We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shana Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We really enjoyed this place. It was clean. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The management is OUTSTANDING!!!
We especially want to mention Paula, who greeted us and treated us as though we were guests in her home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
94
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Airy, comfortable rooms with a sleak design, great views, nice pool, 5 star service at reasonable price. You can spot birds, monkeys, sloths right from your balcony... We went on a canopy tour and were given a late check-out to shower and change, and could use the pool all afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Living in Costa Rica, I am so used to rooms that tend to lean on the rustic side. Living here for a while, it can all look at bit predictable.

Our room at Shana was not. It was very spacious and felt a tad luxurious. We were very well attended and the breakfast over looking the ocean is amazing. The restaurant lounge was very spacious and tranquil.

Only thing I wish was better was wifi connection in room. Living here, I know getting a North American standard of Wifi is next to impossible.. so you accept whatever you get.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on higher floor for the Ocean Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The service when we came were nice but the breakfast staff were :( i ordered a second hot chocolate and i couldnt drink it becuase it was too hot. Then the next day i ordered just one hot chocolate but they served it in a smaller cup. It embarrassed me when i recieved it without a smile too (same staff). But the rooms are clean the facial soap was AWESOME so was the conditioner. The terrace was also clean and the sight was pretty with the cute sloths. The hotel's pool was dirty and the chemicals were too strong and it hurt my eyes when i opened them too. The jacuzzi was warm not hot. Overall the hotel was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globewalker4
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Location was superb! Luckily we were able to stay there for five nights.

Breakfast was yummy! We had warm (seemed made that same morning!) bread, fruits and Costa Rican style main meal. For drinks, we had pineapple or orange juice and coffee. Our view during breakfast was fantastic! We could do bird-watching, watch the ocean and say hi to the iguana down below.

The staff was very nice and helpful.

We appreciated having the option of walking 10 minutes to a public beach that was very secluded, could practically be considered a private beach! We were delighted to be greeted (at some point up to 6!) by white-faced monkies on our walk to the beach in the morning!

We could also do a 25-minute hike from our hotel to the more known public beach that led to the Manuel Antonio Park. We didn't need to drive to the park by walking along this beach.

The pool was tastefully done and I had a good time swimming in it!

Our room was so very spacious with a balcony overlooking a gorgeous view of the forest! On our last day we were treated to a delightful view of squirrel monkies actively playing on the trees right across from our balcony!

We also had a TV and a mini-refrigerator. The wi-fi / internet in our room worked without a hitch. The bathroom was huge! We had so much counterspace to put our toiletries! What a treat!

My only problem was the king-sized bed. It was not very comfortable and hurt my back so I opted to sleep on the extra bed we had in our room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlamathFalls, OR
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the top of the top. It is as close to perfection as is possible.
Then entire property including outside and inside of the rooms is white. Doesn't quite fit with the surrounding jungle.
A quick walk to the beach.
It's pretty expensive, but if you can afford it it's worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

While everyone at the Shana was very nice during our stay, we had some serious issues with the accommodations:
- When we arrived my wife and I were put in a dank room on the ground level with a rock hard mattress, 2 floors separate from the room with our kids. While the decor was pleasant in a modern, stark-white hospital sort of way, the white area rug was badly stained, giving the whole room a dirty feel. On our request we were moved to another room on the third level, which also had a rock hard mattress, this one with shot springs on one side that creaked and listed badly. But we were finally next to our kids so we let it be. More about the bed later.
- The breakfast included with our package was the exact same EVERY MORNING - fruit, bread and eggs, with an option for rice and beans. This got old very quickly.
- On the last day my wife discovered bed bugs on our mattress (we include photos) When we alerted management, they said it was ants and suggested it was our fault because we brought food into the room (the one day we did that we kept the food in the mini-fridge). I really resent that tactic on their part. While I tried to give them the chance to make good on such an unpleasant stay, they refused, saying we had stayed all the nights (Such reasoning is bewildering, since we didn't have an option to move anywhere else, and I am sure they would not have refunded our money if we did).

On the plus side, it is a lovely setting, the pool was nice (though over-chlorinated), and a lovely public beach was a 10 minute walk away. Again, the staff was also super-freindly (save for the manager, with whom we only exchanged emails). But it was not worth the considerable expense, especially considering the management did not want to make good on the fact that they had bed bugs. I reiterate, this is not a luxury accommodation, as it is billed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana Hotel

Address: Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.