We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our group of 9 with G Adventures stayed here January 2013. Room was large, mini fridge, a/c, and patio. No ocean view but it didn't matter. Very clean, however a/c was a little noisy. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Open air restaurant had a great ocean view and food was excellent. Service was great. Monkeys on the balconies were a bonus! Two minute walk to bus stop, and ten minute bus ride to Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park.

Room Tip: We did not have ocean view but it didn't matter as we spent most of the day either at Manuel Ant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    84
    35
    21
    16
See reviews for
52
84
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a trip around Costa Rica. The hotel is up a steep road a bus ride from the village and park. The room was good, the food and service excellent. Our group of 6 had virtually exclusive use of the pool.
The bonus item is the sunrise walk up the hill which allows you see troops of monkeys.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Being on a tour, we were used to very basic but clean accommodations. So when we arrived at Hotel California, we were pleasantly surprised. The location is a bit far from downtown Quepos, and this is one of the times where I think it is an advantage.

Pros: swimming pool and jacuzzi; the restaurant overlooks the ocean. It's food is good quality, reasonably priced and breakfast buffet is good value. They have Happy Hour between 4-6pm, with 2-for-1 drinks. Service was excellent and any issues were resolved quickly. The rooms are large, have a little patio, has AC, bar fridge, coffee maker and room safe to keep your valuables. Location was halfway between Manual Antonio park and downtown Quepos, with a bus stop going either direction to the aforementioned destinations at the bottom of the road.

Cons: it was sometimes difficult to get towels at the swimming area, and the hilly driveway to the hotel can be a pain after a strenous day in the city/beach.

I would highly recommend Hotel California, and would happily go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Room was clean, beds comfortable. Old small screen TV placed very high on wall. Bathroom small with no room to place toilet articles. Hot water failed on second day. Hotel is 300 meters from main road where there is a bus stop. Buses run every 20" and service is very good. Hotel restaurant food and service is above average.

Room Tip: Rooms to right as one climbs steps from reception have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Gorgeous view if you get a room on the bay side. But, very poor service, seven lounge chairs around a mini swimming pool for the whole hotel, two most inconfortable iron chairs on the balcony, two Wood benches in the hall. Forget relaxing outdoors. No pool towels available the second day, no butter or margarine for the toasts at breakfast. The people at the reception gave us minimum information. I would not recommand this place.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the bay side. The view is the only interesting thing at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel has a great infrastructure with a beautiful pool and ocean view. I stayed on the first floor, without a view, but the rooms on the second floor may have a view to the pool and the ocean in the back. My room was very spacious with a balcony to the backyard. There was free WiFi in the lobby and in the pool/restaurant area and the service is also very good.
The only thing I did not love about the hotel was the location. It is almost half way from Quepos and Manuel Antonio and you need a bus or cab to go anywhere. I stayed there with G Adventures, so that was not a big deal as I was moving around with a big group most of the time. If I was by myself or with a smaller group I would rather stay closer to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'll admit that my expectations were not that high after we booked here fairly last-minute. But it ended up being FANTASTIC! Our room was a bit rustic, but big and charming with a comfortable bed and air-conditioning. Our private balcony had spectacular views and allowed us to enjoy wine and sunsets. The pool is nothing fancy, but it's great to have it there for a midday dip in between taking part in the area's surrounding activities. The bar offers a cheap happy hour, though I would avoid the restaurant for meals other than breakfast. The friendly folks at reception helped us book a mangrove kayak tour and a sunset catamaran cruise. They even ran out with their telescope to help us spot a rare toucan in the trees above the property. So unexpected and lovely of them!

One con was wi-fi. We were supposed to be able to access from our room, but you really can only access from the reception area.

Room Tip: Room 39 has privacy and amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.