We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - great view and room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Nicolas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Nicolas
Save
You added Villas Nicolas to your Saves list
Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot Deal 20% Off
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Second visit - great view and room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Good location between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Good view and tropical grounds. Restaurant was great! Kids couldn't get enough of the Banana desert!

Each morning on our large balcony, we were visited by white faced monkeys swinging through the trees and eating leaves and fruit.

#9 had a full kitchen, two beds for the kids and two queen beds in the main room. The bathroom was large.

Occasionally, there was some noise from the road but it was expected since we were close to the main road.

It was convenient to many of the restaurants and bars in the area.

This was my second visit - I'll return!

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view and balconies are perfect. #9 or #8 have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    83
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
120
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We ended up here by accident when the rental blew up on it's doorstep. We LOVED it! The place is stylish, with plants everywhere and wandering paths. The rooms are spacious with kitchenetts and have an ocean view. One of the closets has been transformed into a giant safe, very handy for keeping your bags safe. Many rooms have large balconies with chairs and of course, a hammock! Monkeys pass through and I saw several toucans. NOT handicapped accessible as it is built on a hillside with lots of stairs. There is a pool and a jacuzzi, the restaurant is excellent! It is not beach accessible, there are plenty about a mile down the road.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreveport
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My second trip to Costa Rica, but Villas Nicolas will always be my first choice of places to stay. The grounds are well maintained as is the pool and adjacent area. The restaurant serves tasty cuisine at reasonable prices. Chef "Pato" prepares many wonderful dishes to satisfy the most discerning palate, and his freshly caught Yellowfin Tuna is terrific!
The hotel staff from A-Z are informative, helpful and attentive, and any questions asked were answered knowledgeably and always with a smile.
The rooms are spacious and immaculate. An Inviting decor makes you feel welcome. I have a balcony with a hammock and comfortable lounging furniture. My view has the jungle below and the Pacific Ocean in the distance. I highly recommend Villas Nicolas!

Room Tip: #12 upstairs is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica - we chose to stay at Villa Nicholas in beautiful Manuel Antonio. We loved this condominium hotel. We had a wonderful view of the Pacific - the villa was really tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There were monkeys in the garden. The staff at the hotel were outstanding - very helpful and friendly. I really can't say enough about the hotel staff!! Villa Nicholas is centrally located - we didn't feel we needed a car as the bus service was good and there were lots of taxis. We were traveling with teenagers - we found that renting two villas (6 up and down) gave us lots of space. The gardens were beautiful, the pool was warm... in short we had a fantastic holiday and would highly recommend it to others. The little restaurant serves really good food!

Room Tip: The rooms with ocean view are worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Staying here was definitely a good surprise for us! We couldn't believe such a beautiful and relaxing place exists in Manuel Antonio, and were definitely surprised that the price was that low. We would have paid double for staying in that place !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A lovely vacation spot made more special as each of the villas are individually owned and their own special touch with artwork and pottery. Staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The grounds are very well tended with a lush tropical feel, a georgeous pool in the middle of it all. Lots of birds and the occasional troupe of monkeys passing through. Breakfast is provided with the price, very tasty and filling. I would also highly recommend the restauant for dinner. Had the blackened tuna which was one of the best meals I had in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have full kitchens and are a bit larger, also don't have a lot of stairs to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Villa Nicolas was a wonderful place to stay. It's centrally located, beautiful and everyone is very friendly. We loved the fact that it was fairly small which made it personable. The deck was fantastic, the landscaping was beautiful and the monkeys came around during the day, which was fun. The bed in the room was very comfortable and there was a small refrigerator and dishes so we could buy some snacks or drinks to keep in the room. We also loved the pool and the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Nicolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.