We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“making new friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
“making new friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hola, my name is Lorena, I stayed at the California Hotel week of 7/16/2012.
The staff : Alex, Alonso helped us out with arrangements from airport to the hotel
Haylin, Edgar Vivi and Irwin provided us with their knowledge of the tours and the
goings on in Manuel Antonio. Always a happy group willing to help us out.
I had a great time and they made my stay welcoming. Did not want to leave.
Thanks to all the staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    84
    35
    21
    16
See reviews for
52
84
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Six years in a row and nothing but a very peacful, relaxing time.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great value for what you are spending. Edgar provided excellent personable service and we highly recommend him for his guided tours of the national park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

the staff has changed, the owner hires employees that steal from her and visitors! Although the view is exceptional, for the price and the risk of being robbed, it is not worth it!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Readers and Members of Trip Advisor.

We fired an employee a few months ago over some thefts. The employee is knowledgeable about Trip Advisor and knows how to use it. We are investigating several commentaries made on Trip Advisor as we suspect that were motivated by a recent court hearing we had with that employee.
If you any question, please feel free to e-mail us.
We appreciate the support of Trip Advisor to help us identify the source of the comments.

Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel was having problems when we arrived. Several in our group had to change rooms because their original rooms smelled very bad. The electricity was out and our room had no running water at first. We ate dinner at the hotel and it seemed the bartender, waiter, cook, and cashier were all the same person. It was 1.5 hrs before all the meals were on the table and they weren't very good. I heard breakfast was better.

When you go out at night and give the room key to the front desk, they leave it on the counter because they close up early. Not very secure! This hotel is fairly isolated if you don't have a car. You are dependent on the bus to get to Manuel Antonio or Quepos. The bus is cheap, though. The equivalent of 51 American cents.

The good? The grounds are clean and pretty, some rooms have balconies and ocean views, the pool is clean, there is free wifi in the rooms, and they have air conditioning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotel California was a nice getaway place.
The rooms were a decent sized room with a good size bathroom. There is a TV in the room, fridge, safe (though mine didn't work), air conditioning, closet, & in room coffee maker.
There is also a nice balcony off most if not all rooms.
There is plenty of hot water for the showers, and I definitely like my showers hot. No issues here. There were plenty of towels supplied as well.
There is only Wifi at reception. However, if your room is close enough to the reception, you may be able to pick up the signal. I was in Room 1 and had no trouble picking up the signal from the balcony, but it would cut in and out when I went into the room.
The pool area was very nice, complete with a bar/restaurant area. The food is definitely priced higher than other Costa Rican eateries, but I guess you pay for convenience. Note that it seemed to take quite a while to get the food though. Be prepared to wait.
Bottles of water can be purchased on site. It was USD$4 for a 1750mL bottle.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are pretty minimal, but very clean. Half the lights in our room were burnt out, and the phone is impossible to use, but those things aren't deal breakers for me.

What was a deal breaker was the restaurant. They seriously should just close it down and not even bother. The wait for food is atrocious, like at least 45 from ordering. Portions are tiny, it is very expensive, and they are usually "out" of most of the items on the menu.

The worst was when we tried for dinner. Three pages of dinner menu items, and they were only serving ONE things for dinner.

With so many other hotel options in Manuel Antonio, I wouldn't bother with this pl

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 139, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.