We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colina

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Colina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Colina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed three nights here and had a really nice time. The staff were really nice, the food was decent, the drinks were good, and the views were great! If you don't have a your own car it will be a bit tricky to get to the town or the beach - we had a rental though so it was not an issue. The swim up bar is small but fun. If you can, get room 11.

As other reviewers have noted, it could use some updating but, for the price and level of customer service, we were very happy with our stay and may well return.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    48
    35
    18
    21
See reviews for
16
82
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This review really should be a 2.5 rating but I'm in a good mood today since I just got back from vacation. We really wanted to like this hotel since we were excited to be in beautiful Manuel Antonio but for $110 on an ocean view room, this hotel just didnt seem to be worth the price. The rooms were very outdated, beds and pillows were uncomfortable, our AC was leaking water in our room, and there was no refrigerator which is a real bummer when you want to keep a cold beverage for how hot it gets. We had room number 8 which was more of a patio rather than a balcony with a bush in front of our view but it was the only room they had left for ocean views at the time. We loved the pool, breakfast, and they have a happy hour everyday from 4-6 with good prices on drinks but other than that the staff was not friendly at all and everything was very over priced for what it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We did not like our 3 nights there:
Room (number 4) terribly small, smelly and loud. The only good thing was the airco. The smell coming of the toilet was horrible.
The room wasn't very clean and bathroom extremely small and ugly. We ask to change room, but no chance.
Renovation is needed, water was coming of the shower and flooding the bathroom.
The pool is the only good thing.
Breakfast is tasty, freshly cooked, but only 3 pieces of fruit on the plate. (in costa rica fruit isn't very expensive...). Only coffee to drink, if you want some juice you need to pay 500 colones for a glass!
3 usd a day for the safe.
Location is good, but you need a car to go down to the beach.
Either we have been really lucky we other places during our vacation, or the hotel had a bad week. Anyway for us this was by far the worst hotel in our vacation. And it was definitely not the cheapest.
I would not come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel is perched on several levels with some rooms overlooking the ocean. The rooms are big and well furnished with a balcony, airconditioning, wifi and tv. Parking and very inexpensivevlaundry service are available as well. Not for the faint of heart though since there are alot of steps getting up and down. There is a small but deep two tiered pool with a bar and patio restaurant. It is very quiet but great to relax after a hot day touring around. The beach is accessible by a nearby path, car, taxi or local bus (about 50 cents). Unfortunatley walking is not recommended as there is no sidewalk and the road is narrow and windy. Staff helped arrange tours and were very helpful. most everyone speaks English. We found the hotel very pleasant and would recommend.

Room Tip: number 11 is worth the 75 step walk up with a wrap around balcony over looking the Pacific- gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is in the right location with great views. The food is good. The breakfast is included and there was a good choice. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very good, we'd recommend the tuna. However, there was no atmosphere or other guests in the restaurant and bar. The staff were fine, but lacked warmth and were fairly robotic.
We had originally booked a jungle room, but upon looking at the tiny, dark damp room close to the relatively busy road, we immediately decided to upgrade. The ocean view room that we ended up in had a lovely view and it was spacious. However, it wasn't very clean, had dated decor and it was seriously in need of a coat of paint, as well as new bed linen and towels. The bathroom was grubby with a chipped, wobbly sink. The air conditioning unit from next door, was directly outside our bedroom window and it was very loud at night even with the window closed.
The whole hotel needs to be better maintained and cleaned. It doesn't feel very loved. The staff go through the motions, but certainly don't create a hospitable atmosphere. For $110 a night for the ocean view room we expected more.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here due to a lack of available options anywhere else choose and ocean view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at La Colina. Having booked online, we only had a vague idea of what to expect. We spent our first night in a jungle view room which was quite cosy and contained basic amenities. The room was located underneath the Pescador suite and as the suite was occupied at the time, there was considerable noise throughout the night. We asked to be transferred to a different jungle room and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an ocean view room. The ocean room was spacious and overlooked the Pacific. Free breakfast each morning was excellent. Restaurant facilities were good. Hotel grounds were well-maintained. Staff was extremely helpful and offered advice on where to eat and what activities to do in the area. FYI: no elevator so be prepared to carry bags up stairs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really loved our 3 days at La Colina. The hotel is owned and operated by Mike and Natasha who really took care of the details for us. Mike is a chef and when we asked him to take care of us with some local cuisine, he went off-menu and grilled us marlin, shrimp and chicken for the kids. He made us a killer blue-fin tartar/cervice/nacho dish. All the food was great. When we need to know where to go and what to do in Manual Antonio, he steered us in the right direction and helped us avoid some of the notorious street scams. I went with kids (13, 6, 4) and my wife. We will surely check in to La Colina again.

Room Tip: Sunset suites have ocean and (duh) sunset views. One suite has a kitchen and can fit a family of 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colina

Address: Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Colina is perched on a hill overlooking Manuel Antonio Bay (The Pacific Ocean) and nestled in the rain forest, home to many tropical animals. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and iguanas are commonly seen on the property. You can lounge near the pool or watch the sunset from the NEW SteakHouse restaurant while having a cool tropical cocktail on the bar.The hotel is centrally located in Manuel Antonio, just off the main road, a five minutes drive to some of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica and the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park. Many shops and restaurants are nearby.Taxi service and public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel. All rooms have full size beds, A/C, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water,in- room safe, and high speed WiFi & Wonderfull Breakfast a la carte Included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Tingo, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colina Hotel
Hotel La Colina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Colina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.