroundings. The way they cook the food over the hot coals is delicious!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really Cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The coals come down a shoot and heat your food to perfection! The beef and chicken ate awesome! The herbs on the fish is great, though the fish did not taste too fresh. The pork was ok.

The service is awesome with a great bar! Somewhat hard to find as the beer sign is bigger than the restaurants sign but in a great location with good parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had dinner here during our first trip to Costa Rica. The steak was amazing. The meal was very simple but perfectly prepared. We did not experience the sunset view because a big storm came through but we liked the rustic, off-beat vibe. It was fun to watch the chef cook using their unique grilling system. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lagarto also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Lagarto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.