We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at villas Nicolas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Nicolas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Nicolas
Save Saved
You added Villas Nicolas to your Saves list
Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot Deal 20% Off
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at villas Nicolas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were so so pleased with our stay here! The villas are very spacious and beautiful! Amazingly large patio with hammock boasts a beautiful ocean/ jungle view. Breathtaking! Close to many shops and restaurants! Julio and the rest of the staff were so accommodating and welcoming! They booked all of our tours too! Walking distance to the Manuel Antonio national park and beaches ( a nice 20 or 25 minute walk.. Hike on return!) we also would recommend the ADR tour for a thrilling and adrenaline adventure of zip lining and repelling !! Absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is higher up to get the better views! All rooms have great views but the one up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    83
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
120
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogunquit, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Since 1999 I have travelled to Manuel Antonio/Quepos Costa Rica and stayed at Villas Nicolas
It is simply one of our favorite places in the world to go! This is my ninth trip to this resort area in the Pacific region.
Going back to Villas Nicolas is like visiting an old friend: warm, comfortable and always welcoming.
Villas Nicolas is a collection of cheerful "hotel villas" that are situated on the top of the "hill" in Manuel Antonio overlooking the jungle and Pacific ocean. When travelling to Manuel Antonio the best place is to be on "top of the hill". Close to dining, nightlife, transportation and shopping. Yet looking out the back terrace all you see is lush jungle and the Pacific Ocean.
Units are rented daily/weekly or by the month.
Many of the "villas" have a small kitchenette, a well appointed bed room, sitting area and out side terraces. Units are decorated with art work from local artists. There is a wide variety of units from budget to deluxe. We like staying in a unit that boasts a small kitchenette.
The grounds are a mix of native tropical plants, with three different types of monkeys that travel through the thick jungle canopy everyday. Everyday we see and hear a variety of primates at our door step!
Chef Pato, a well known chef in Manuel Antonio holds court everyday (except Sunday) at El Rancho, a gourmet boutique restaurant located on the grounds of Villas Nicolas. The open air restaurant is casual, and very affordable.
Overall the Villas Nicolas is clean, quiet and well managed. Much of the staff has worked for the organization for many years.
It always feels like home, Can hardly wait for next year!!

Room Tip: sunsets are remarkable. Eat at the Rancho restaurant located on the property. Most rooms have ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I was referred to Villas Nicolas by a friend who stayed here in the past. I was not disappointed at all. The hotel ground we beaitiful and we felt safe. They have a security guard walking the grounds at night. Service was very friendly, and our rooms were great for the cost. A little small, but we didnt spend a lot of time there anyway. The balcony with the hamock overlooking the ocean is a must! it makes the trip and you can see amazing sunsets.

They have a dog and a few cats which are the grounds keepers pets. One kitten kept us company during our stay and lived on our balcony.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Traveling with my adult son, had checked in at another hotel just outside of Manual Antonio in Costa Rica:
The WiFi did not work
The room safe had no key
The bathroom flooded
No other rooms had two beds
Ants in the new rooms

Villas Nicholas to the rescue. For $28 more per night we have:
Superior bathroom that does not flood with great hot water
Excellent WiFi
Porch with hammock overlooking the ocean
Much better location nearer the beach
Huge room with kitchen and sitting area

Would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We reserved this place online during the low season (July). I had wanted to stay at Tulemar or Makanda by the Sea, but settled on Villas Nicolas due to the cost. When we arrived in MA many places were advertising low rates due to the low season. I think we could have gotten a better deal somewhere else had we shopped around. The appeal of Tulemar and Makanda was the private beach. We didn't come to lay on the beach (we did hike around the park at MA which was beautiful), but the main public beach in MA reminded us of some place in Mexico. Lots of "official" looking guys trying to tell you where to park and many guys walking around the beach trying to sell you stuff. VN says they're walking distance to the beach, but it's about 20 mins walk on the main roadway. We drove. If you want a relaxing beach vacation, stay somewhere with a private beach.

The villa itself was nice and clean. At the end of an almost 2 week trip, it was nice to have a kitchen and we cooked dinner two nights. The pool here was good, although the Jacuzzi was not heated. There were many problems with the Wi-Fi, and only worked in our room the first night. We had to go to the pool area for access. We felt safe here and there is parking right in front for your car. We did get to watch an amazing thunderstorm one night that rattled the windows!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked a type 3 room at Villas Nicolas after reading great reviews and taking advantage of an off-season 35% off special. Wow, what a great decision that turned out to be! We spent 3 nights in villa "6 down," which offered spectacular views of the ocean from our patio and a good amount of privacy even with its location next to the pool.

The comfortable balcony really was the stand out - with its hammock, reading chairs, and nice dining table. We were able to watch monkeys from our balcony (sometimes just feet away) each evening. The living room/kitchen was also very useful and comfortable. The main bed wasn't large, but was comfortable. There was another bed, so, with the couch, we probably could have slept a family of 4.

The complimentary breakfast in the mornings was simple but good. The pool was wonderful. The location is also very good, walking distance to a number of restaurants and the grocery store - although a bit far for walking to the beach.

Finally, we used the hotel to book a guided tour of Manuel Antonio that was great! Henry was the best and definitely worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at Villas Nicolas celebrating her 30th birthday. It is a very intimate hotel with a small open air bar and restaurant and a refreshing pool. The villas are individually owned so the decor and layout varies slightly, but all villas that we were able to see were great!

I was originally placed in the villa at the top of the hill, closest to the office. My daughter was in the villa just below mine. It was either 11 up or 1 up, can't remember. I had a very difficult night- the street noise is very loud in this unit, and you can actually see the buses zooming by from the bathroom window. Also, across the street there is a new club that has a loud event on Mondays and some Fridays. I was up all night due to the music and loud drunken crowds moving to and from this club. Even with the a/c blasting and my sound machine on full blast, it was impossible to sleep through. I notified the office first thing in the morning- and they took care of my concerns immediately. They showed us every villa available and allowed us to choose which we would prefer. My daughter, by the way, was right below me and heard nothing. Almost all villas are built into the side of the hill and the acoustical differences are amazing! We moved to 7 up and 7 down. The rest of the trip was completely quiet and tranquil- save for the howler monkeys!

The sun sets around 6 and rises around 5, so if you are light sensitive bring your eye mask!

7up was definitely the most beautiful of all the villas. Though we met folks at the pool who swore by 3 down! It is spacious and gorgeous. There is a bathroom with a large open tile shower. Bedroom area with very comfortable bed. A sitting area and full kitchen. The porch is wonderful with a hammock and table and chairs. We spent many hours on the porch watching the monkeys, tucans, and other wildlife as well as the beautiful unfettered ocean view. My daughters room just below was just as nice but smaller with no porch but big open windows across the wall.

When swimming in the pool we were lucky enough to have a group of white faced monkeys playing right over our heads in the mango trees! The dinner meal was delicious and fresh. The bartender was a great guy- don't leave without indulging in a cacique sour!!

The location of Villas Nicolas is perfect! You can walk in one direction to several great restaurants and the local grocery store. The neighboring hotel on the right- Si Como No- has several little gift shops. It is a pretty hot and sweaty walk down the hill to Manuel Antonio but the bus stops are clearly marked and cost one dollar. The beach in the national park is totally worth it- gorgeous, stunning and on the quiet side of the island.

Tours- we signed up for two tours of the rainforest. One all ziplining and one that had ziplining, monkey drop, and water fall rappelling. Both were reserved by the front desk who had good suggestions for us. Both also included lunch which were the best meals we had the whole time we were in Costa Rica- very authentic made by family members of folks running the tours. Both tours were great! The double zip line on the first tour - sorry I don't remember the tour group names!- seemed like a good safety measure but once we were into it, didn't feel like we needed that. If my younger kids were doing ziplining it would probably make me feel better though!

We ate at several places throughout Manuel Antonio and all of our meals were amazing! My young son had us make a list of all the new foods we tried and whether we liked it or not so we were very adventurous! Cafe Milagro had the best gazpacho I have ever had. We enjoyed the sunset view and drinks at La Mariposa- both great! Could live without the food though and service was actually pretty terrible. Bring your suit and you can enjoy the sunset from the pool bar.

Overall, this was truly the trip of a lifetime. We felt like we found the best place to stay in Manuel Antonio- the perfect mix of quiet relaxation, convenience and comfort. I cannot wait to come back to Villas Nicolas!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms closest to the office- they are also closest to the street. Request a room build in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Nicolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.