We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Romantic, jungle paradise...and all with an ocean view!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Makanda by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Margate City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Romantic, jungle paradise...and all with an ocean view!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week at Makanda, and miss it already. This Hotel is one of the nicest places we have ever been. You feel as though you are in a private jungle retreat. The staff was amazing, and go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are all secluded from one another and all have a gorgeous view of the jungle and ocean. Be prepared to do some walking. It is on a hillside so you are constantly walking up and down steps and inclines. This did not bother us at all, but I can see how it might bother others!

The only negative was the beach. We are beach people and when we walked the steep path down to the beach, and I mean STEEP, it was a little disapointing! Don't get me wrong...BEAUTIFUL, but not somewhere we would want to spend the day. We were well aware of this before choosing this hotel. We chose to take the daily 10am shuttle to the Manuel Antonio beach that is provided by the hotel. I only put this in my review, so that if you are looking for a beachfront resort look elsewhere. The infinity pool is a good replacement. We ended up there each evening to watch the amazing sunsets and the monkies playing in the tree tops. It was a nice way to end a nice long day at the beach or relax after an excursion.

We saw two different species of monkies as well as iguanas, a really scary prehistoric grasshopper, and a huge toad right on our doorstep. No matter what time of the day we were leaving the room, I always made my boyfriend go first...it became sort of a joke. You never knew what little animal may be waiting to say hello.

We can't say enough about the views and the grounds...just breathtaking! Just look at the photos I attatched.

The hotel delivers breakfast to your room every morning, on your schedule..very nice touch!We tried everything offered and everything was delicious. The banana-coconut pancakes/french toast were unbelievable!

Costa Rica in itself is a beautiful country, with warm smiling people. We tried many of the nearby restaurants, which all offered the freshest fish. We decided that the best mahi- mahi & red snapper were prepared at Bamboo Jam...which also provided us with some entertainment, it was salsa night! We don't salsa, but it looks fun and is fun to watch people who can! The best ceviche we had was at Raphael's Terraca. But, every restaraunt we went to was very good and resonably priced.

If your looking for a quiet getaway, and want to feel you are alone in paradise...this is the place!

We will definately be returning, no doubt about it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    56
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
198
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

I searched far and wide for a hotel with reasonable rates and a beautiful view and I found it at Makanda by the sea. I was very impressed with the complex and privacy it offered. I took so many pictures of the beautiful sunsets and ocean views.

I stayed in studio #3 and the bathroom was recently renovated which isnt reflected on the website yet. Its a beautiful modern bathroom with bath and body products. The unit was spacious with floor to ceiling windows offering awesome views. I did not regret staying here once.

But I would not recommend this hotel if you have mobility issues. It does require lots of walking. Ie to the private beach of up the hill to the main part of town.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

An amazing hotel with breathtaking views. Vary comfortable. short walk to the beach. All three kinds of monkeys visited us every day. The staff are very helpful. Stay hear you will love it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork10011
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just returned from a really delightful stay at the Makanda hotel. It's a tiny hotel, with just 12 rooms/villas, but feels spacious and has all the services you could need of a larger hotel. You can not find a more beautiful natural setting- lush jungle around the property with incredible ocean views from the pool and all the rooms.

We stayed in Villa 1- highly recommended- spacious, nicely appointed, well decorated, giant wall of glass overlooking the ocean with large floor to ceiling glass doors that slide open so that you're just wide open to the forest. Large king sized bed, large kitchen.

They bring you breakfast to your room each day at a time of your choice- it's amazing sitting at your table looking out over the green rainforest and the ocean and watching colorful birds and butterflies go by, hearing the ocean waves. One morning a large group of monkeys went right by the windows.

There is a small beach down quite a steep hill, but it's much quieter and more relaxed than the crowded beaches in Manuel Antonio park. Great for swimming and relaxing.

The reception staff were super friendly and helpful, from helping us book a flight to calling us taxis, to giving us tips on where to eat.

The pool area was beautiful and never too crowded. There is a nice restaurant by the pool (and you can order frozen cocktails and your lunch for example without ever leaving your pool chair if you prefer). We had dinner there one night and it was quite good.

Overall, loved it and would go back again any time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our first time to Costa Rica, and after a long haul from San Jose being greeted by the doorman at Makanda was a sigh of relief. This was our home for a week and we couldn't have asked for anything better. From our amazing villa to the breath taking views, to Darwin at reception who always smiled question after question we had, to the monkeys and nature that surrounded us. We were in our own little piece of heaven. Highly, highly recommended! I travel quite a bit and this was by far the best vacation I have been on, Makanda tops them all- not only the accommodations, but the staff by far was the main reason we will definitely return! Thank you thank you thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 5. All suites and villas have an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Makanda by the Sea is breathtaking. Set up high overlooking the ocean, we arrived to a jungle setting. Howler monkeys greeted us (just with their call, not actually greeting us!). The staff were delightful, completely had the Pura Vida attitude.

The pool and jacuzzi area were gorgeous. Clean and temperature-perfect. And it was never crowded! At times it felt like we had our own pool and jacuzzi! Of course it was particularly great when the monkeys greeted us in the afternoon.

We had the least expensive room and while we didn't have a hammock, we had a gorgeous private room overlooking the ocean, with a balcony and wonderful housekeeping service. The bathrooms were spotless, with only the occasional friendly earthworm trying to figure out how it got on some tile!

Our walk to the main road was a bit scary in that there are no sidewalks and it's a bit windy, but other people did it, so we did too and while there's a hill, it's a pretty painless 10 minute climb if you're in shape. I welcomed it actually, as it was the only form of exercise I really got! Once you get up the hill, there are loads of great restaurants and bars to catch other sunset views on and have great drinks and food. I loved that it was all within walking distance.

The staff were great about booking tours, there was never a problem. Pura vida was their attitude!

My only mild complaint is that the restaurant didn't feel like it was ever really a place people went to eat. We ate there when we arrived, which was fine, but the food wasn't particularly great. It was totally fine, just not amazing. Same with the complimentary breakfast... it was fine. Though if you like spicy, I recommend the omelette with the jalepenos! That was actually the big winner!

In any case, if you're looking for a place to escape, a touch off the beaten path, but certainly not so far as to not be able to walk anywhere, this is the place. I fell in love with Costa Rica here, so it will likely always hold a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Makanda by the sea was the second stop on our honeymoon and it was completely different from our stop in the Arenal area. This hotel has a great view of the ocean from every part of the property and even has beach access (bit of a walk)!

The food at the on property restaurant was delicious and the setting/mood was amazing.

The infinity pool on the property was also amazing!

The BEST part of the entire property was the amount of wildlife! We saw ALL types of monkeys but our favorites were all of the howler monkey! They made a ton of noise but it was great! We also saw lizards, snakes, geckos, birds, fish, etc.

The only thing that might bother some is the lizards at night! They come out to have some fun, they are everywhere! We never saw any in our room but the walls along the walk way to your room you will see plenty! At first it was a little creepy but by the end of our stay it was really cool!

I would def. recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing but entertaining stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park, 3 Kilometers, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makanda by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.