We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, decent food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Lagarto

El Lagarto
200mts. Norte de la Plaza de Deportes de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
2777-6932
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Unico y original
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view, decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The view at sunset is wonderful - get there by 5:15/5:30 and make a reservation to get the best view. The food was pretty good although nothing special - there is a good variety to choose from.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great place for a reception dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We came to Manuel Antonio for our son's destination wedding and hosted a reception dinner for 60 people at El Lagarto. It was FANTASTIC! Jorge and his staff were excellent to work with and so accommodating. The food was outstanding...best meal we had while in Costa Rica...and they were able to serve our large group at once. You can't go wrong with El Lagarto. Great food, great staff and an unbelievable sunset.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Grill is the hook here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a new open air restaurant with a very unusual grill that most of the food is cooked on. We loved our meal here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really good food, and huge plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

After a beach day in Manuel Antonio we decided to stop y in El Lagarto, thanks to the tripadvisor comments we found. And we made a good decision, the food was really good, and the plates were huge, additionally the prices were really fine. We were there for the sunset and the view is amazing, definitely a place I will go back when returning to Manuel Antonio.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapwallopen, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this Place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our second visit. We went last year and vowed to go again this year. There is nothing not to like here. Everything from the wood fired grill, the wood tiled floor, the carved large wooden plates is a conversation pieces. The food is delicious! Oh yea, and a great sunset view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lagarto also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Lagarto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Lagarto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.