We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here while in Quepos.Super service and restaurant was very good. Big rooms with an an ocean view and a nice pool. Spent a rainy day watching wildlife from the covered patio.Near the frequent bus to either the beach or town.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    88
    38
    22
    19
See reviews for
54
91
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Quepos, whilst not the most exciting town in CR, the location of the hotel made up for it in terms of spotting some wildlife in the early mornings. Being woken up by howler monkeys, to my mind, is preferable to police sirens or pneumatic drills. The hotel was booked as part of our tour via G Adventures. The rooms were fine. The pool was wet. The food was OK & the poolside barman in the evenings made a mean Mojito. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were there to see the country & as such the hotel functioned perfectly for somewhere to eat, sleep & recover after a day exploring the park or being on the beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fine - we had 2 of them btw. Good views & kept clean. What more do you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, ON
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was pre-booked for our group by G Adventures... of the 4 hotels on the trip, this was my favourite by far. Great pool. 3rd floor has amazing views of the beach, sunset. Woke up to monkeys chattering in the trees in the morning.Pool bar had outstanding mojitos & 2 for 1 Happy Hour daily. The food at the pool bar is outstanding! The owner, Robbie, is very personable & she has the cutest dog, Thor. Very clean & well-maintained. Hope to return someday!

Room Tip: 3rd floor gets you a sunset view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi LL44
Thanks for taking the time post the review on your recent stay in Hotel California
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the 3rd floor rooms with better views.
Thanks for the kind words on our maintenance staff they try the best to keep the hotel as clean and well-maintained possible, we all want our guests to have the best stay, and thank you for your kind words to Robbie and her dog Thor.
I hope you'll come back and stay with us again.
Alonso Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hotel California this March. We booked and paid for 4 nights in advance (2 rooms). After our second night, I broke my nose (compound fracture) while taking a surfing lesson from the company the desk staff recommended. I had to be taken to San Jose for medical treatment immediately. So we had to leave after our second night. The hotel representative said this was not a problem, he would take care of it. However, they have remained unwilling to refund us for the two nights that we didn't stay there. Not the kind of place you want to do business with and the rooms aren't that clean and nice anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello shaffems,
We feel so bad about this review, this is all about a miscommunication between the guest and our hotel representative. In the 12 years of operation, this is the first time that Hotel California faces a situation of this nature.
Your primary complaint seems to be about the refund. So allow us to address that topic.
We agreed and recommended a Surfing company to do their classes, unfortunately a bad accident occur while they were there. We, at Hotel California provide the safest tour companies knowing an accident may happens during the trip, these tour operators have insurance up to date for many reasons. In this case, hospital expenses were cover by the insurance surfing company.
I have to say that their room reservation was booked thru a travel agency based in San José, Costa Rica. Unfortunately we haven´t email or talk to the guest directly,
Again, we apologize to Shaffems and all the family for the delay in returning your money but I will contact your travel agent to do this refund immediately.

Please feel free to email us or call any time to follow up.

Thanks,
Alonso Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Shower temperature kept switching from hot to cold every few seconds. Difficult getting onto main road due to blind curve & heavy traffic. Nice view from private balcony. Hard to find, especially in the dark.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear MileHighMom2
Thank you kindly for your review about your stay in Hotel California.
We are investigating the reason why you had such problems with the hot/cold water, we haven’t seen previous problems of this kind, we are investigating about it and probably the water heater needs to be replaced which can be done immediately.
Hotel California is located 200 meters from the main road, we have tried with the local government to replace our sign with no good results, we suggest you to take a flashlight if you are walking at night, and please, be very careful when leaving the hotel as visibility can be hard while driving. In general our roads and drivers are not the best.

Thank you again, and looking forward to see you back in Manuel Antonio.
Alonso Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnanB
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for two days at the end of our trip. The rooms were large-ish and clean, except for towels. The hotel is way out of town and a 15 minute bus ride from the national park.

The sandwiches in the well-appointed restaurant were good value and tasty although the cocktails were expensive.

The only issue came when I told the reception staff that my towels were dirty from the previous guests and that I wanted clean ones. They asked me to prove it and to see the towels! I showed them the towels but only one of them was dirty enough to change according to them! To me, the cleaning staff had either changed all of the towels or none, or maybe they do pick and choose which are dirty enough to change between occupants!

Others in our group also had issues with rude staff members. Wifi was only available in the reception and not in the restaurant as advertised.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear AnanB
Thank you for your recent review about our property but sad to hear we did not meet your expectations, I would like to address them as follows:

Thank you for letting us know that overall our rooms are clean, my apologize for the towels issues. This is an isolated case because towels and all room´s clothing are ALWAYS changed when check outs. It could be that these towels were not in the best conditions, is time for us to make a new inspection of all of our towels, my apologizes for the staff attitude, all he or she had to do, was to replace them, this was as simple as it looks.

Restaurant: Few months ago, we did our most effort to change our main menu with very affordable prices, we also ad our daily menu with specials that includes sandwiches and wraps, all made with fresh vegetables and good sized portions, also very affordable prices, thank you for letting us know how tasty they are.
Our cocktails cost $ 5 and during happy hour, every day from 4 to 6, 2 for 1. We think these prices are affordable as well.

Wifi: I'm pretty sure that was an isolate problem, one of our routers was down when you tried in the restaurant that day, this is only because of point of sale computer works with wifi as well, for your convenience we also provide access in other public areas.

Thank you very much for your recent visit and looking forward to see you back in Manuel Antonio.
Alonso Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From check-in to check-out, we were treated like cherished friends by the warm and humorous staff. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with each deck offering a spectacular view of the sunsets. Our meals were terrific as well, chosen from a varied menu, and when one meal was less than perfect, it was whisked away without a question. Edgar, Eileen, Gilberto, and owner Robbie, all made us feel at home. The only caveat is that the tile floors are treacherous when wet, making footing difficult.

Room Tip: The upper floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Dobiemom12.
Thank you so much for your excellent review on this important forum, I love to read reviews like yours, and thank you for mentioning the names of some of our great workers and so glad you met Robbie.
We are so happy to hear that we meet your expectations about location and especially our customer service.
Due to the structure of the high ceilings when the hotel was built, makes it difficult when it rains and it could be slipper, we try our best to keep these floors dry as soon as the rain stops.
Thank you very much for your recent visit and looking forward to see you back in Manuel Antonio some time soon.
Alonso Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.