We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Room was clean, beds comfortable. Old small screen TV placed very high on wall. Bathroom small with no room to place toilet articles. Hot water failed on second day. Hotel is 300 meters from main road where there is a bus stop. Buses run every 20" and service is very good. Hotel restaurant food and service is above average.

Room Tip: Rooms to right as one climbs steps from reception have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    37
    21
    16
See reviews for
54
87
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Gorgeous view if you get a room on the bay side. But, very poor service, seven lounge chairs around a mini swimming pool for the whole hotel, two most inconfortable iron chairs on the balcony, two Wood benches in the hall. Forget relaxing outdoors. No pool towels available the second day, no butter or margarine for the toasts at breakfast. The people at the reception gave us minimum information. I would not recommand this place.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the bay side. The view is the only interesting thing at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel has a great infrastructure with a beautiful pool and ocean view. I stayed on the first floor, without a view, but the rooms on the second floor may have a view to the pool and the ocean in the back. My room was very spacious with a balcony to the backyard. There was free WiFi in the lobby and in the pool/restaurant area and the service is also very good.
The only thing I did not love about the hotel was the location. It is almost half way from Quepos and Manuel Antonio and you need a bus or cab to go anywhere. I stayed there with G Adventures, so that was not a big deal as I was moving around with a big group most of the time. If I was by myself or with a smaller group I would rather stay closer to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'll admit that my expectations were not that high after we booked here fairly last-minute. But it ended up being FANTASTIC! Our room was a bit rustic, but big and charming with a comfortable bed and air-conditioning. Our private balcony had spectacular views and allowed us to enjoy wine and sunsets. The pool is nothing fancy, but it's great to have it there for a midday dip in between taking part in the area's surrounding activities. The bar offers a cheap happy hour, though I would avoid the restaurant for meals other than breakfast. The friendly folks at reception helped us book a mangrove kayak tour and a sunset catamaran cruise. They even ran out with their telescope to help us spot a rare toucan in the trees above the property. So unexpected and lovely of them!

One con was wi-fi. We were supposed to be able to access from our room, but you really can only access from the reception area.

Room Tip: Room 39 has privacy and amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We travelled with G Adventures and stayed here for 2 nights in Dec 2012. Spacious room with A/C and partial ocean view. This was one of the better hotels we stayed at. WiFi only at the reception area though. Breakfast area is by the pool and you can see the ocean from here. $2 for breakfast if you only want fruit, coffee, juice. $8 for full breakfast. It's about 6 km from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in December 2012. The first thing that impressed us, after a seamless and smooth check in...the view. Upon stepping onto the balcony, we saw an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean. There were also Mango trees, iguanas and Monkeys right out our balcony.

The staff was helpful, and spoke English very well, which made it easier on us, since our Spanish is not so great.

Breakfast was included, and the pool and bar areas were welcoming. This hotel has about 30 rooms, so it as cozy and personal.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest a 3rd floor room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My man and I stayed here after 7 awesome but long days of traveling around CR and this was by far the best hotel we stayed in.

It's location was key as it was halfway between the town of Quepos and Manuel Antonio national park.

The room was beautiful and spacious and there was a sweet mini fridge right in the room to assure our cervesas would be ready to be taken down poolside. Also a coffee maker - key. The staff were very friendly and the view from our room was breathtaking. We had a sweet little balcony too where the sun hit just right in order to dry off our laundry.

And man that pool was legendary.

Also, on your walk down to the street you're guaranteed to spot some cute spider monkeys or sloths. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 35. AMAZING view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.