We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pinellas Park, Florida
2 reviews
“Another great time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Six years in a row and nothing but a very peacful, relaxing time.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    110
    46
    27
    22
See reviews for
71
131
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great value for what you are spending. Edgar provided excellent personable service and we highly recommend him for his guided tours of the national park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

the staff has changed, the owner hires employees that steal from her and visitors! Although the view is exceptional, for the price and the risk of being robbed, it is not worth it!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel California, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Readers and Members of Trip Advisor.

We fired an employee a few months ago over some thefts. The employee is knowledgeable about Trip Advisor and knows how to use it. We are investigating several commentaries made on Trip Advisor as we suspect that were motivated by a recent court hearing we had with that employee.
If you any question, please feel free to e-mail us.
We appreciate the support of Trip Advisor to help us identify the source of the comments.

Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel was having problems when we arrived. Several in our group had to change rooms because their original rooms smelled very bad. The electricity was out and our room had no running water at first. We ate dinner at the hotel and it seemed the bartender, waiter, cook, and cashier were all the same person. It was 1.5 hrs before all the meals were on the table and they weren't very good. I heard breakfast was better.

When you go out at night and give the room key to the front desk, they leave it on the counter because they close up early. Not very secure! This hotel is fairly isolated if you don't have a car. You are dependent on the bus to get to Manuel Antonio or Quepos. The bus is cheap, though. The equivalent of 51 American cents.

The good? The grounds are clean and pretty, some rooms have balconies and ocean views, the pool is clean, there is free wifi in the rooms, and they have air conditioning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotel California was a nice getaway place.
The rooms were a decent sized room with a good size bathroom. There is a TV in the room, fridge, safe (though mine didn't work), air conditioning, closet, & in room coffee maker.
There is also a nice balcony off most if not all rooms.
There is plenty of hot water for the showers, and I definitely like my showers hot. No issues here. There were plenty of towels supplied as well.
There is only Wifi at reception. However, if your room is close enough to the reception, you may be able to pick up the signal. I was in Room 1 and had no trouble picking up the signal from the balcony, but it would cut in and out when I went into the room.
The pool area was very nice, complete with a bar/restaurant area. The food is definitely priced higher than other Costa Rican eateries, but I guess you pay for convenience. Note that it seemed to take quite a while to get the food though. Be prepared to wait.
Bottles of water can be purchased on site. It was USD$4 for a 1750mL bottle.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Rooms are pretty minimal, but very clean. Half the lights in our room were burnt out, and the phone is impossible to use, but those things aren't deal breakers for me.

What was a deal breaker was the restaurant. They seriously should just close it down and not even bother. The wait for food is atrocious, like at least 45 from ordering. Portions are tiny, it is very expensive, and they are usually "out" of most of the items on the menu.

The worst was when we tried for dinner. Three pages of dinner menu items, and they were only serving ONE things for dinner.

With so many other hotel options in Manuel Antonio, I wouldn't bother with this pl

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

After a busy couple of weeks on tour in Costa Rica, the Hotel California was a great place to just chill out and relax. It's quite and feels like you're right in the jungle. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed very nice with plenty of pillows. The fridge is very handy for keeping snacks and drinks so you don't have to spend so much at restaurants. The beach and National Park are only a 50 cent bus ride away. The restaurant is on the expensive side but the food is excellent and the staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#16 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Karahe Hotel
Karahe Hotel
#33 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#6 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.