We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Makanda by the Sea to your Saves list
Makanda by the Sea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A tiny little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Cute, quaint, boutiquey. Its nice, well kept, and you pretty much have the place to yourselves. Breakfast was memorable! Darwin was super helpful! The "trail " behind the hotel to the beach is daunting, try at your own risk, and there is wildlife galore !

Room Tip: don't feed the wildlife, not much nightlife or liveliness happening here, but lovely nonetheless
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    58
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
205
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The price is absolutely over rated for Costarica standards! Poor service and old rooms! Staff extremely unpolite (when my boyfriend asked help for the luggage the man at the reception (a little fat man) answered - smiling - that he was strong enough to carry the luggage by its own. Speechless! Is this a 5 stars hotel? Definitely not! Plus, the room really need a renew, it's 25 years old and it has never been renewed (we stayed at the room number 5)

Room Tip: room number 5 had beautiful view but the room in itself was old!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We absolutely loved the location, priceless. All the nature around it was amazing. But the staff were to loud, specially the security guards. They were making jokes and kidding around with the guy from the front desk.
We'll stay again but next time we'll make the suggestion to be more formal and polite.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here as a half way point both coming and going from Osa Peninsula. We absolutely loved it!!! The service was outstanding, and the restaurant was sooooo delicious. shockingly so! Breakfast is served in your room but don't miss out on dinner served at their restaurant. The staff was so friendly. The rooms were gorgeous and well appointed. I was so excited to return back there after our trip to the south. We stayed in room 9 and when we returned Villa 1. Both were different and awesome in their own ways. And the views!!!! We will definitely return to the Makanda!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights a week ago. The location is perfect with the ocean view. The breakfast is pretty neat as well. The best part of the hotel is the quietness and low number of guests. We loved going to the beach and even though it is a little hike back, well worth it. Nobody bothers you there. The pools is amazing as well and all of the staff is pretty special.
The only suggestion is to upgrade to flat panel TVs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We needed a relaxed getaway and Makanda By the Sea was the perfect spot. The views are incredible, there is an amazing amount of recreational options nearby, and the staff is outstandingly gracious. You cannot beat the experience of sitting in the infinity pool with the perfect drink in hand while gazing at the ocean, to then suddenly have a group of monkeys pass by through the surrounding trees. Sitting poolside at night for dinner as thunder and lightning storms roll in across the bay is one of our most favorite memories. The food at the Sunspot is equally as fantastic as the view.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Top shelf. That's all I have to say about this place. I mean, seriously, top shelf. Here are my points.
1) Great location, I can't imagine a room there not having a view of the ocean that's landscaped by plush greenery all around it. The view from your room could be a postcard.
2) Great breakfast
3) The drinks at the pool are to die for...Pina Colada all the way
4) Great staff
5) Walking distance to Cafe Milagro, where the coffee is so good we have their beans shipped to us in Chicago for daily use.

Room Tip: There's not a bad room there, If anything, just ask for ocean view to make sure I didn't mis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makanda by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.