We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shana Hotel to your Saves list
Shana Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. The setting is very picturesque, the rooms are great, the pool area is gorgeous. The staff are very attentive. You can walk to a small beach in about 5 minutes or the main beach in about 15/20 mins down a steep road. If you do not want to take a taxi you can walk to the top of the orad (20 mins) and get the bus which stops multiple times on the Quepos - Manuel Antonio route and costs 50 cents! Alternatively taxi's will get you most places for 8 bucks. DO NOT EAT IN THE HOTEL. The staff are really great and attentive and they do their best but the food is pretty poor and it is priced the same as the expensive (but good) restaurant's in the area. Breakfast is ok, passable. We had a nice meal at the neighbouring hotel (Issimo suites) one night. Had a great lunch at Aqua Azul (you must lunch here, the view is outstanding and it might have been the best food we had in CR). We also ate at La Luna one night, we had high expectations but it was just better than average. If they improved the quality of the food in the restaurant this place would be five star. We initially booked the parador but they were full, in the end we were happy with the change. This place is quieter, much less busy. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    53
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
31
110
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and me just got back from our 3 nights stay there. The hotel is only 2 years old and you can see it and feel it in every way. The Pacific Souss really met and exceeded our desires and expectations for the hotel in Manuel Antonio area. The decor is very interesting and beautiful - everything is decorated and painted in white color and it gives you a modern, sophisticated feeling. The service at the hotel is excellent. We were greeted very kindly by front staff and all of the people at the hotel helped us to feel very comfortable. The location is great also. There is only 10 minutes walk to the beautiful beach with very few people during the day there. This is also the beach for one of the best snorkeling in the entire Manuel Antonio area. We saw quite a few trip snorkeling boats bringing group of people to this place and the boats were anchoring about 200 meters from the shore. The hotel has a nice pool but we used it only once as the beach was very close by. We had a rental car, so driving around Manuel Antonio area was easy, but if you need the taxi, hotel will call one for you in a few minutes Overall, the hotel is very quiet and relaxing and we we would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again if we will come to this area again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel was incredible! It was exactly like it was advertised - in fact we recognized it from the road based on the photos on the web site. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous, beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The bathroom was phenomenal with an open rain shower, large mirror, and grey stone floor. The AC worked perfectly and we never heard it once. The balcony view was lovely too but the best part of the hotel was the staff! They were so attentive to our needs, made it a point to know our names and greeted us every time we entered the restaurant. Javier and Flo went out of their way to give us travel tips, copy our passports for us, bring us towels, etc. I recall coming back from town with a bottle of Coke and as soon as we walked to the pool, Javier said, "Hi Tracy, would you like a glass of ice with some lime for your coke?" He remembered that I liked ice and lime in my drink and I didn't have to ask! Flo was also a kind and gracious host to us from the moment we arrived! The food was spectacular and not over priced by any means. We were on our honeymoon and it was the perfect place for us. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to get back again one day!

Room Tip: Choose the top floor for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Awesome view of the ocean from our balcony. perfect natural greenery and birds chirping outside of our room as we woke up in the morning. the location, people and service were excellent. we felt we were on our honeymoon once again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

After visiting 6 hotels in Costa Rica, this hotel is definitely the beat hotel in Manuel Antonio and in Costa Rica. We stayed for 5 nights at the superior room which had an amazing view not only to the ocean but also to the forest (we could see monkeys from our balcony!).
The room was simply beautiful and the service of the staff was perfect.
The breakfast is very nice, we did not try the restaurant. Other facilites like the pool were excellent as well.
We enjoyed every minute of this great hotel and we hope to come back again to this heaven!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

im a hotelier and can know the difference between when someone is good and trying to be good. the product is impeccable, while room theme where everything functions well at a very affordable price. so here is my rating.
VFM: 5 (the product is too good, quality amenities, rain shower, modern bathrooms, large mirror and everything that will make this boutique hotel feel luxurious)
Location: 3 this is away from the route to the park, have to beat some serious winding roads to access the hotel. The hotel rooms are spread round the hill, so its a trek to go back and forth to the pool and restaurant. you must have a car to get in and out of the hotel if you decide to venture out.
Staff: 4 very friendly, honest and helpful hence the service was impeccable.
Facilities: 3 only because the hotel has a pool and restaurant but no action in or around the hotel at night. you have to drive a mile or two to get to a decent watering hole or a bar for food/cocktails.
Rooms: 5: themed all white. floor to ceiling and most come with a balcony (some with ocean/partial ocean view) The bathrooms are LARGE with awesome showers. the quality of amenity id great too. Housekeeping does a great job of keeping the room clean.

overall three only because of the location and the absence of any vibe in the hotel despite an awesome pool and a great restaurant! the hotel should try and lure more people from other neighboring hotel to hang out at night as Pacific Souss has the potential to do that......

Room Tip: restaurants near by as you would need it. the hotel's restaurant is kinds dead! 1) Barva Roja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel firms also under PACIFIC SOUSS. We liked the stunning view over the treetops onto the sea as well as the tranquility. The hotel is off the tourist path and you need a car or a cab: to Quepos or Manuel Antonio a cab ride is 4000 colones / 8 $. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern but lacking a bit of coziness and maintainance. The staff can be kind and supportive (thank you Flor) and our repeating water pressure issue has been always solved promptly. With an increase of guests the service gets out of control and the staff gets quickly overloaded. In general the service people has not been really attentive. They definitely need more qualified people. For the price we would definitely expect more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana Hotel

Address: Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Shana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.