We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
C.R.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

i guess the tittle syas everything , and i feel like i was in my house , very good staff so very nice, beutyfull property.close from quepos y manuel antonio!, peaceful pool, great view from the restaurant , big room.

Room Tip: second floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    88
    38
    22
    19
See reviews for
54
91
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Check in was easy as we were part of a group.

My room (20) was gorgeous. Big four poster bed, lots of space and very clean.

The pool was lovely and refreshing and the pool towels were handy.

Breakfast was amazing! I loved the chocolate pancakes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We go to Costa every year. Although there are lots of places I have yet to explore, I always spend time at the Hotel California near Quepos. A tropical five-star hotel with great service, it is a remarkable experience. The staff, Haylin Arroyo and her coworker Jesse, we now call family.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hola, my name is Lorena, I stayed at the California Hotel week of 7/16/2012.
The staff : Alex, Alonso helped us out with arrangements from airport to the hotel
Haylin, Edgar Vivi and Irwin provided us with their knowledge of the tours and the
goings on in Manuel Antonio. Always a happy group willing to help us out.
I had a great time and they made my stay welcoming. Did not want to leave.
Thanks to all the staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Six years in a row and nothing but a very peacful, relaxing time.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great value for what you are spending. Edgar provided excellent personable service and we highly recommend him for his guided tours of the national park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

the staff has changed, the owner hires employees that steal from her and visitors! Although the view is exceptional, for the price and the risk of being robbed, it is not worth it!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Readers and Members of Trip Advisor.

We fired an employee a few months ago over some thefts. The employee is knowledgeable about Trip Advisor and knows how to use it. We are investigating several commentaries made on Trip Advisor as we suspect that were motivated by a recent court hearing we had with that employee.
If you any question, please feel free to e-mail us.
We appreciate the support of Trip Advisor to help us identify the source of the comments.

Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.