We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mimos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mimos to your Saves list
Hotel Mimos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road via Manuel Antonio | Quepos,Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I booked a group to stay at Hotel Mimos. They were very satisfied with the quality of the rooms. For the price, it was incredible. As a guide, the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. They were able to accomodate the group, get their laundry done and went above and beyond what one might expect from a hotel staff. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
30
79
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed here during low season and found this place very charming and romantic! we had a reservation for a standard room (which were recently renovated and pretty nice, too), but when i asked for a room less close to the street, they took us to the upper building to a beautiful suite!(huge bathroom with hot tub and shower, big balkony with a great view and some monkeys climbing around in forn of the windows) and since in november there aren't many tourists in costa rica, we got the suite for the same price!
the ambience of the entire place is really nice, they use lots of wood and stones. they have 2 pools and 2 whirlpools and a really good italian restaurant as well. the bus stop is right in front so its easy to get to the national park.

Room Tip: choose a room in the upper building, don't be afraid to ask for discounts during low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We found Hotel Mimos because of Trip Advisor. We were using the app from our iPhones and found this place before departing from our hotel in Jaco.

We didn't make any reservations ahead of time and were lucky enough to be able to book a room on the spot.

The first room (cheaper room) they showed us nearest the road wasn't so nice. We asked for the next room pricing up and they hooked us up with one of the rooms up near the pool.

The room was nicer, but it had a faint funny smell the whole time we were there. It may have been the smell of bug spray.

The bed was nice and the sheets reminded me of the sheets you have at home. It's not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at Mimos Hotel twice in the last six weeks and had an excellent experience both times.

This hotel is a great budget option is a pricey tourist area, especially if you have your own car and can make the 4-5minute drive to the beach and nearby restaurants without the need of a taxi.

During each of our stays we were greeted in a friendly manner upon arrival and were very pleased with cleanliness and quality of the hotel, especially the two large pools on the property.

On our first stay, my girlfriend and I stayed in a very large Jr. Suite. The bedroom featured a large bed, lots of space and even a comfortable futon which could be converted into another bed if needed. Attached to the large bedroom was a closed balcony with sliding
windows, fridge, microwave and dining area.

We recently returned with a friend and shared a 2-bedroom suite. As with our previous stay we had a very clean and tidy room. The large bedroom featured a double bed and single, while the second bedroom had two single beds. Each room had a tv and there was a shared bathroom, large deck overlooking the entire Mimos property which was very nice.

During our first stay we had really good breakfasts in the poolside restaurant and my girlfriend enjoyed what she calls the best Strawberry Daiquiri’s she’s had in Costa Rica. The quality of food and service in the hotel restaurant was great and an important factor in our recent return.

So, upon arriving for our second weekend at Mimos we were disappointed to learn that the
restaurant had just closed and was undergoing a management change. The hotel and restaurant are run as separate businesses so hopefully the new management can reopen soon and with the same level of quality as previously.

While the poolside bar was missed during our second stay we were still happy to be at Mimos and enjoy the clean rooms and two great pools the property has to offer. Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Well I guess we started off on the wrong foot! We prepaid our entire trip through Anywhere Costa Rica and as soon as we checked in Rebecca asked for a credit card. I told her that I didn't have a credit card and she said that she had to check to see if I can stay without one. Luckily my husband packed our American Express card! Mimos is a bit far from the beach but we used public transportation which was only 50 cents per person. The pools at Mimos were great and so was the restaurant. Breakfast is not included. The night prior to our departure my husband went to the office to ask Rebecca what time the office opened in the morning and she said 6:30am! The morning of our departure my husband discovered that his swimming trunks were stolen! He left them outside the room. Our transportation was going to pick us up at 7:30am but arrived 10 minutes early and to our surprise the office was CLOSED! I started to panic because there was no drop off box to leave the keys and my husband had checked out a swimming towel!!! There's a $20 fee if you don't return the towel or if it's damaged! My husband went looking for someone and luckily found Sheila who is in housekeeping and she promised she would return the towel and keys! Overall our experience was average! Our room was nice, pools were very clean and it's close to the bus stop!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I went back to Mimo's hotel and I couldn't belive how much remodeling they have done to Hotel specialy the rooms even new flat screens and still the best deal in Manuel Antonio I doubt you'll find something better in three Star Hotel. Simple amazing. really!

Room Tip: Rooms are cooler on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is a really nice small and low price hotel. It is located a little bit far from the park, so if you are going on yur own car it can be kind of uncomfortable to move/.


There is 1 think I can complain about: The pillows. there were 2 well-sides pillow, but they were in a really dirty cover it was disgusting. An additional pair of clean pillows were available, but, they were a little bit too small.

Room Tip: The 21 is located just infront of the jacuzzi, it is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mimos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mimos

Address: Main Road via Manuel Antonio | Quepos,Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mimos 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you great value in a tropical setting and a family friendly environment, tastefully furnished accommodations and good food in the Buru Bar & Grill Restaurant. Conveniently located between the National Park Manuel Antonio and town, Quepos. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms fromStandard Deluxe, Junior suite and Family Suites, Apartments, Master and Honeymoon Suites elegantly arranged in our three story building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mimos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimos Hotel
Hotel Mimos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mimos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.