We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mimos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mimos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mimos to your Saves list
Hotel Mimos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road via Manuel Antonio | Quepos,Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Havre, Montana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Mimos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We found the Hotel Mimos to be a very good value. The rooms were quite generous in size. The room we were in did have a light smell of dampness. The gardens around the two pools had a wonderful tropical feel. The restaurant that is on the premises was called Burù. Food there was adequate. The staff of the hotel and the restaurant were very accommodating. Everyone spoke English well enough to be understood. We were only planning on staying one night but ended up staying two.

Room Tip: We requested a room that was away from the pool area so that it would be quieter. I think all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    55
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
30
78
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The value on this hotel is unbelievable! Our room was gigantic, there are 2 pools, and they include a full breakfast (aka omelets, tipico, etc) not just a small continental spread. The owner and his wife were very friendly and personable and made our stay comfortable. The only downside is the location.The hotel is located on the road between Manuel Antonio and Quepos, which is quite dangerous for walking. So while it isn't far from either destination, it limits the options for dining and nightlife in the evening hours. There is a bus that is quite cheap but it doesn't run 24 hours a day. The hotel itself, however, was very nice and a great deal!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were quite happy to find ourselves at Hotel Mimos. The grounds are lovely and our room was spacious, bright and clean. It is located between Quepos and the national park and it is an easy bus ride to either with the bus stop located right outside the hotel. In spite of being out of town there are plenty of bars and restaurants located nearby.

The staff at Mimos are awesome, particularly the bar staff who hosted a great happy hour and really knew how to make good cocktails. The hotel also had no problem keeping our bags for several hours after we checked out with no issue. We came back, enjoyed the pool and happy hour before we picked them up and went on our way. We thought this place was even better than the pictures made it out to be with its lovely pools and beautiful landscaping. Best of all, the price is completely reasonable. I would absolutely recommend this place.

As a brief side note - take note of cab numbers if you choose to take one and avoid cab #732. He picked us up at the hotel and then proceeded to drive us around town, including some pretty shady areas and drastically overcharge after the agreed price. The guy was creepy - avoid him.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great rooms, with superb view. Excellent the service, as well. Overall, you feel to stay among friends, and not in a hotel. Notably, the rooms are in several small buildings over the hill and around the two swimming pools. The bus to the beaches is just around the corner.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for five nights and, like anywhere, there were pros and cons.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff. You couldn't have asked for more friendly and helpful people. The lady on reception was hugely welcoming as were the staff in the pool-side bar.

The food was also superb. And, to make things even better, the hotel owner included breakfast free of charge. Furthermore, there was a number of different types of breakfast to choose from including a typical Costa Rican breakfast.

My only criticism was that my room, although quite big, was a tad dingy in that there was no natural light.

Some people may also find the hotel's location quite difficult. It's on the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio and, those used to pavements, will have to get used to J-walking and to buses and other vehicles flying past in close proximity.

Overall, this is a very good hotel and represents excellent value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is located in the right place and the right distance from the Park but we have some issues with the room. Since we had people in the room above, for some reason their footsteps always made a lot of noise and we had issues trying to sleep at night. Maybe the ceiling is not sound proof... And the toilet flush from another room caused our toilet to make noise and move in and out the water... It seemed like we had flush ours... And it wets the seat. The good thing is that the water was clean, we stayed at room 11. We recommend to stay in an upper room, maybe the issues are related to the room location

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

After all the overpriced places in Costa Rica we were so happy to find this spot. The hotel actually looks like the photos shown and the free breakfast is large and tasty. The couple that own the restaurant are SUPER helpful...their male employee did not give very good service, but we would definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mimos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mimos

Address: Main Road via Manuel Antonio | Quepos,Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mimos 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you great value in a tropical setting and a family friendly environment, tastefully furnished accommodations and good food in the Buru Bar & Grill Restaurant. Conveniently located between the National Park Manuel Antonio and town, Quepos. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms fromStandard Deluxe, Junior suite and Family Suites, Apartments, Master and Honeymoon Suites elegantly arranged in our three story building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mimos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimos Hotel
Hotel Mimos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mimos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.