We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green paradis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shana Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$159 (USD)
1 review
“Green paradis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hello! I was guest there, with my husband and my daughter. I found the hotel very nice, clean and giid staff. I loved the room and the italian chef that is absolutlly perfect. Everybody was nice with us,they try everyrime to make us plesure. I would love to came back there. Thank you for a great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, General Manager at Shana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Beatrice,

Thank you for your review.we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Shana .On my name and on the name of all our staff ,we wish you a safe trip home and we are looking forward to see you soon back here in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida and Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
98
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An amazing beautiful hotel I have falling in love with 4 th visit this year , not in a busy part of town which is why I love the location , if u want noise this is not the hotel ! Very tranquil nothing but lush greeny , I have to admit they did get a new chef food was very good , I would like to thank the staff for making my vist another memorable vacation , I will surly return I hope for the winter

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, General Manager at Shana Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your nice review and thank you for being one of our most faithfull visitors.We already recieved your reservation for Christmas and we are looking forward to see you again in our resort.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Extremely deteriorated, elevators disconnected so we had to take the stairs always, the staff may as well not be present except for the bartender. Security guards are never at the gate. Our upgraded room had no mini bar and our reservation was not found so we had to wait an hour more for them to get the room ready, although we were upgraded to a better room, still the rooms and hotel in general seem to have no maintenance whatsoever. We did not feel the value for our money was just at all.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, General Manager at Shana Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sir ,

thank you for your review.we are sad that your expectations were not reached in our hotel Shana.The day of your arrival there were a miss understanding between our reseravtion department and the internet site where you booked your nights.This fortuntly happends very rarely.Our elevator works now perfectly as when you were here it was the week end of the mothers day in costa rica and the company responsable of it was not in service.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Costa Rica and we are looking forward to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is extravagant looking and the people are incredibly nice that work here. We traveled hostels all over the country for the beginning of our trip and now at the end we wanted to "spoil" ourselves. What we got once we arrived to our room was not what we expected from the pictures and reviews online. The bed is hard and not comfortable at all and the rest of the room although decorated nicely in all white is not very clean and honestly nothing special for the price comparing it to other places we stayed. This hotel is pretty far dostance from everything, if that's what you want it's perfect otherwise it is a $10 cab to and from. I was really bummed we were splurging at the end of our honeymoon and it was not as fancy or worth the money.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, General Manager at Shana Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir,Madam

Congratulations for your marriage and thank you for having choose Shana hotel as a place for your honeymoon.We are said that your satisfaction about Shana is only a bit more than average ,our aim is the excellence.We are one of the rare hôtels in Manuel Antonio located 5 minutes WALK away for the beautifull beach of Byzance and we are like most of the hôtels here 10 minutes DRIVE away from the mythical national parc discovered by Columbos.We all hope that you enjoyed your holidays in Costa Rica and we are glad of having been one of your pit stops in our happy country.

Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At the Shana u see the tropical sun and luxury they also have pampering/messages and that’s why the Shana is an idyllic setting for an anniversary celebration, wedding or honeymoon,or birthday getaway that I took . :)

The Excellence Of all the staff are all inclusive & they set the stage for unforgettable moments.
Celebrate your anniversary with a torch-lit dinner for two on the beach. Your honeymoon in a private hammock at a five-star suite. Or your wedding in a sunset ceremony with a breathtaking Costa Rica view.
Me & my girl friend had the best Birthday Getaway at the Shana hotel this place made my stay worth it. The reception are very helpful and help you with all activities rides etc. I was taken care of very wonderfully at the Shana . Ben & Samir the head mangers are the nicest people I've ever meet on this planet . I just wanna thank you all for making life so worth living thanks so much love ya :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, General Manager at Shana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jonathan,

Once again happy birthday,it was a pleasure for myself and for all our staff to have here in our hotel .We are all glad that you have choosen us for your holidays and birthday .We thank you very much for your nice review and we all hope to see you soon in Shana hotel in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just celebrated 10 years of marriage at the Shana Hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room at the very bottom of the steep hill that Hotel Shana is built upon. It was a beautiful room with views of the ocean and rainforest. We loved sitting on our balcony and watching the Cara Blanca play in the trees beside us! There is a small beach close by that we would walk to, and there was never that many people there. Everyone was so friendly and helpful! We had a wonderful time and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, General Manager at Shana Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jamie,

Once again happy birthday and may your marriage last as long as the trees lives you were admiring from your balcony.we at Shana are all glad of having been part of your tin birthday and we hope to see you soon here in our Costa rician piece of paradise named Shana .

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went for a couple nights to a villa; rooms huge and comfortable.
Restroom clean, big and nice.
The living room is ok and the kitchen is great, there is a bar to serve drinks :) and a tall refrigerator.

Around you have the beauty Manuel Antonio town, with the Nice National Park, also several beaches near by; there is one small and so quiet close to the Hotel (you can go just walking about 10 mins), it is just nice to pass the afternoon there.

The pool and the restaurant are also good, define a great place to get back sooner

Pura vida

Room Tip: Just try to find a room close to the pool, the place is in a hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, Manager at Shana Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear sir ,

we are all very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.we thank you very much for you review and we are looking forward to see you again in Costa rica .

Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana Hotel

Address: Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Shana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.