We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cozy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Makanda by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Cozy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed at the hotel after booking by the phone the night before.
The guy at the front desk, was very nice and accommodating. he offered help with our luggage and was very clear with the amenities available at the hotel.
The room we stayed at was the Villa 1, it had a beautiful view of the rainforest and the ocean.
Unfortunately we were unable to enjoy the breakfast because we checked in at 09:30 am and left at 05:45 am the next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    57
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
201
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Makanda By the Sea for 3 days. We were in awe with the property, the minute we checked in. The place was nestled between the lush greenery of Manuel Antonio. The desk clerk was really nice and gave us insights into things we could do. We were able to pick tours that were to our liking and budget.
The room had its own entrance, glass windows, and an amazing view. The way each rooms have been set up, one gets complete privacy. The room also came with a basic kitchenette. We were able to enjoy the wildlife in and around the property as well (sloths, birds, butterflies, crabs, etc).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rennes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having reserved for 5 nights we left at the end after 3 days without being able to be paid off. Unpleasant staff, dilapidated hotel, boiling shower, no shower to wash himself before going to the swimming pool, restorant and catastrophic breakfasts : Hotel to be avoided !!! Then It was half empty and showed reductions of - 50 % to round up the customer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMakanda, General Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Travelers,
Normally we welcome feedback from our guests and use this important information to help us improve every guest experience. However, this poster booked through a third party site and upon arrival was very upset when his category of room did not have 2 beds. (Explained very clearly on the third party site that it has one king bed.) When offered other solutions they became very upset and not only verbally abused our staff, but made other guests very uncomfortable. They departed the hotel early and warned us we would be seeing their negative reviews throughout the internet.
Therefore, we hope travelers contemplating a stay at Hotel Makanda will refer to our overwhelmingly positive reviews, as well as the continued awards we garner and make their own conclusions regarding a stay at Makanda. We welcome guests to contact us directly should they have questions. Happy Travels!
Jules McNichols-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

One of the best trips I have ever had to Manuel Antonio. A lovely cocktail by the pool to welcome us and a tasty meal at the intimate restaurant in the evening.

The villa we stayed in was pristine with stunning views of the ocean and tropical landscape. We had also had an incredible breakfast delivered to our villa before our journey back to San Jose.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Bottom line is I would stay again. Room was beyond expectations, view awesome, grounds well kept. Only minor issue was lack of attention at the pool by waiter. Not sure if he just wanted to leave us alone but we had to seek him out if we needed to order anything. Had a plumbing issue in our room and they upgraded us immediately to another room. Helped with all excursion reservations and transfers. A reviewer commented on security but we had no issues and felt very secure here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We LOVED Makanda! Our studio room was spacious with a VERY comfortable king size bed, a mini kitchen, a full couch, TV, wifi, and a wall of floor to ceiling windows/french doors out to our deck with an amazing view of the rainforest and water together.

Breakfast is included in your stay and after you make your selection from the multiple choices on the menu it is delivered to your room each morning. The lunch/dinner menu was good as well.

There is a full bar with waiter service at the infinity pool which also overlooks the rainforest and ocean, and is surrounded by trees filled with adorable monkeys!

Basically we adored Makanda and cannot wait to return at some point!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the boutique hotel for 3 nights a few days ago (July 24-27th, 2013). Views are amazing, pools is beautiful and our room (Villa 11) was a dream beyond what we expected.

While the amenities and views were great, service could use some improvements. Here's a summary of our experience of things you should be aware of...

1) First day we got there, they didn't let the taxi drive us on the property to the reception (likely security reasons). The suitcases were unloaded and taken to our rooms. We walked up a gravel/rock road up to reception to check in. It was hot and humid theat day we arrived and was hoping to be greeted with some cold water or refreshments, but nothing. The reception area was very small and only have 1 person who worked the desk who checked you in then walked you to your room and explained amenities, so it was about a 10 minute wait for him to return to help us. They had a water dispenser, but it was empty (sigh) :( Thankfully when we got to the room, there was ice in the fridge with a water bottle we paid for as part of the mini-bar. Disappointing...

They also have a private path to a beach we walked to. BE AWARE *** it's a steep path to the beach and takes about 15 minutes walking. The path isn't clean and there's lots of vegetation overgrowth. I wouldn't recommend walking down in sandals or slippers. Also note, there is break in the path where you have to cross a stream that has slippery rocks you have to stragically choose to keep your feet stable (rocks not all secure). Once you reach the beach, there is an area with "standing" water the stream flows into directly to the right and has lots of mosquitos.

2) Pool staff and maid service was wonderful. If you spend the day at the pool, the staff is great. When you return to your room after a day out, your bed would have flowers on it and cute animals made from towels.

3) HERE'S THE BIG CONCERN *** On the last night of our trip at Mananda, at approximately 10:30pm, we heard what sounded like a gun-shot outside of our hotel. Reception is only available until 9pm! There was no number available on the hand-out they gave us to call if we had a security concern, so we called the reception number to see if anyone would pick up and someone did. We told them we needed security to come by and told them what we heard. The person could not understand English so we asked for a number for Security.. still no success and the the end result was they told us to CALL BACK IN THE MORNING!

To keep this short and prevent you from the horrible vulnerability we felt, we spent the last night with no sleep and felt very exposed and unsecure since our villa had windows on 3 sides of the room. The feeling that people could see us but couldn't see them, and not sure if someone was lurking outside our villa in the evening was scary.

On the morning we left, someone was supposed to come to our room to help us with our bags at 6:30a (reception is closed until 7am). No one showed, after several levels of stairs, and walking past the gravel/rock path to the front where the entrance was with our luggage, we were happy to leave and head to the airport.

If SERVICE IS IMPORTANT, keep this review in mind. Amenities and views are nice, but Security should be more important to feeling safe and secure when you need to call on them.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 11 and the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMakanda, General Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We thank these travelers for their kind and detailed review of our property. We regret that they had difficulties communicating with our after hours staff so they could have been reassured during the night regarding strange noises. We have taken this important feedback into account to assist future guests that may have late night concerns and find themselves having difficulty with the Spanish language barrier. Happy Travels to all!
Jules McNichols-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makanda by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.