We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Words” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Makanda by the Sea to your Saves list
Makanda by the Sea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Goldsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

There are no words to describe how awesome our stay was at Hotel Makanda! This hotel is not the place if you are looking for loud people or constant activities. This is the place to renew your self and reconnect with your loved one. If you would like to do one of the many tours available in the area the staff gladly arranges it for you, including transportation. There is a full breakfast delivered to your room each morning. While you eat on the balcony you can listen to all the sounds in the rainforest and watch the beautiful pacific ocean. There is a wonderful restaurant on site that serves the best food ever. I can not say enough about the staff. From Chumpo and Alexandro in reception, to Fabi and Chris at the pool/restaurant, the service is friendly and so prompt with close attention paid to each detail. You feel as if you are the only couple there. Don't miss out on happy hour from 4 to 6 by the pool. You can customize your vacation at Hotel Makanda to be everything you have dreamed of! This place is a tropical paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in deluxe studio number 11, which was awesome, but deluxe studio number 10 was above us an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for a private, clean, great service without visibility of the staffs. I would stay here again when I go back. And, I will recommend this place to anyone who has traveled in Manuel Antonio and haven't stay here before, you should try it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I just got back today from Makanda and it was amazing. The people were so friendly, especially Fabi, and the rooms were great. The views from the rooms and pool are some of the best in Costa Rica. They really create a feeling like you are part of Costa Rica at Makanda. I would recommend this place to anime staying in Manuel Antonio and I plan on staying here again when I go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpadolsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is located very conveniently to different restaurants and bars if you have at least a scooter. It's quite a walk and an uphill ride on a bicycle to town. Otherwise, everything you need is on the grounds: pool, in suite kitchenette, small restaurant, room service. It is gated and has access to a private beach, though the walk to the beach is down the hill about 400 meters. The staff is extremely helpful! Wish we were able to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererlust45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were actually here in May, 2010, but have just booked our trip to return next month. I have not stayed anywhere else in Manuel Antonio, but when I find something I really like I prefer to stay with it so I can't make any comparisons. We stayed in Villa 10 and are staying there again. The room was beautiful, quiet with an amazing view. What is better than having breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the Pacific and watching groups of monkeys wander on by? The grounds are very well kept and the pool area was quiet and relaxing with a quaint little restaurant. Makanda keeps a no children under 12 rule so you only hear the screaming of the Howler Monkeys and not the the screaming of the abundant child monkey(nothing wrong with children, but its nice to have a break.)
Can't wait to get there!!!

Room Tip: I have only stayed in Villa 10, which is a Deluxe Villa and absolutely loved it. I can't commen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A little haven away from all the tourists of Manuel Antonio.
The suites are amazing and totally private. They are beautifully appointed and very clean.The balconies have a view of the Pacific to die for. To relax on a hammock looking at the sea is just a wonderful way to while away the time.
Beware if any walking problems that some of the room have a LOT of steps to them and if they are down from reception one has to climb up to the swimming pool and restaurant.
We had white headed capuchin monkeys in the trees right next to the balcony.

Room Tip: Remember the steps! I have problems with my knees and we had to change rooms when we arrived. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zintilis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A wonderful, quiet retreat, hidden in the trees, surrounded by flowers and a sea view to die for. Each room has its own big balcony with a view, with relaxing hammock and cane chair set. Breakfast is served here. I was a bit sceptical about that to start with but it worked perfectly.
We had a huge bed and delightful big bathroom. We also had a little dining and kitchen area so i had tea in bed in the morning and we pulled back the floor to ceiling windows and took in the view. You are very high up so you can watch the passing of the boats and admire the antics of the monkeys who ar swinging around in the surrounding trees, at the same time.

The pool is also a delight and as this is an adults only venue it is quite quiet. Cocktails at 4pm and a dip after the sightseeing - perfect. Food is excellent here both for lunch and dinner. However you can walk up to the main road about 10 minutes and get to other nice restaurants.
The only thing we would not recommend is going to the park at the weekend and in high season. It is the main route to the beach and therefore packed with people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana Hotel & Spa
Shana Hotel & Spa
#12 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
#1 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Makanda by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing