We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pools, but the jacuzzis were broken.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mimos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mimos to your Saves list
Hotel Mimos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road via Manuel Antonio | Quepos,Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice pools, but the jacuzzis were broken.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Excellent rooms, great pool area and restaurant to lazy about. Squirrel monkeys parading by on the power cables/trees on the street one morning was fun.

Bus stop close by for going to the beach or into Quepos.

One of few bad things was neither of the two jacuzzis was working when we were there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    57
    20
    13
    10
See reviews for
30
86
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Today's Priceline listing had it at $65 for april 10-14. That's a fair price for this property.
Nice grounds. Big rooms. 2 pools. Eatery on the premises. About halfway from Quepos to the beach on the main drag. But, therein lies a little problem. Whereas the rooms are situated back off the road enuf so you avoid the major problem of most of the properties on this 5 mile trek--road noise: busses, MOTORCYCLES, delivery trucks--from dawn to bed time-- it also presents another: Unless you have a car, you are going to be bussing it or cabbing it constantly to the beach or Quepos. That gets to be a pain.
So if you are not going to have a car and the beach is your thing, get something in Manuel Antonio proper--about 3 miles down. If you don't care and if you can get in at the above price, good deal. PS: The bus does stop just outside the entrance, and cabs are easily obtained.

Room Tip: The nicest one they have that is furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We found the Hotel Mimos to be a very good value. The rooms were quite generous in size. The room we were in did have a light smell of dampness. The gardens around the two pools had a wonderful tropical feel. The restaurant that is on the premises was called Burù. Food there was adequate. The staff of the hotel and the restaurant were very accommodating. Everyone spoke English well enough to be understood. We were only planning on staying one night but ended up staying two.

Room Tip: We requested a room that was away from the pool area so that it would be quieter. I think all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The value on this hotel is unbelievable! Our room was gigantic, there are 2 pools, and they include a full breakfast (aka omelets, tipico, etc) not just a small continental spread. The owner and his wife were very friendly and personable and made our stay comfortable. The only downside is the location.The hotel is located on the road between Manuel Antonio and Quepos, which is quite dangerous for walking. So while it isn't far from either destination, it limits the options for dining and nightlife in the evening hours. There is a bus that is quite cheap but it doesn't run 24 hours a day. The hotel itself, however, was very nice and a great deal!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were quite happy to find ourselves at Hotel Mimos. The grounds are lovely and our room was spacious, bright and clean. It is located between Quepos and the national park and it is an easy bus ride to either with the bus stop located right outside the hotel. In spite of being out of town there are plenty of bars and restaurants located nearby.

The staff at Mimos are awesome, particularly the bar staff who hosted a great happy hour and really knew how to make good cocktails. The hotel also had no problem keeping our bags for several hours after we checked out with no issue. We came back, enjoyed the pool and happy hour before we picked them up and went on our way. We thought this place was even better than the pictures made it out to be with its lovely pools and beautiful landscaping. Best of all, the price is completely reasonable. I would absolutely recommend this place.

As a brief side note - take note of cab numbers if you choose to take one and avoid cab #732. He picked us up at the hotel and then proceeded to drive us around town, including some pretty shady areas and drastically overcharge after the agreed price. The guy was creepy - avoid him.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great rooms, with superb view. Excellent the service, as well. Overall, you feel to stay among friends, and not in a hotel. Notably, the rooms are in several small buildings over the hill and around the two swimming pools. The bus to the beaches is just around the corner.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for five nights and, like anywhere, there were pros and cons.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff. You couldn't have asked for more friendly and helpful people. The lady on reception was hugely welcoming as were the staff in the pool-side bar.

The food was also superb. And, to make things even better, the hotel owner included breakfast free of charge. Furthermore, there was a number of different types of breakfast to choose from including a typical Costa Rican breakfast.

My only criticism was that my room, although quite big, was a tad dingy in that there was no natural light.

Some people may also find the hotel's location quite difficult. It's on the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio and, those used to pavements, will have to get used to J-walking and to buses and other vehicles flying past in close proximity.

Overall, this is a very good hotel and represents excellent value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mimos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mimos

Address: Main Road via Manuel Antonio | Quepos,Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mimos 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you great value in a tropical setting and a family friendly environment, tastefully furnished accommodations and good food in the Buru Bar & Grill Restaurant. Conveniently located between the National Park Manuel Antonio and town, Quepos. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms fromStandard Deluxe, Junior suite and Family Suites, Apartments, Master and Honeymoon Suites elegantly arranged in our three story building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mimos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimos Hotel
Hotel Mimos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mimos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.