We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am delighted!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Makanda by the Sea to your Saves list
Makanda by the Sea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“I am delighted!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful hotel on a hill overlooking the ocean, surrounded by jungle. We had luxury renovated villa, well-designed, with comfortable bed and a private pool. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Also there is a very nice private beach, with not many people. The restaurant serves excellent food and drinks, in large portions. The food, which was offered in the hotel was way better than in most of restaurants in town. Number of animals is higher than in National Park, there are several species of monkeys, sloths, toucans and colibri. We have also seen whales swimming in our bay.
We felt very comfortable as there was very professional, attentive and friendly staff in the hotel. Most importantly, we felt really safe here.
This is a great place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway.
We will definitely come here again!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    58
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
24
213
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing luxury hotel in Manuel Antonio. Hotel after the reconstruction. Comfortable rooms. Great food. Magic ocean view. It was really cool to wake up and see toucans and monkeys outside the window every morning. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all I need yo say that this opinion is only representative of the time when we visited(Dec 2014). Hopefully, what appears to be a complete makeover has now been terminated and the enthusiasm that most visitors express about this hotel is, once again, justified.

It is badly signposted, in fact we had to ask three separate people the way before we found it. On getting there, Reception was in a portacabin-type Site Office, and even though it was 3.00pm and the hotel appeared to have few other guests, our accommodation was not ready so we went down to the bar to have a drink and a snack while we waited.
The bar( which also turns out to be the restaurant,) consisted of a few metal tables and chairs round a swimming pool. As it was still raining it was inhospitable to say the least.When the waiter came to take our order, they did not have the ingredients for a Mojito, nor a Margarita, and I could only have a Gin and Tonic because I was prepared to have it without lemon.
We found our suite and then the rain began in earnest, so much so that we had to order our evening meal from room service.Two tenderloin steaks and a bottle of house red arrived, my husband couldn´t eat any of his, and the cost was 164 US dollars!
Next morning we went to pay our bill because we could not stay another night of the four that we had booked,, and I had to wait 20 minutes outside the Site Office before someone came to prepare the bill !

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an amazing hotel. The rooms were luxury, the food was amazing and the staff very friendly ( especially the bar/restaurant staff who were first class, friendly and personal. Reading some of the reviews before we arrived I was a little worried that we would feel isolated. That's not that case, we stayed in studio 4 and it was private for sure with amazing views, but other guests accommodation near by making yes feel safe at all times. The main plus of this hotel is the wildlife, we saw more on our balcony than at the national park. Three different types of money's playing in the trees and x2 sloths in a tree outside our room. Plus free in room wifi......If your looking for a romantic getaway and you love good food and wildlife...this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was our first encounter with Costa Rica. A truly beautiful setting on the hill overlooking the ocean, in the middle of the rainforest. Come in good shape and bring walking shoes because everything (the villas, the beach, the pool, bar, restaurant, office) is a hike (15 minutes to the beach) or a minimum of 40 stair steps away; we enjoyed that very much, but it is not for everyone.
The villas are private, spacious and the view from the balcony is breathtaking. The forest and wild life is all around .The pool area is stunning and the food is really good. It is probably going to be a wonderful place to vacation, but at this moment it is under construction. We were the only guest together with another couple. Having Christmas dinner in the restaurant all by ourselves felt a little weird. When we arrived, the room of our 3 kids was under construction so they put them in a 2 person room with one 6.2 foot boy on the couch. After 2 days the kids room was ready and without our consent they packed their stuff in plastic bags and moved it to their new villa. The villa was stunning, but not finished. The private pool (!) was empty and the was no railing along the balcony. Our villa had not been upgraded yet, is was situated under the pool which meant that we woke up every morning by the noises of the cleaning crew above.
My advice is: wait a little until they are done with the construction.
When the construction is finished, and the service is up to par, I would probably give it a 5.

Room Tip: When finished, all villas are wonderful. The only villa that you should avoid is the one under the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hotel Makanda in January 2015 and I can not put into words his delight: we lived in a villa 8 (as we understand, this villa after renovation) that surprised us with an excellent interior design, privacy, well thought-out details. IT WAS AWESOME.

Bed linen created a sense that you're sleeping in the clouds. (by the way the villa are two separate bedrooms). Very special bathrobe - soft and cozy. Equipped with the latest technology kitchen, smart home system, private swimming pool - and it is in this tropical forest with beautiful flowers. Every morning we visited the monkey flew toucans and hummingbirds.

My husband and I just did not expect that we can find a hotel of this level in Manuel Antonio. It was an unforgettable visit!

Room Tip: Ask for villa NO 8 (4 people)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights on villa 5 at the Makanda this December. The villa
was spacious for 2 with plenty of storage, cooking facilities and a 4 poster
bed. The large balcony had a faraway sea view, a hammock and table and 2
chairs. The apartment has mosquito nets in the windows.

The villas however are particularly isolated. Villa 5 was 50 steps from up
the main driveway. There was no handrail. The communal area was outdoor
seating by the swimming pool. The pool is located a further approx 40 steps
from the driveway.

The hotel presents itself as offering peace and privacy. This will suit some
but did not suit us, and we found the isolation somewhat disconcerting. All
breakfasts were served in the rooms, so there was no communality adding to
the isolation. We worried about our safety overnight. Reception is manned
only from 7am to 9pm and again is a remote office up a dozen steps. At night
one can hear lots of noises on the roof and surrounding vegetation,
particularly from monkeys, we saw a capuchin monkey looking into our kitchen
window, as there are no blinds or curtains in the villa.

There were ongoing building works to the villa next door to us adding to our
security concerns. While the room provided a safe, it was not bolted to any
structure and could have been removed wholesale. The building works
contributed to a loss of water supply on our first morning. This was sorted
later that day, and we received a discount off the food and laundry bill.
However, the shower water pressure was always poor.

The staff were courteous and friendly. We had dinner by the pool which was
good. The balcony while very nice had a restricted view of the sea, and was
short on safety as it had only a single plank of wood as a rail.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makanda by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.