We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Hostel for Manuel Antonio Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Plinio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Plinio to your Saves list
Hostel Plinio
Main Road 50 meters before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Hostel for Manuel Antonio Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hostel Plinio is a former hotel, which was at one point an oasis in an unpaved/non-gentrified jungle at the foot of the national park. Former guests would hike to get to Plinio, whereas now you can easily drive right up to the parking lot. This hostel is safe, offers a wonderful desayuno tipico, and has an incredibly friendly/helpful staff. Most of my time in Manuel Antonio was spent beach hopping and enjoying the suggestions of the staff members. Plinio generates a great vibe and the location is central to everything in Quepos and Manuel Antonio. I would highly recommend this spot to anyone looking to travel well on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    22
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
25
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uvita, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

WE loved our brief stay at the Hostel. The open air 'hang' space always had soothing, hip music pulsating, and the wonderfully refreshing pool was always clean and inviting. I've never tasted better Pinto de Gallo, and that was partly Daniel's amazing homemade sauce he provided with the daily breakfast. We were lucky enough to befriend Daniel and Rebecca, two of the front of house staff, who were exceptionally helpful and sooo sweet and kind. They could quickly tell within a few conversations which way to direct our, at that time aimless travel plans, so we weren't wasting time doing things we wouldn't want to spend the money on, time or energy. Their time with us was invaluable. Great location to take the bus towards Manuel Antonio, or down to Quepos as well. All easy.

Room Tip: Plan ahead to stay at the private room with private bathroom farthest from the kitchen. Worth the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I just spent almost a week at Hostel Plinio and had a great time. This hostel offers much more than your average hostel with shared dorms. We rented a private room which had a full sized bed and two twin beds. The room was clean, comfortable, and extremely spacious especially for what we paid for it!!! The breakfast, which was included was a perfect typical Costa Rican breakfast of pinto, eggs, fruit, and coffee. I couldn't have asked for more and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Get a private room! Its worth the extra money, especially if you are traveling with more than one pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to hotel Plinio with my girlfriend. The hostel is beautiful, but more important the staff is very friendly. They helped us a lot to find location to snorkel for free.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

My friend and I stayed here for a week in one of the 8-person mixed dorms. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and at times there was only us two sleeping in the dorm (although I don't know if this is to do with the timing)!

The owners were very helpful on arrival and made us feel instantly welcome, giving us advice about the area, transport, nightlife etc.
Cooking area was also a good size and easy to use.

Overall, really satisfied! Cannot fault the hostel at all, it's all you could want! Could have easily stayed longer and would love to revisit in the future!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We were looking for a room near Manuel Antonio but hadn't done research on options. Depressed about our options in Quepos, we started driving up the hill toward Manuel and found this gem. Very relaxed, funky jungle environment. Beautiful views. Private room was basically a 3 story treehouse. Only downsides were the lack of very warm water, and ants that found food if left out.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Best place we have stayed thus far. There was a slight mishap with our reservation so they offered us a small, but clean room used for volunteers, which ended up being perfect. The staff spoke many languages and was very helpful with any questions we had. The kitchen was well equipt with anything we needed to make our own meals, and the overall treehouse-like structure was relaxing and serene. We had some great conversation with fellow backpackers and everyone was very respectful of each other via food in the fridge, shower sharing, etc. Breakfast is simple and sweet, consisting of papaya, pineapple, scrambled eggs, and rice and beans, as well as good coffee. Very pleased with our stay and we will surely be back as well as recommend to friends. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Wifi is in the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Plinio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Plinio

Address: Main Road 50 meters before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Plinio is one of the newest additions to the hostel scene in Manuel Antonio and is located in one of the original hotel/restaurant properties in the area. Plinio is quickly becoming one of the highest rated and most in demand hostels in the area! A fully equipped hostel with a large refreshing pool, tour desk, wi-fi, a delicious restaurant and bar, and a common kitchen. Guests enjoy having everything they need on location and the staff at Plinio strive to make the hostel a relaxing, tranquil, all inclusive experience. It is an excellent choice for travelers wishing to steer away from the party youth hostels and experience many of the comforts and ascetics of a rustic hotel with the communal atmosphere and prices of a hostel. Located on the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio Beach, Plinio is a great location for travelers seeking easy transportation to the main attractions without the hustle and bustle of being in the city center. With a bus stop located just outside the main entrance, the beach is a quick 10 minute ride away.Every room at Plinio has an ocean view. Including the dorms! And each include a breakfast of fruit, bread and coffee each morning.Accommodations range greatly. Backpackers may choose from 2 different types of dorms, the standard and the deluxe. Both types have two out door patios, their own bathroom, and plenty of space. But for a few dollars more per night, the deluxe dorm includes hot water, a private living room, and only houses 5 people. Upgrading to the deluxe dorm is first come first serve and can only be booked at the Hostel if there is availability. No matter which dorm you choose, you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Plinio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Plinio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Plinio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.