We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting overlooking Pacific Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Nicolas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Nicolas
Save
You added Villas Nicolas to your Saves list
Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
shreveport
2 reviews
“Beautiful setting overlooking Pacific Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My second trip to Costa Rica, but Villas Nicolas will always be my first choice of places to stay. The grounds are well maintained as is the pool and adjacent area. The restaurant serves tasty cuisine at reasonable prices. Chef "Pato" prepares many wonderful dishes to satisfy the most discerning palate, and his freshly caught Yellowfin Tuna is terrific!
The hotel staff from A-Z are informative, helpful and attentive, and any questions asked were answered knowledgeably and always with a smile.
The rooms are spacious and immaculate. An Inviting decor makes you feel welcome. I have a balcony with a hammock and comfortable lounging furniture. My view has the jungle below and the Pacific Ocean in the distance. I highly recommend Villas Nicolas!

Room Tip: #12 upstairs is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    84
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
120
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica - we chose to stay at Villa Nicholas in beautiful Manuel Antonio. We loved this condominium hotel. We had a wonderful view of the Pacific - the villa was really tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There were monkeys in the garden. The staff at the hotel were outstanding - very helpful and friendly. I really can't say enough about the hotel staff!! Villa Nicholas is centrally located - we didn't feel we needed a car as the bus service was good and there were lots of taxis. We were traveling with teenagers - we found that renting two villas (6 up and down) gave us lots of space. The gardens were beautiful, the pool was warm... in short we had a fantastic holiday and would highly recommend it to others. The little restaurant serves really good food!

Room Tip: The rooms with ocean view are worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Staying here was definitely a good surprise for us! We couldn't believe such a beautiful and relaxing place exists in Manuel Antonio, and were definitely surprised that the price was that low. We would have paid double for staying in that place !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A lovely vacation spot made more special as each of the villas are individually owned and their own special touch with artwork and pottery. Staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The grounds are very well tended with a lush tropical feel, a georgeous pool in the middle of it all. Lots of birds and the occasional troupe of monkeys passing through. Breakfast is provided with the price, very tasty and filling. I would also highly recommend the restauant for dinner. Had the blackened tuna which was one of the best meals I had in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have full kitchens and are a bit larger, also don't have a lot of stairs to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Villa Nicolas was a wonderful place to stay. It's centrally located, beautiful and everyone is very friendly. We loved the fact that it was fairly small which made it personable. The deck was fantastic, the landscaping was beautiful and the monkeys came around during the day, which was fun. The bed in the room was very comfortable and there was a small refrigerator and dishes so we could buy some snacks or drinks to keep in the room. We also loved the pool and the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here with my mother from 3/31 to 4/6 and really enjoyed it. We had made reservations elsewhere, but when we arrived we found they had raised the price and the room was not as advertised. We've stayed in MA in the past and heard good things about Villas Nicolas, so we took a cab there and the very friendly security guard put us in a room for the night. The next day the staff were very friendly and wonderfully helpful and were able to arrange things so we stayed 3 nights in 2-up, 3 night in room 10, then I stayed 2 additional days in Oasis 1.

The prices are very reasonable for the area, both rooms were lovely and clean, with art, pretty bathrooms, and great terraces with hammocks! The restaurant was great, the fish is amazing but I also recommend the mango mozzarella salad. "Breakfast included" was both a blessing and a curse (it was delicious, but we also love the breakfast at Cafe Milagro right up the street).

The amount of wildlife visible from the room was incredible. The monkey bridge across the road is very close, and we saw squirrel monkeys, howlers, and capuchins, in addition to several bird species and a sloth!

Location is also wonderful, right near the bus stop for the $0.50 bus to the beach, across the street from a nature reserve with a butterfly garden and awesome night-time frog tour, and walking-distance from the grocery store, spa uno, and several bars/restaurants.

Definitely coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2-up, 10, and Oasis 1(one of their apartments). The villa rooms were both very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

5 minutes away from Manuel Antonio National park, walking distance from good food and good places to hang out, pretty, large and comfortable room with a stunning ocean view, howling monkeys on the hotel property, guard in front of the hotel at night, excellent breakfast in the morning, friendly and useful staff, Villa Nicolas is the total package for a perfect trip in Manuel Antonio!

Our experience was well above our expectations.

A hint : Even the large amount of good restaurants in the area, you have allow you one diner at the hotel. The chef is excellent and he masters fresh fish (new handpick fishes everyday) like no one.

We'll be back at any time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Nicolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.