We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hillside haven on the Pacific” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Colina to your Saves list
Hotel La Colina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“hillside haven on the Pacific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel is perched on several levels with some rooms overlooking the ocean. The rooms are big and well furnished with a balcony, airconditioning, wifi and tv. Parking and very inexpensivevlaundry service are available as well. Not for the faint of heart though since there are alot of steps getting up and down. There is a small but deep two tiered pool with a bar and patio restaurant. It is very quiet but great to relax after a hot day touring around. The beach is accessible by a nearby path, car, taxi or local bus (about 50 cents). Unfortunatley walking is not recommended as there is no sidewalk and the road is narrow and windy. Staff helped arrange tours and were very helpful. most everyone speaks English. We found the hotel very pleasant and would recommend.

Room Tip: number 11 is worth the 75 step walk up with a wrap around balcony over looking the Pacific- gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MajaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is in the right location with great views. The food is good. The breakfast is included and there was a good choice. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very good, we'd recommend the tuna. However, there was no atmosphere or other guests in the restaurant and bar. The staff were fine, but lacked warmth and were fairly robotic.
We had originally booked a jungle room, but upon looking at the tiny, dark damp room close to the relatively busy road, we immediately decided to upgrade. The ocean view room that we ended up in had a lovely view and it was spacious. However, it wasn't very clean, had dated decor and it was seriously in need of a coat of paint, as well as new bed linen and towels. The bathroom was grubby with a chipped, wobbly sink. The air conditioning unit from next door, was directly outside our bedroom window and it was very loud at night even with the window closed.
The whole hotel needs to be better maintained and cleaned. It doesn't feel very loved. The staff go through the motions, but certainly don't create a hospitable atmosphere. For $110 a night for the ocean view room we expected more.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here due to a lack of available options anywhere else choose and ocean view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at La Colina. Having booked online, we only had a vague idea of what to expect. We spent our first night in a jungle view room which was quite cosy and contained basic amenities. The room was located underneath the Pescador suite and as the suite was occupied at the time, there was considerable noise throughout the night. We asked to be transferred to a different jungle room and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an ocean view room. The ocean room was spacious and overlooked the Pacific. Free breakfast each morning was excellent. Restaurant facilities were good. Hotel grounds were well-maintained. Staff was extremely helpful and offered advice on where to eat and what activities to do in the area. FYI: no elevator so be prepared to carry bags up stairs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We really loved our 3 days at La Colina. The hotel is owned and operated by Mike and Natasha who really took care of the details for us. Mike is a chef and when we asked him to take care of us with some local cuisine, he went off-menu and grilled us marlin, shrimp and chicken for the kids. He made us a killer blue-fin tartar/cervice/nacho dish. All the food was great. When we need to know where to go and what to do in Manual Antonio, he steered us in the right direction and helped us avoid some of the notorious street scams. I went with kids (13, 6, 4) and my wife. We will surely check in to La Colina again.

Room Tip: Sunset suites have ocean and (duh) sunset views. One suite has a kitchen and can fit a family of 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stroyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were in Manuel Antonio for only 2 nights, but this place was exactly what we needed. We stayed in a Jungle Room for $70 a night+tax, which was the best deal I could find at a decent hotel in the area. To sum it up:

-You need to take a taxi to get down to the beach and park, but it costs $6-8, so no biggie. Way better than staying in Quepos.
-The room was fairly small and could use some updating, but for $70 a night, we weren't expecting the lap of luxury. Definitely a big step up from hostels. The room had a very small bathroom, air conditioning, a tiny tv we didn't use, and that's about it. If you want to spend most of your time on the beach/in the park/doing activities, its all you need.
-We found the service to be pretty great. They called taxis for us numerous times and the arrived ASAP, they setup our ziplining tour quickly, and had good advice for a restaurant. The only, minor complaint would be that they didn't know bus times to get back to San Jose.
-Breakfast was pretty solid for 2 people at $70 a night. Fruit, eggs, rice, toast, coffee, and juice with a pretty nice view.
-Had a small pool with a bar that would be good during the day, but was chilly when we tried it at night.

Overall, I was more than happy with our stay here and would gladly stay again. As long as you aren't expecting more than what you're paying for, you'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: We had Room #1 of the Jungle Rooms, which was nice because it had a lot of privacy being at the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfree23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I would not recommend this place to stay. It is not very clean, bed/pillows/mattress are very uncomfortable and breakfast is average. While it is fine for a quick overnight stay, if I could do it all over again, I would pay the extra money to stay at a better place given that our stay was for an extended time. The place is not very cheap at $110 a night for the ocean view room (not much of an ocean view, however, great sunlight during the day). The rooms are in need of an upgrade. The staff are not that helpful either. Overall, I did not enjoy my experience here and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6666s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hotel La Colina was the perfect place for me to stay for the one night I was in the area. It isn't a resort and doesn't pretend to be but it is clean, has a lot of ambiance, a friendly staff, and serves a great breakfast. I loved it and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

I stayed in a "Jungle Room" which didn't have an ocean view but was able to walk up on the balcony and enjoy the sunset with some other wonderful guests. We all ended up having drinks and dinner together at the hotel restaurant and bar. Although the breakfast there was great, I wasn't impressed with the dinner items we had. But it was a great place to socialize with each since we were about the only people there.

It is a bit of a walk/workout from the hotel into the beach and commercial area but I walked there and back with no problem and enjoyed getting to see the area close up. If you don't want to "hike" it, there is a bus-stop nearby. On the flip side, because it is outside of the main drag, it is more quiet and private.

If you are the kind of traveller who wants at least the minimal comforts of home while still feeling you are experiencing the local lifestyle, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: I knew I wouldn't be in the room during the daylight hours to enjoy the ocean view so didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PluffMudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#28 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#27 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#39 of 50 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colina

Address: Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Colina is perched on a hill overlooking Manuel Antonio Bay (The Pacific Ocean) and nestled in the rain forest, home to many tropical animals. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and iguanas are commonly seen on the property. You can lounge near the pool or watch the sunset from the NEW SteakHouse restaurant while having a cool tropical cocktail on the bar.The hotel is centrally located in Manuel Antonio, just off the main road, a five minutes drive to some of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica and the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park. Many shops and restaurants are nearby.Taxi service and public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel. All rooms have full size beds, A/C, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water,in- room safe, and high speed WiFi & Wonderfull Breakfast a la carte Included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colina Hotel
Hotel La Colina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing