We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 (USD)
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Drive up to hotel was crazy, try not to go at night and use your GPS. Otherwise, the hotel was nice. Room was beautiful and had a gorgeous view! Hotel had WiFi (intermittently) in front desk area, pool, and restaurant. Restaurant was delicious and had great drink specials. Hotel breakfast ok, not as large offering as at other places but still had more than enough to eat.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us feedback. Very kind words! We hope when you think of Costa Rica that your thoughts are of warm smiling people who did their best to make an enjoyable vacation for you! That is our goal, always! We hope to see you again and wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    105
    46
    26
    21
See reviews for
68
118
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel with plenty to see and do. the hotel has a wonderful view from the common area, with excellent breakfast and dinner by the pool. The common area is nice, but there is not a lot protection from the elements. The same goes for the rooms facing the road. Other than that, I'd say that it's a good hotel if you want to see the park and the surrounding city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay, Thanks on behalf of all of us who work to make your stay enjoyable! We hope your trip in Costa Rica was excellent and that you had a wonderful experience overall! Warm wishes and happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms were lovely and well equipped and set among amazing lush forest where we were able to observe monkeys and birds.It was quiet at night so sleep was not disturbed and the staff were helpful and friendly. The service by the pool was also great. We were there June 13 and 14, 2014,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay! We always hope that you take home a little "Pura Vida" that stays in your heart forever! Many thanks for your kind words and warm wishes from all of us here at Hotel California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My stay at the Hotel California was quite a pleasant experience. The Hotel was old school with modern conveniences. The hotel might of been bit outdated but the service was great. Make sure to get your breakfast at the pool and enjoy the great service and hospitality you'll get from Viviana. One of the best assets of the hotel is its service and the view. If your driving. The street to the hotel is awkward to locate. It's a bit bumpy and you'll experience a free "Costa Rican Massage". I felt comfortable taking my two adult teenage daughter there. This is the place to stay with friends and party Costa Rican Style.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for your kind words. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and I agree that Viviana and Gilberto are both great hosts and hostesses in the restaurant. I believe it is the people who make a hotel a place you want to visit and I am really happy that you had a great experience with the people here! Warmest wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupun, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel California. It is super important to get a room with an ocean view. Majority do not. Our neatest surprise during our stay was getting to have breakfast with the white-faced monkeys. It only happened one of the 3 mornings here. We watched them swing tree to tree looking for and eating mangoes right next to our breakfast table! The food was pretty good, and happy hour specials were nice. The beds were awful and you can forget about water pressure to shower, but we tried to overlook these set backs to enjoy our vacation. Something you might not know when booking a room here is that a cab ride to the main beach by the Manuel Antonio Entrance is $10 but you can take a 5 minute walk down the road to the local bus stop and catch a ride (every 15 minutes) for less than $2 a couple. This worked well during the day but was not advised at night as the walk from the bus stop to the hotel is not well lit or traveled. Also, there are no restaurants nearby to walk to. Must take a cab or the bus.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am really sorry you had a problem with the water pressure. I will look into the possibility of beefing up the delivery system. I am glad you had some great visitors for breakfast, the wildlife here is amazing, that is why I live here beside the hotel! The road is not ideal, but we are 200 meters away from the road noise which is a great buffer for those who want to get away from things. I appreciate your comments and wish you all the best on all your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here w a tour group and found excellent clean rooms. Great hotel service too. Very attentive. Pretty dang close to town and the beach but I could lounge here all day. The best part is the pool, views and bar! Ask for Gilberto - sir can mix a cocktail!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments. I agree that Gilberto is a great bartender! Glad you had a great time and I wish you the best on all your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed here during a round trip of Costa Rica. The rooms were lovely and clean, good air con and comfy beds. I also had the best cocktails (seriously,the best) ,made by Gilberto, the gorgeous bar man. The pool is hot and the service is excellent. I would reccomend staying here as it is in the middle of both towns, easliy accessable by the bus. Pura Vida.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay here! I am so happy to pass on the great comments to all the employees here, they love to hear good feedback about their work. I wish you the best in all your travels, have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.