We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hillside haven on the Pacific” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Colina to your Saves list
Hotel La Colina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off in any room rate
Montreal
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“hillside haven on the Pacific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel is perched on several levels with some rooms overlooking the ocean. The rooms are big and well furnished with a balcony, airconditioning, wifi and tv. Parking and very inexpensivevlaundry service are available as well. Not for the faint of heart though since there are alot of steps getting up and down. There is a small but deep two tiered pool with a bar and patio restaurant. It is very quiet but great to relax after a hot day touring around. The beach is accessible by a nearby path, car, taxi or local bus (about 50 cents). Unfortunatley walking is not recommended as there is no sidewalk and the road is narrow and windy. Staff helped arrange tours and were very helpful. most everyone speaks English. We found the hotel very pleasant and would recommend.

Room Tip: number 11 is worth the 75 step walk up with a wrap around balcony over looking the Pacific- gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    35
    18
    21
See reviews for
16
83
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is in the right location with great views. The food is good. The breakfast is included and there was a good choice. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very good, we'd recommend the tuna. However, there was no atmosphere or other guests in the restaurant and bar. The staff were fine, but lacked warmth and were fairly robotic.
We had originally booked a jungle room, but upon looking at the tiny, dark damp room close to the relatively busy road, we immediately decided to upgrade. The ocean view room that we ended up in had a lovely view and it was spacious. However, it wasn't very clean, had dated decor and it was seriously in need of a coat of paint, as well as new bed linen and towels. The bathroom was grubby with a chipped, wobbly sink. The air conditioning unit from next door, was directly outside our bedroom window and it was very loud at night even with the window closed.
The whole hotel needs to be better maintained and cleaned. It doesn't feel very loved. The staff go through the motions, but certainly don't create a hospitable atmosphere. For $110 a night for the ocean view room we expected more.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here due to a lack of available options anywhere else choose and ocean view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at La Colina. Having booked online, we only had a vague idea of what to expect. We spent our first night in a jungle view room which was quite cosy and contained basic amenities. The room was located underneath the Pescador suite and as the suite was occupied at the time, there was considerable noise throughout the night. We asked to be transferred to a different jungle room and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an ocean view room. The ocean room was spacious and overlooked the Pacific. Free breakfast each morning was excellent. Restaurant facilities were good. Hotel grounds were well-maintained. Staff was extremely helpful and offered advice on where to eat and what activities to do in the area. FYI: no elevator so be prepared to carry bags up stairs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really loved our 3 days at La Colina. The hotel is owned and operated by Mike and Natasha who really took care of the details for us. Mike is a chef and when we asked him to take care of us with some local cuisine, he went off-menu and grilled us marlin, shrimp and chicken for the kids. He made us a killer blue-fin tartar/cervice/nacho dish. All the food was great. When we need to know where to go and what to do in Manual Antonio, he steered us in the right direction and helped us avoid some of the notorious street scams. I went with kids (13, 6, 4) and my wife. We will surely check in to La Colina again.

Room Tip: Sunset suites have ocean and (duh) sunset views. One suite has a kitchen and can fit a family of 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were in Manuel Antonio for only 2 nights, but this place was exactly what we needed. We stayed in a Jungle Room for $70 a night+tax, which was the best deal I could find at a decent hotel in the area. To sum it up:

-You need to take a taxi to get down to the beach and park, but it costs $6-8, so no biggie. Way better than staying in Quepos.
-The room was fairly small and could use some updating, but for $70 a night, we weren't expecting the lap of luxury. Definitely a big step up from hostels. The room had a very small bathroom, air conditioning, a tiny tv we didn't use, and that's about it. If you want to spend most of your time on the beach/in the park/doing activities, its all you need.
-We found the service to be pretty great. They called taxis for us numerous times and the arrived ASAP, they setup our ziplining tour quickly, and had good advice for a restaurant. The only, minor complaint would be that they didn't know bus times to get back to San Jose.
-Breakfast was pretty solid for 2 people at $70 a night. Fruit, eggs, rice, toast, coffee, and juice with a pretty nice view.
-Had a small pool with a bar that would be good during the day, but was chilly when we tried it at night.

Overall, I was more than happy with our stay here and would gladly stay again. As long as you aren't expecting more than what you're paying for, you'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: We had Room #1 of the Jungle Rooms, which was nice because it had a lot of privacy being at the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I would not recommend this place to stay. It is not very clean, bed/pillows/mattress are very uncomfortable and breakfast is average. While it is fine for a quick overnight stay, if I could do it all over again, I would pay the extra money to stay at a better place given that our stay was for an extended time. The place is not very cheap at $110 a night for the ocean view room (not much of an ocean view, however, great sunlight during the day). The rooms are in need of an upgrade. The staff are not that helpful either. Overall, I did not enjoy my experience here and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hotel La Colina was the perfect place for me to stay for the one night I was in the area. It isn't a resort and doesn't pretend to be but it is clean, has a lot of ambiance, a friendly staff, and serves a great breakfast. I loved it and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

I stayed in a "Jungle Room" which didn't have an ocean view but was able to walk up on the balcony and enjoy the sunset with some other wonderful guests. We all ended up having drinks and dinner together at the hotel restaurant and bar. Although the breakfast there was great, I wasn't impressed with the dinner items we had. But it was a great place to socialize with each since we were about the only people there.

It is a bit of a walk/workout from the hotel into the beach and commercial area but I walked there and back with no problem and enjoyed getting to see the area close up. If you don't want to "hike" it, there is a bus-stop nearby. On the flip side, because it is outside of the main drag, it is more quiet and private.

If you are the kind of traveller who wants at least the minimal comforts of home while still feeling you are experiencing the local lifestyle, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: I knew I wouldn't be in the room during the daylight hours to enjoy the ocean view so didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colina

Address: Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Colina is perched on a hill overlooking Manuel Antonio Bay (The Pacific Ocean) and nestled in the rain forest, home to many tropical animals. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and iguanas are commonly seen on the property. You can lounge near the pool or watch the sunset from the NEW SteakHouse restaurant while having a cool tropical cocktail on the bar.The hotel is centrally located in Manuel Antonio, just off the main road, a five minutes drive to some of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica and the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park. Many shops and restaurants are nearby.Taxi service and public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel. All rooms have full size beds, A/C, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water,in- room safe, and high speed WiFi & Wonderfull Breakfast a la carte Included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colina Hotel
Hotel La Colina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Colina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.