We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Piscis

Cabinas Piscis
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Piscis
Save
You added Cabinas Piscis to your Saves list
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed two nights in August 2010. Selected these cabinas on advice of a Tico friend when we were looking for last minute rooms for a spur of the moment two night trip to Manuel Antonio. Called ahead before leaving the Central Valley to inquire about room availability---they had a room to sleep 4 at $50 a night---we asked them to hold it for us. We arrived in the afternoon, checked into the room, lower left in the 4 unit, two floor building. 4 twin beds, 2 busted up but working fans, a rusty refrig that cooled by needed a bent coat hanger to keep door closed, and termite eaten trim work on the baño door---yep, pretty run down.
Changed and walked down the short path to the beach---the location is excellent, very close to beach and an easy walk to MA Park.
After a swim and some comidas we came back, showered---warm--and hung out.
Guests included a 3 generation Tico family, a German couple on a bike tour, and a few surfers.
The on premises soda served bottomless cups of coffee and a reasonably priced desayuno delicioso!
We sat out in front of the room in the tipico Tico rebar rocking chairs enjoying some cervesas, the nature and the neighbors.
I'd say Piscis is exactly what we expected, a typical Tico cabina at the beach.
We paid cash--did not offer any credit card info, so we didn't suffer that---and received our money's worth, a cheap sleep in a very good location.
Would I stay here again? Probably. Do I recommend this place? Absolutely, if you're looking for a unique taste of the "real Costa Rica" this will add a memorable experience to your visit. Just understand that you'll get what you pay for, a clean but run down room, steps from the beach.

Room Tip: best room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I made a reservation in advance for the casita. The owner Viviana charged 3 nights in advance to my credit card, although the credit card authorization form I had to fill in was just meant as a security in case of non-arrival. We arrived and the casita was in such a bad shape (dark, dirty, smelly from mildew and definitely not worth 65$ a night) that we left right away. It was so disgusting that we didn't even want to stay for one night. The receptionist didn't talk any English but promised me that we would only have to pay for one night and the two other nights would be charged back to my bank account. This never happened - even after reminding Viviana severel times. So I had to recall the money via my bank. Definitely cannot recommend to anyone staying at this place!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We made a reservation and they charged our credit card which we didn't know (lost $280) when we showed up they told us that we don't have any reservation and receptionist didn't speak English, so we paid cash. We tried to contact them no response. It seems to us that they are doing that on purpose since we are not the only ones. We got the worse cabinas, no windows the cover was ripped off. They said that there would be hot water but was only cold. We have two small kids and I don't recommend this. We were highly dissatisfied.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Our stay at the cabanas was great initially, the room was clean and right by the beach, nothing fancy just a bed and a shower with hot water in a little cabin with a screened porch. We saw monkeys and iguanas from the porch within minutes! The place is a little run down but it was quite and close to the beach and national park and cheap for MA! We payed in cash when we left - none of the staff members spoke English. When I returned home I saw that my credit card had been charged for $100 from somewhere called cabinas y restaurant in Aquiles (which is the county of MA) this was the only place we stayed on the Pacific Coast and I did give them my credit card # to reserve the room. All attempts to contact them about this failed- they never returned my emails etc... So be warned don't give them your credit card#. Just show up.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central US
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

Nothing special about this little place. I gave it 4 stars because of it's low rates and proximity to the beach. It is hard to find - on the right side of the road just before reaching Manuel Antonio beach. There is no pool or special amenities. Room was typical for a cabinas - no TV or air conditioning - just a simple room, clean bed and shower. After a 30 second walk on a trail through thick jungle, the view opened up to M.A. beach - very beautiful! A good value for a budget minded traveler who doesn't want to pay for all the extra amenities. I used the money I saved to have some great meals at nearby restaraunts.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no amenities
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Piscis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Piscis

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cabinas Piscis Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Piscis Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Piscis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.