We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel California” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
“Hotel California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I actually saw more wildlife sititng by the pool at the hotel than I did in the park! The location of the hotel cannot be beaten. The staff, most importantly Gilberto who works at the bar, was more than welcoming. He became a friend of my family and me and significantly improved the quality of our time there. He was always in a great mood and happy to see every guest. If you stay at the hotel, you will certainly get to know him as well as he is as friendly as can be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    92
    41
    24
    20
See reviews for
56
96
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

You had to drive up this narrow road to get to it. We could hear and see the monkeys. Little restaurant which overlooked the jungle. The pool was good sized. They had balls you could play with. The rooms were not to big.

Room Tip: All the room are towards the jungle and are balconies. In the morning you can go to the balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in two places in Costa Rica, hotel California being my first. The staff treat you like a king and are more then happy to help.. Edgar and Eric were the best, they even remember emailing me before I got there! Of course I didn't know much about the area but they were VERY HAPPY to call any excursions or taxi i needed. Always happy to give advice and honest opinion on how to make the most of your stay . They Seriously they take pride in being a great hotel and an amazing staff, the view was incredible and the breakfast was great too, it's not a traditional buffet but you tell the cook exactly how you want your food cooked(egg ect) and they make it in front of you. Served with fresh squeezed juice. Happy hour was fun too! I wish I had stayed there for my entire trip because the other hotel I stayed at (hotel posiden in jaco) couldn't even compare! When I return to Costa Rica I will be def be staying there again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The grounds and rooms were very well kept and clean. After a wind and rain storm the grounds were almost already cleaned by the time I woke up. The food was great and the view from the room was fabulous. I must warn you though, if you choose to get your laundry done there, make sure you understand the way they charge you....by the piece. I paid over $30 US for just a few pieces.

Room Tip: Upper floors, ask for a room with a view. I forget which side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here in Dec 2013 as part of our G Adventures tour. Food, though expensive, was very tasty. Superb views over the bay of Quepos and the wildlife viewing at times surpassed what we saw in the national park. But best of all were Gilberto's cocktails. I have tasted mojitos in lots of places around the world but have never before had one as delicious as his. We tried quite a few of his other cocktails too, and while some of the others were also particularly good, the mojito was, for me, the most outstanding. Just a shame we were only there 2 nights!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS, FRANCE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you look at the fancy pictures of this hotel's website you may even feel atracted by its Eagles-anthem name. Don't be fooled. We had a good look around the Manuel Antonio road which connects Quepos with the National Park. Unless you find no vacancies around, there's plenty of other options if you're planning on staying in the area. This hotel has dirty rooms, with dirty dead insects, moisture in the walls which drives the white to greenish, hardly any good views, most of the rooms face to the garden (pretty badly cared, BTW) and its staff is, to put it into most objective words, lazy.

Plus, although being in the middle of a tropical wildlife green, the hotel happens to have a peculiar neighbour who has its TV on the courtyard, outdoors, only covered by a roof. The neighbour outis its kids in front of TV some time around 7am. It's cartoon. Oh, and there's a dog. A dog with a peacock complex. He starts barking like hell at 5:30 am, sharp at dawn.

The swimming pool is pretty small facing the building. Only the mojitos served at the bar are superb!

Room Tip: Rooms with high numbers are on the third floor which, with a little luck, may have a (poor) view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear PeterParis,
On behalf of the 25 employees who work at Hotel Calufornia, we apologize for the bad experience you had.
We are doing all we can to remedy the problems that you mentioned.
We hope you enjoyed you overall stay in Costa Rica.
Regards,

Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here with my daughter. We had a wonderful time. The owner of the hotel is friendly and if you have any needs, she will personally take care of them if she needs to. The staff is great...food wonderful, rooms very comfy. Do choose this hotel in Costa Rica. You can travel to the beach by bus in just a few minutes. There are a couple of great restaurants (serving locals food) within walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The upstairs rooms facing the sea have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MillyEJ,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Hotel California experience so much.

Well, we miss you already and can not wait for your return visit.

Thank you for taking your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

And come back and see us.......we miss you!
Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.