We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual fried fish place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gato Pescador Fish and Chips

El Gato Pescador Fish and Chips
At Hotel Divisamar | in front of Barba Roja, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Authentic fish & chips, all local ingredients, made fresh to order, our fish is beer battered, choose filet, fish balls or shrimp,choose tartar or chipotle sauce, combos served with cole slaw, choose fries or onion rings.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Great casual fried fish place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a fried fish sandwich and onion rings. Not much to say other than it was delicious. You could tell the fish was fresh. The onion rings were done right. And they have true American-style ketchup, which is not easy to find in Costa Rica. Also malt vinegar. We spoke to one of the owners and it sounds like everything is fresh and local. Our server was Tracy? and she was very responsive and attentive.

If I'm in Manuel Antonio again, this would definitely be on the list for a mandatory return visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    104
    29
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fish, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this little place by mistake and could not have been happier. The fish was so good. The fries were good and there was a lot of them. The restaurant was clean. Prices were very fair. Service was superb. My husband had the fish filet and shrimp, I had the fish sandwich and my son has the fish balls. We all agreed that this little place was a great find. It is right off the main road so it is easy to find but there is also some street noise while you eat. This may be the only complaint the owners will ever get.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fish n chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best ever! One of the best restaurant in CR! Went with a few old friends on a grad holiday and it was even better than expected!

Better than the UK standard with fresh red snapper. The tartar sauce was amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Best Fish and Chips-Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't know what was better...the fish and chips or the service. The fish, along with the shrimp was so fresh, as were the onion rings. I liked that the batter and coating was crisp yet not greasy or overpowering. Our waitress, Tracy was excellent. Me and my friends informed her that we were Spanish students and she talked to us in Spanish telling us about herself, about the area, asking us about ourselves, our names, where we were from. If I am ever in the area, I will for sure go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate lunch here during our stay in Manuel Antonio. We split a ceviche which was made with mahi mahi and it was excellent. ($5.00). We also split a double order of fish and chips made with red snapper. Also excellent and well priced at $9.00. For me it always comes down to the question of whether I would eat there again or not. The answer is a definite yes. The service was also outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Pescador Fish and Chips also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Gato Pescador Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gato Pescador Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.