We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Treehouse-So Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Plinio

Save Saved
You added Hostel Plinio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Plinio
Main Road 50 meters before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Treehouse-So Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hostel Plinio was the best place we stayed during our time in Costa Rica!!

It was so cute and beautiful--felt like we were in a jungle treehouse, which we pretty much were! We had a private room with private bathroom. It was 2 stories: first floor was a double bed and bathroom, top floor was a king bed with a beautiful view of the jungle and ocean. The walls aren't totally enclosed so the top floor had mostly screens for the walls, which was so amazing because we felt so close to the nature around us while we were protected from bugs. Location of the hotel was perfect--it was in between Quepos and Manuel Antonio so we were away from the city and surrounded by jungle. Bring earplugs because like most places in Latin America, it can be loud, especially since the walls are mostly screens.

The pool and grounds are so nice. There were pretty walkways all around the property and lots of hammocks to relax in. Breakfast was yummy- traditional gallo pinto with scrambled eggs and toast with jelly.

Definitely stay here during your time in Manuel Antonio-you will love it!

Room Tip: Private room with private bathroom was perfect for us! Big and comfy king bed, beautiful jungle/ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is nice, there is a kitchen and good swimming pool open till 22:00. The kitchen provides gallo pinto for breakfast. The wifi is only in lobby.

Rooms are very simple and humid, but clean. There is also good option of two-floor hut good for families.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here as a hostel--dont know how id feel if i were looking for a private room. As a hostel, the rooms are spacious and clean--you feel like you have some privacy. Bathrooms have soap which is always a good sign for a hostel, and were clean.
You can hear the rainforest around you though here its mostly crickets and birds its really pleasant. I saw the pictures of geckos and thought theyd be like dangerously close to my bed but not at all ;) there is a really chill treehouse vibe here (check out the swings up top), and all of the staff are super nice. Location is good because buses come frequently, and its a 15 min walk to quepos (but its on a road without sidewalks so u may not wish to walk). Really big lockers. And yes a pool.
Only complaints: lack of light in rooms even in daylight hard to see your stuff! Breakfast meh but better than lots of hostels. Gets very damp if it rains so cushions on loungecouch and bedding feels clammy :P.

Overall, if u are looking for a hostel in the area, choose this one, the others i saw just didnt come close.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If traveling alone, you cannot beat Hostel Plinio's offer for a dormitory bed, including gallo-pinto and eggs breakfast, wifi, and pool. If traveling with a friend, just a bit more per person will buy you a private room and bath. This place has been here since my first visit in 1978 and brings back the charm of old QMA, which for better AND worse has become a miniature Acapulco. No air conditioning but with a bit of elevation, screens, and a fan -- and the forbearance of considerate guests -- is still a comfortable night, filled with the sounds of the forest. Also, there is a guest kitchen, with refrigerator, sink, cook-top, and cabinet of spices. For me, it's the prefect combination of amenities and price. The guests are a mixture of bohemian and bargain hunters. If this sounds like you then: Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Right off the bat I loved this place. It's quite the gem in Quepos so make sure to check it out before looking anywhere else if you're visitng Manuel Antonio. It's just a bus ride away from the local street cafes/restaurants towards the beach. In my experience there isn't very much reason to take a bus into Quepos town unless you're going towards the bus station. Everything will really be on the main road to the beach so this spot is perfect ! It's the most perfect tree house. Our apartment was amazing and even the private doubles were great! Price was so reasonable too! No bad things to say about it. The hostel hosts Daniel and Rebbecca were so accommodating and breakfast was sufficient! Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you've got at least 4 in your group get the apartment for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The staff and surroundings at Hostel Plinio were very inviting. We stay in the double private ensuite, and we really felt like it was a tree house. Of course, this is more of a hostel with a nice selection of private rooms than a hotel.

There was a pretty view of the Pacific through the rainforest. The grounds are lush and home to many animals. The dats were a bit warm in tge room, but that is when you shoukd be out exploring or enjoying the pool or hammocks anyways. The nights were cool and comfortable.


The road was noisy, but the sun had us up early anyway. Most of the hostels and hotels along this road would have the same amount of noise.

The staff told us we would want to take a bus or taxi into Quepos, and for some that may be true. We love to walk, so we found it to be an easy 2 km (1.5 mi) walk along the roads. It looks scary to walk along the roads at first, but everyone is very conscious of pedestrians. I would definitely suggest the bus or a taxi to the beach or national park though. It is far and very hilly. The buses are very cheap and come regularly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great hostel, clean rooms, friendly/helpful staff, lockers large enough to fit your entire pack, spacious common area to relax. Don't go to the restaurant next door. Can't remember the name but the food was garbage, expensive and music too loud to talk. Do go to the national park to see all the howler monkeys and iguanas. The beaches within the national park are some of the nicest in Costa Rica. Enjoyed staying at Hostel Plinio.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Plinio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Plinio

Address: Main Road 50 meters before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Plinio is one of the newest additions to the hostel scene in Manuel Antonio and is located in one of the original hotel/restaurant properties in the area. Plinio is quickly becoming one of the highest rated and most in demand hostels in the area! A fully equipped hostel with a large refreshing pool, tour desk, wi-fi, a delicious restaurant and bar, and a common kitchen. Guests enjoy having everything they need on location and the staff at Plinio strive to make the hostel a relaxing, tranquil, all inclusive experience. It is an excellent choice for travelers wishing to steer away from the party youth hostels and experience many of the comforts and ascetics of a rustic hotel with the communal atmosphere and prices of a hostel. Located on the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio Beach, Plinio is a great location for travelers seeking easy transportation to the main attractions without the hustle and bustle of being in the city center. With a bus stop located just outside the main entrance, the beach is a quick 10 minute ride away.Every room at Plinio has an ocean view. Including the dorms! And each include a breakfast of fruit, bread and coffee each morning.Accommodations range greatly. Backpackers may choose from 2 different types of dorms, the standard and the deluxe. Both types have two out door patios, their own bathroom, and plenty of space. But for a few dollars more per night, the deluxe dorm includes hot water, a private living room, and only houses 5 people. Upgrading to the deluxe dorm is first come first serve and can only be booked at the Hostel if there is availability. No matter which dorm you choose, you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Plinio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Plinio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Plinio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.