We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Wildlife Added” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Nicolas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Nicolas
Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot Deal 20% Off
Visalia, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great View and Wildlife Added”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our room was 3-up, cozy and clean. We loved the large balcony with a view of the ocean and a cute porcupine lodging in our rafters! The breakfasts were tasty and Alexandria and Julio were helpful in arranging transportation for us and taking care of some burned-out light bulbs in a timely manner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    82
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
43
119
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had Villas #8 and #11. It's a beautiful, quaint property with a great ambiance. We ate dinner there one night and it was wonderful. The rooms are beautiful with awesome views! We loved this place and would never stay anywhere else if we have a chance to go back to CR!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had room #9 which was perfect for our family of four, lots of space for everyone. The rooms were super clean, well appropriated kitchen and the property was well maintained. The view from the terrace was amazing and we were able to see monkeys swinging through the trees below one morning. As others have said, the staff are extremely friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool in the afternoon and visiting with other guests and my husband had a massage one afternoon poolside. The location is at the top of the hill, easily walkable to many restaurants and the grocery store. You can also take the bus into Quepos or to the beach. if you want to do excursions, ask any of the staff and they can book for you. The Manuel Antonio guide they use, Henry was amazing. He was constantly spotting animals while other guides walked on by. Even our teenage boys who aren't easily impressed were very impressed with Villas Nicholas and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly staff and site. Great apartment with full kitchen and terrace. Great for making cocktails and watching the sun set. Very happy with our 3 night stay. Is also close to restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Villas Nicholas was our last stop in CR. The property is beautiful. The rooms are not huge, but the terrace is at least the same size as the room, and we spent most of our room time there. The food was wonderful, so we ended up eating dinner there more than planned. (However, breakfast each day was exactly the same.) Staff were great in booking re booking a rafting trip for us when the company cancelled when we were not around. (The hotel is on top of a hill so if you are going to one of the several beaches on foot, plan on going straight downhill one way and straight uphill the other!) Staff directed us to a beautiful secluded beach we reached through an unmarked trail through the woods. The only potential downside...If you are allergic to cats, you should think twice. There's cats hanging out on the property, and we became quite friendly with Gato who hung out in a chair on our terrace most of the time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The three desk staff Alexandra, Julio, and Pierre were extremely nice and really helped speak in very good English because I spoke very bad Spanish. Alexandra showed us our room and lots of good suggestions to eat for the night. She also booked our Interbus to San Jose from this hotel. Julio helped us with laundry, they do a USA size load for $20 and booked our Manuel Antonio tour with an Excellent guide. Pierre hooked us on a great restaurant Emilio's Cafe that has excellent food and desserts at local prices, not tourist prices. We watched from the patio, white face monkeys climb through the trees around us and tucanes fly by as we'll as humming birds in the bushes. Costa Rica is a very wet location with many plants, birds, animals and insects. If you have a light on in the room all night, you will wake up with many flying insects if there is an opening for them. We did not experience this, because we used the moon light with the curtains open for our patio was a private view of the ocean. Keep up the pleasant hospitality. Thank you all mentioned for making our stay even more enjoyable.
Dennis and Dale Yeager room 6 up , May 26 through 29 th 2013

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My review is a little late, I forgot I never reviewed after our visit last year. We really liked this place and the price for the location is great. It is sort of an ecolodge, but we took our computers so we could watch movies while we were there. We were also able to get a wifi connection good enough to watch YouTube.
They let us switch our room when we first got there because we weren't in love with the view of our first one. The owner also had a pizza delivered to us one night which was delicious and much cheaper than the restaurants around. The free breakfast was pretty good, and I loved the kitties hanging around on the property. I was actually glad to see they fed them and put the babies up at night. We had a great room with ocean views but still in the middle of the rainforest. The front desk also booked excursions for us and they picked us up at the property. It's so close to MA park and the beach, so it we were able to go around town and be anywhere within 5 minutes. All of the staff was really nice, and we felt like we had a lot of privacy from our neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Nicolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas Nicolas to your Saves list