We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Colina to your Saves list
Hotel La Colina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place is amazing! I have stayed here twice now, and i will keep going back. I usually go in the slow season (September) without a reservation and walk right in to the front desk and they have availability. The rooms are quite spacious for four people. Completely fill like you are in a private tropical oasis. Toucans flying overhead, large iguanas on the terraces, and the occasional squirrel monkey visit. The food is great. Mike makes so many great dishes. The drinks are reasonably priced. The breakfast is perfect. They have a hotel cat Stevie and the dog Tito that will welcome your affection on your arrival. Pool is amazing. Forget the comfort of name brands, this is the place to go. Also a quick walk (30 minutes) to Manuel Antonio National Park, or drive down the hill and you'll be there in no time. Pay for the parking!!!! 3000 Costa Rican Colones ($6.00 USD)

I miss this place already!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View Room. This place is not on the Ocean but along the hillside. Feels like the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    35
    18
    21
See reviews for
16
83
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I believe that these hotel reviews are greatly dependent on the current state of mind of the writer. I guess I must have been in an excellent state of mind because I loved my 3 day experience at La Colina. Ocean view room and balcony were great, sunsets and early mornings grand, ac worked fine for sleeping, breakfast was simple but good, hosts and staff friendly and accomodating, long hike up many stairs was good exercise, pool was cool and inviting. Not a 5 star hotel, don't expect those kind of amenities, and your stay should be fine.

Room Tip: Ocean view seemed to please fellow guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotel, bed and breakfast and hostels but Hotel LaColina offerred so much more than a bed. The staff was exceptionally nice provided the upmost hospitality. We felt like we were staying with family. Everyone was eager to accomadate us and ensure a most pleasent experience. The restaurant and bar was our favorite, we were happy to stay in rather than go out. Thank you La Colina I will be back and recommend you highly!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed 3 days at La Colina last week and had a great time. The owner, Mike, was super friendly and helpful and we had some good times at the bar in the evenings. The pool is also connected to the bar and the entire outside area is great.

One of the rooms we booked was the Tree House - a bigger twin room up high, which had its own balcony outside, great for chilling with friends. There are also more expensive apartments available with ocean views.

The beds were nothing special but that didn't stop us getting a good night's sleep in this idyllic surrounding, up the hills and hidden in the trees. I would definitely recommend it and stay here again! Gay friendly too.

Room Tip: Try the Tree House and take advantage of the balcony outside and the cool seclusion up in the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great rooms, beautiful view, quiet and relaxing. We arrived in Manuel Antonio with no plans and were lucky enough to stumble on this hidden jewel. Our only complaint was the mattress was worn...Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I showed up in Manuel Antonio at the last minute without any plans and was able to get a room for a great price during high season. I was really impressed with the quality of the room for the price because Manuel Antonio is so overpriced to begin with. The room was clean, comfortable, not too small, and the bathroom was nice too. Plus the staff was incredibly nice and accommodating.
Cab rides to the beach or Quepos are super cheap from this location. The only downside was that my room was very close to the road and I could hear the traffic in the morning while I was trying to sleep in.

Room Tip: Choose a room farther away from the road if you like to sleep in late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Simple rooms, relaxed vibe. Hotel has a cool layout, with many levels/staircases; feels very three dimensional.

We sat at the pool for a few hours. Mike had some pork ribs smoking on the grill, and he served them up for dinner. So tender and perfect. A great final night in Costa Rica.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colina

Address: Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Colina is perched on a hill overlooking Manuel Antonio Bay (The Pacific Ocean) and nestled in the rain forest, home to many tropical animals. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and iguanas are commonly seen on the property. You can lounge near the pool or watch the sunset from the NEW SteakHouse restaurant while having a cool tropical cocktail on the bar.The hotel is centrally located in Manuel Antonio, just off the main road, a five minutes drive to some of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica and the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park. Many shops and restaurants are nearby.Taxi service and public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel. All rooms have full size beds, A/C, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water,in- room safe, and high speed WiFi & Wonderfull Breakfast a la carte Included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colina Hotel
Hotel La Colina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Colina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.