We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Nicolas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Nicolas
Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Pay for 4 and stay for 5
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place, and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The three desk staff Alexandra, Julio, and Pierre were extremely nice and really helped speak in very good English because I spoke very bad Spanish. Alexandra showed us our room and lots of good suggestions to eat for the night. She also booked our Interbus to San Jose from this hotel. Julio helped us with laundry, they do a USA size load for $20 and booked our Manuel Antonio tour with an Excellent guide. Pierre hooked us on a great restaurant Emilio's Cafe that has excellent food and desserts at local prices, not tourist prices. We watched from the patio, white face monkeys climb through the trees around us and tucanes fly by as we'll as humming birds in the bushes. Costa Rica is a very wet location with many plants, birds, animals and insects. If you have a light on in the room all night, you will wake up with many flying insects if there is an opening for them. We did not experience this, because we used the moon light with the curtains open for our patio was a private view of the ocean. Keep up the pleasant hospitality. Thank you all mentioned for making our stay even more enjoyable.
Dennis and Dale Yeager room 6 up , May 26 through 29 th 2013

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    78
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
113
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My review is a little late, I forgot I never reviewed after our visit last year. We really liked this place and the price for the location is great. It is sort of an ecolodge, but we took our computers so we could watch movies while we were there. We were also able to get a wifi connection good enough to watch YouTube.
They let us switch our room when we first got there because we weren't in love with the view of our first one. The owner also had a pizza delivered to us one night which was delicious and much cheaper than the restaurants around. The free breakfast was pretty good, and I loved the kitties hanging around on the property. I was actually glad to see they fed them and put the babies up at night. We had a great room with ocean views but still in the middle of the rainforest. The front desk also booked excursions for us and they picked us up at the property. It's so close to MA park and the beach, so it we were able to go around town and be anywhere within 5 minutes. All of the staff was really nice, and we felt like we had a lot of privacy from our neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The lady at the front desk barely said Hello to us when we arrived. She told us the cost was 95$ taxes included for one night and when i came back home i've noticed that i've been charged 115$ on my credit card. No one helped us with our luggages and we had to go down a few flights of stairs to our room.The room was smelly but still nice. The problem began when my boyfriend went into the bathroom right before going to sleep. There was bugs coming in from a hole above the door. In a matter of minutes the room was infested with ants and other bugs. We ran out of the room with our luggages in our pyjamas. There was no staff at the front desk at this hour so a security guard gave us another room. The other room was a downgrade. We had two small beds, so my boyfriend and I had to sleep in seperate beds. It was really hot in the room and it took about an hour for the a/c to cool down the room. Next morning the staff didn't offer any excuse and they didn't seem to bother at ALL!!!! The garden, pool area and breakfast were great but there is no excuses for the fact that we didn't have a good night of sleep and didn't get the chance to enjoy our room. Don't go there, there's plenty of other good hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We traveled to Manuel Antonio in February 2013 and got lucky to be able to stay in this hotel. We did not have a reservation in advance so we were pleased that they had a room. The hotel grounds are very safe, and beautiful. The hotel is built on the side of a hill so there are paths and steps you need to be able to navigate to get to most of the rooms. Though you can tell that this hotel is older, it has been well cared for and is a good value. Our room was large, had great views, and all the appointments of home. I would defiantly stay here again when in the area, and the restaurant on-sight is also fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and our two teenage daughters stayed at Villas Nicolas at the end of March. The room was comfortable and view from the deck was fabulous. We also ate at the El Rancho restaurant located on the property both nights we were there. Fresh catch of the day dishes were delicious. We also booked a tour of Manuel Antonio with the hotel. Dago was our guide and he found many animals and birds for us during our time in the park. He was very generous with his time -- we did not feel rushed, as we saw many other guided groups pass us as he continued to describe what we were viewing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villas Nicolas; the staff (reception, breakfast & dinner) are very helpful, the gardens and pool are very clean and well kept and the fellow guests are friendly. The pool was a great temp and the lounge chairs were comfortable (yep, we fell asleep)

Units: We reserved a 1 bedroom with 2 queen beds and also 2 twin day beds in the main / living area. The beds and pillows were comfortable; there was air conditioning in the bedroom and ceiling fans throughout the rest of the unit which kept it comfortable. Our kitchen had all the appliances and tools you may need to make simple meals and snacks. The rooms, kitchen and bathroom were very clean and housekeeping visited each day. We enjoyed a lovely patio with table, chairs and hammock and view of the jungle and ocean - it was a great place to watch the monkeys move through the trees each morning.

Restaurant: we loved the breakfast each morning made by two kind ladies. Fresh tortillas, rice, beans and eggs made to order along with good coffee and fresh fruit. We had cocktails and an amazing banana dessert one evening and another night we stayed for cocktails and dinner. Everything was very well prepared, fresh and delicious. I enjoyed the hearts of palm salad and the cocktails were top-notch.

Location: I thought it was a good location in walking distance to bars & restaurants, the bus stop and you can walk down the hill relatively easily to the beach and to Manuel Antonio National Park. We stayed in three areas of Costa Rica on this trip, Guanacaste, Arenal and Manuel Antonio and I'd say for sure I would come back to M.A. and stay at Villas Nicolas because we enjoyed our stay so much and I feel there is alot more that we just didn't have time to see or explore during our 4 days here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We drove to Manuel Antonio with no hotel reservations and happened to stumble upon Villas Nicholas. We asked for a tour of the property and they happily took us to the different available room types. We opted for one with a huge balcony that overlooked the hills and ocean. It had a hammock that gave it the "vacation" vibe. The room itself was basic, but nice. I have to say the appeal really was the feeling of being on a tropical vacation. Views to die for, a room that was open and had nice accomodations, and good location. There was even a cat that I believe to be the resident cat, that liked to come visit with us :) This is not a place with lots to do. The pool is small with a small outdoor bar, but breakfast was delish and was walking distance to good restaurants and a really cool airplane bar. The beach is a few minutes down the hill, as well as the National Park (a must see) We only stayed in Manuel Antonio for one night, as we were sight seeing as much of Costa Rica as we could. Would definately return!

Room Tip: Rooms with large balcony have to die for views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Nicolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas Nicolas to your Saves list