We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastice View, Relaxing, Great Staff! Five Years in a row!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pinellas Park, Florida
2 reviews
“Fantastice View, Relaxing, Great Staff! Five Years in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Thank you to all for another great visit to Quepos/Manuel Antonio. It is always a pleasure to stay here. A special “Thank You” to Jessie and Haylin and the rest to the rest of the staff in making my vacation a relaxing and peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    114
    46
    28
    22
See reviews for
73
135
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Will definitely be back, all the staff was great, friendly and we still keep in contact. Room was like a studio over looking the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Decent hotel. Wifi available all over--not necessarily in all the rooms. Pool and restaurant are great. Rooms are clean; some ants from outside, but not much of a worry. Overall, I was pleased with the price of $50-70. Could not ask for more without paying a lot more money. I was offered a bottle of wine to do this survey, but I stand by my rating.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

In the rooms are cards where the staff try to bribe the guest to sput a good comment on tripadvisor!! You get a bottle of wine when you do so! So dont believe the people who have send good reviews, there is a good chance that they are laying to get a cheap bottle of wine.
The hotel is very old and urgently needs an update. The pool is dirty. The pics you see are very old i think. I was glad i could leave and will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelcal, Director of Sales at Hotel California, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear de_jokke1980.

Thank you for your review of your stay.
We are sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay as everything seems to have gone wrong.
We are surprised to hear this as we never got any feedback from you while you visited us and we invited all guest to write a review, good or bad as will help us to improve our services.
Feel free to stop by and have your free cheap bottle of wine as mentioned on your review.
Alonso Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Upon check-in, smoothies! Yes!!! the kids loved it. Everyone! was extremely helpful from checking in,planning activites, and helping me with the kids. The room was neat and clean and spacious for all of us( two kids,hubby, and me). The view! that's what a view is suppose to be. Looking out into paradise. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful every morning and lunch/dinner was served fresh and promptly and was not outrageously priced like meals usually are in hotels . Perfect place to stay. Loved it cant wait to head back to the beach. The GM was especially gracious and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The staff at this hotel were incredibly friendly and helpful. They recommended great tours for us and always went out of their way to assist us. They even remembered our names :) Our room had a balcony overlooking a beautiful view of the ocean. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and made to order eggs. The air conditioner worked great and the room had a TV and alarm clock (a rare thing we found out in costa rica). We took the bus to the National Park it we felt very safe. I would recommend going to the beach in the National Park- its so beautiful! We drank the water and did not get sick. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Let's start with the view... no, the VIEW! It is beyond adequate description. The hotel itself is quaint, very Costa Rican and yet it has touches of what we are used to in the US. We stayed 5 nights, the room was always clean and the people were very helpful. The free Tican breakfast was a treat every morning. The little 10-minute walk to the the main road was sometimes hard but good for us; we'd do it again although people with limited mobility will need to rely on taxis to get them up the hill to the lower level. Our only complaint is they had towel problems everyday after the first 2 days. There were 3 in our room but we only got 2 towels and the pool towels were non existent most of the time.. during Green Season--strange. They need to get some more towels and repair or replace the existing frayed ones. We were told the washing machines were behind and after 2 days of that excuse, they didn't make any excuses any more; they just told us there weren't any available. Ask the Italian chef or Jessie, the waitress for anything special and they fulfill it pronto. The 3 furry residents: Thor, Jota and Sushi are delights; never bothersome but each has their own personality and are entertaining. We met the owner who is a jewel of a lady; so kind, so interesting to chat with as well. Keep it up Hotel California staff!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level level with a view; they will know exactly what you mean. Plan to use steps bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelcal, Director of Sales at Hotel California, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear friends,

We are so happy that your trip went so well and that you were able to stay at Hotel California.
Thank you very much for the feedback regarding the towels. We tracked down the problem which was interdepartmental communications. There are plenty of towels and we think it is resolved for good, and the feedback was a great help!

We love our pets Thor-Rebeca-Sushi-Jota. Come back again! Many thanks for the terrific review.

Alonso Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#26 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#34 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#29 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.