We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and elegant small hotel on a large property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Makanda by the Sea to your Saves list
Makanda by the Sea
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful and elegant small hotel on a large property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Makanda by the Sea is sited in the book Elegant Small Hotels listing the best small hotels around the world. That says a lot for this beautiful hotel set amongst tall trees and lush landscaping. We were greeted at the gate with a golf cart to take our luggage and ourselves to the reception desk where we were served a welcoming drink. The hotel consists of 11 villas some of which are attached but provide all the privacy and security you would want. Our villa had a large room with a built in sofa at the foot of the bed. There was also a view of the ocean from our terrace. The room even had a large vase of fresh flowers. There was also a small kitchenette with a refrigerator so we could store cold drinks, coffee maker, 2 electric cooktops, sink and dinnerware if you wanted to prepare something. The bathroom had a huge shower. The swimming pool had an infinity edge making photography especially inviting. It was relaxing to sit by the pool and occasionally dip in. The tree surrounding the pool had a sloth in it the day we arrived. The eating area is located at the edge of the pool. Service is exceptional with the waiter explaining the various items in detail and making suggestions. The shredded pork sandwich is huge and the salads are great. There are several other good restaurants in nearby hotels as well but i would recommend taking a cab since the hill is narrow, steep and curvy with autos speeding up and down. You can take a 15 minute walk through the woods down the hill to the beach which we did once but the hotels pool was just fine for relaxing.

Room Tip: Villa 11 has a fabulous view of the ocean and surrounding trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    61
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
24
232
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed last June for 5 nights in Deluxe 11, the view was breathtaking and everyone at the hotel went out of their way for us. Randall was so informative about the wildlife; he would even call us in the room when a sloth or the family of Monkeys were hanging out by the pool! This was our first time in Costa Rica and we already booked for this year in the Villa (above from Deluxe). Leo and staff is so gracious and the experience we had was wonderful. Thank you to everyone. The reason why I am sending the review so late was the Jan 6th review - badmouthing Makanda - NOT TRUE, it is such a shame that miserable people can ruin such a beautiful place. Please go and stay at Makanda; you will fall in love with it like we did!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

You are welcomed from the moment you check in. Beautiful pool and restaurant. The staff is very attentive but non intrusive from room service to booking trips to calling cabs. Very safe and elegant. The villas are beautifully appointed from the beautiful wood to fine linens. The views are breathtaking. We have been here twice and plan to come back. Really feel like we would be disappointed if we ever stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Makanda has some great features that make it a perfect spot to relax. From our terrace we had an amazing view over the surrounding vegetation and the ocean. We could fully enjoy this view during breakfast since it was delivered every morning in our villa. While we were eating pancakes or local specialities monkeys were passing by, jumping from tree to tree. Later on we could go to the lovely swimming pool (very good size) or walk down to the beach (15 minutes on a rather steep trail).
We just felt that the in-house restaurant could serve more exciting food regarding the standard of the hotel. You can find other eating options within a 15-20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Makanda ranks as one of the best hotels we have experienced. We stayed in a villa nestled away in the jungle with a breathtaking view of the ocean. It was a very peaceful and intimate setting. The decor is very simple, clean and serene. The staff was very accommodating, providing pleasant and responsive service. The poolside restaurant served delicious meals and a knock-out view. The hotel does not provide shuttle service into town as some other do, so best to have your own transportation or plan to hoof it up and down the many hills. If you are looking for a truly peaceful vacation, you should consider this very small, intimate hotel. Careful when you choose to travel, since Makanda abuts the rainforest - you can expect some downfalls in the evening but may want to stay away from the wet season.

Room Tip: The villas are probably the best accommodations. We stayed in villa #5 which had a very nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fantastic & romantic boutique hotel. Loved it from the second we arrived - pictures don't do it justice. All the rooms are private & wonderfully integrated w/ the jungle.

Only 12 or so villas and studios- so very private.

Loved the walk to the beach and running the quiet streets in the morning for exercise.

Monkeys and sloths all over the place.

Pool was amazing. Drinks at pool were great, too. Breakfast is great, as everyone else says, too.

For our last night, Makanda was booked, so we moved to Arenas Del Mar. Down the street from each other. Arenas was nice too but Cheryl different. We preferred Makanda without a doubt.

Walk to town for dinner was very easy. Flashlight in the room - 15 mins tops.

.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio - not a lot of comments about the studios on Trip Advisor so we weren't su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about Makanda. Beautiful grounds, knowledgable, friendly staff, absolutely perfect rooms, great in-house restaurant and bar, romantic infinity pool, howler monkeys nearby, etc. Book your stay now. Oh, and spring for the villas if you can. The "deluxe" room was nice, but didn't hold a candle to villa #1.

Room Tip: Villa #1. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makanda by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.