We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Manuel Antonio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shana Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$159 (USD)
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Manuel Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent 5 days here in February 2013. We highly recommend it. The hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the sea and within walking distance to a private beach.

The rooms were clean, crisp and simple. The bathrooms were modern. The service was excellent. Flora and Eddie were always eager to assist and had great suggestions.

The restaurant was serviceable. The menu was small and the prices were a bit high. The view however is killer.

The pool area was lovely and we enjoyed many days by the pool watching the wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    50
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
30
102
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Pacific Sous for 3 nights in December 2012 (27th - 30th). Like most of the reviews have mentioned the hotel had changed its name from Pacific Sous to Hotel Shana. No one could explain the reasons for the numerous name changes over the years. All that said the name change was not off putting as our taxi had no problem finding the hotel.

The hotel is great, very clean rooms, really welcoming staff and good quality food. We sampled the breakfast, lunch and dinner at various times during our stay and it was all great quality.

Although there is no gym on site, they had just opened a Spa when we had arrived and it offered a variety of treatments and resonable prices.

The friendliness of the staff was something that other hotels could learn from. Paola was great at recommending tours, shops and other restaurants in the area.

The location is great, overlooking the rain forest and ocean. The pool area has a whirlpool and swimming pool surrounded by a variety of loungers and cabanas.

The dirt track leading to the hotel that is mentioned in some of the older reviews is no more. It is a fully sealed road so don't worry if you've hired a rental car or like us used taxis.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Cliff, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a great time here the staff was fantastic thanks to Paula and Javier for great service. The room was nice and clean and so was the pool . Try the Green Ocean at the bar. The Biesanz beach is a 200 yard walk through the forest but so secluded and so beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisandwanda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel from January 12 to 17 for my step son’s wedding.
Pros: The hotel is small but pleasant, quiet, clean and surrounded by beautiful nature and monkeys. People are very nice and helpful. We had a great experience with Paola the Receptionist, who went far and beyond her duties finding us taxis, pizzas and giving us information about the area. My stepson had a beautiful ceremony and reception. Everybody was very accommodating to any needs we could have.

Cons: The place is far from any airport. Three hours from San Jose. It is not ocean front, you need to drive or take a taxi to go anywhere in some windy scary roads. Besides a small pool, restaurant and a Spa the hotel doesn’t offer any other amenities. Manuel Antonio area is beautiful but overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Recently renewed Hotel with swimming pool and access to beautiful small beach (10 minutes walk only). Rooms with contemporain interior, white and very clean. Large space bathroom with great shower. All rooms have nice balconies where you can watch and hear the monkeys, Tucans etc.
The Hotel is rather far from the main road. You need a car to visit the National park etc.. Breakfast is OK but nothing special as well as the Restaurant. Personal was very helpful and friendly.
We did stay 4 nights (family 4) and would certainly return to the Shana Hotel (previously named Pacific Sousse). Good price-quality ratio !

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1st or higher floor that gives you a nice view on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel has changed its name 2 or 3 times within 2 years.
Hotel is great, it was the best Hotel i stayed in Costa Rica. Modern, clean and beautiful.

I just had a problem with the area because there is nothing to do when the sun goes down.
Unless you are on honey moon vacation or bringing your whole family with you, this place could be very boring. You would need a car to get away but its not recommended to drive these roads at night.

I was also disappointed with food at the restaurant. It was pricey but not tasteful at all.
The service was good but there is also room for improvement.

Room Tip: try to get one with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. The setting is very picturesque, the rooms are great, the pool area is gorgeous. The staff are very attentive. You can walk to a small beach in about 5 minutes or the main beach in about 15/20 mins down a steep road. If you do not want to take a taxi you can walk to the top of the orad (20 mins) and get the bus which stops multiple times on the Quepos - Manuel Antonio route and costs 50 cents! Alternatively taxi's will get you most places for 8 bucks. DO NOT EAT IN THE HOTEL. The staff are really great and attentive and they do their best but the food is pretty poor and it is priced the same as the expensive (but good) restaurant's in the area. Breakfast is ok, passable. We had a nice meal at the neighbouring hotel (Issimo suites) one night. Had a great lunch at Aqua Azul (you must lunch here, the view is outstanding and it might have been the best food we had in CR). We also ate at La Luna one night, we had high expectations but it was just better than average. If they improved the quality of the food in the restaurant this place would be five star. We initially booked the parador but they were full, in the end we were happy with the change. This place is quieter, much less busy. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana Hotel

Address: Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Shana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.