We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view and best food in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emilio's Cafe

Emilio's Cafe
40 meter before hotel Mariposa | Calle hacia el Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2777 6807
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best view and best food in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place has the most beautiful view. It is very open and has a relaxing environment. The food here was delicious. We ate here every day on our trip. Fresh fish curry and the gourmet sandwiches (with home made bread) were so yummy. Don't even mention the chocolate deserts! OMG! The staff are very friendly. The value was excellent. We would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    101
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Beach, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We only had desserts and espresso one night and planed on going back the next night but they close on Tuesdays. The flowerless chocolate cake was outstanding followed by espresso. Beautiful views and wonderful people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, reasonably priced, amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Only had the desserts and coffee, but they were excellent. I don't doubt the other items are also good. Highly recommended by everyone in the area, and I can see why.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food. Gluten-free options. Desserts to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Emilio's Cafe is a treasure of a find. It is low-key but filled with smashing desserts (tons of gluten-free options which are really hard to find so if you are gluten-free look no further and make a special trip, it's that good.), great coffee and really good savory dishes. It is all-around good. The owner is charming and earnest and it shows in his dishes. They have recently changed locations so double check their new address.
Not to be missed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I probably eat at Emilio's once a week, and love everything on the menu! The new location is awesome, great view (even at night), and same great food. Lately my go to meal has been the Chicken Cashew Curry, a lemonade with mint, and any type of dessert. The curry here, in my opinion, is the best in Manuel Antonio. So much flavor, and just enough spice. I crave it all the time! It's a little expensive, around $12, but it's very filling, you might even have some leftovers. Try the fresh chocolate croissants, the key lime pie, and the mocha chocolate chip cake and you will not be disappointed. Keep up the good work Emilio's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilio's Cafe also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Emilio's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emilio's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.