We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Colina provided the best part of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Colina to your Saves list
Hotel La Colina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Hotel La Colina provided the best part of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotel, bed and breakfast and hostels but Hotel LaColina offerred so much more than a bed. The staff was exceptionally nice provided the upmost hospitality. We felt like we were staying with family. Everyone was eager to accomadate us and ensure a most pleasent experience. The restaurant and bar was our favorite, we were happy to stay in rather than go out. Thank you La Colina I will be back and recommend you highly!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    35
    18
    21
See reviews for
16
83
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed 3 days at La Colina last week and had a great time. The owner, Mike, was super friendly and helpful and we had some good times at the bar in the evenings. The pool is also connected to the bar and the entire outside area is great.

One of the rooms we booked was the Tree House - a bigger twin room up high, which had its own balcony outside, great for chilling with friends. There are also more expensive apartments available with ocean views.

The beds were nothing special but that didn't stop us getting a good night's sleep in this idyllic surrounding, up the hills and hidden in the trees. I would definitely recommend it and stay here again! Gay friendly too.

Room Tip: Try the Tree House and take advantage of the balcony outside and the cool seclusion up in the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great rooms, beautiful view, quiet and relaxing. We arrived in Manuel Antonio with no plans and were lucky enough to stumble on this hidden jewel. Our only complaint was the mattress was worn...Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I showed up in Manuel Antonio at the last minute without any plans and was able to get a room for a great price during high season. I was really impressed with the quality of the room for the price because Manuel Antonio is so overpriced to begin with. The room was clean, comfortable, not too small, and the bathroom was nice too. Plus the staff was incredibly nice and accommodating.
Cab rides to the beach or Quepos are super cheap from this location. The only downside was that my room was very close to the road and I could hear the traffic in the morning while I was trying to sleep in.

Room Tip: Choose a room farther away from the road if you like to sleep in late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Simple rooms, relaxed vibe. Hotel has a cool layout, with many levels/staircases; feels very three dimensional.

We sat at the pool for a few hours. Mike had some pork ribs smoking on the grill, and he served them up for dinner. So tender and perfect. A great final night in Costa Rica.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Manuel Antonio spur of the moment from Grecia area and brought a couple we met at our prior hotel with us. We found an available room at La Colina and jumped at it. We had an ocean view room with two beds that was overpriced to say the least.

The room was not very clean looking and the bathroom boasted a sign about not flushing toilet paper; instead we were to throw it into a trash receptacle in the bathroom. The room was small for four people.
After spending a great day at the beach we went back to the hotel to relax, have a drink, and eat dinner at the agave grill which is the hotels bar/restaurant. I met the owner Mike, a Virginia native, as well as the bartender who is from Toronto. While sitting in the pool we overheard the bartender complaining about some girls who ordered waters instead of drinks with their dinner. "Real big spenders" was his observation.
When the four of us decided to eat we took our seat and ordered our drinks which took around 20 minutes (even though only three other guests were in the lounge area). My frozen margarita was melted by the time he brought it to me. Our dinner took around 1 hour to arrive and our new friends received the wrong food.. They left the wrong portion and said that she would not have to pay for it. It was barely touched. The Ahi tuna was cooked well done which is ridiculous and the rice was a solid mass object that could have been used to divert angry dogs from attacking us. It seems this was the only purpose for the rice as it was inedible. After another 40 minutes of waiting or so the new piece of meat arrived and she no longer wanted to eat. She told the bartender she did not want the food. When we asked for the bill the reply we received was, "Wasn't a free meal enough?". I attempted to talk to the owner about the issue and he was not receptive.
Stay away from this hotel! The staff are not friendly and the $100+ you spend for an ocean view room is not a value whatsoever. As previously stated, "The two biggest jerks in the Happiest place on Earth.

Room Tip: Stay away! Much more reasonable rooms closer to the beach with much nicer staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to stay in Manuel Antonio a few extra days. We walked down the street for a bit and came upon La Colina. Pure serendipity!

This was exactly what we were searching for: a charming place that seemed lively yet calm. We took the ocean view room way on the top (which the owner graciously let us view before we committed to it). This was by far my favorite room of our entire trip. We had a perfect view of the sunset each night, and the room received plenty of natural light with a beautiful yellow/orange color scheme.

The room amenities did have some shortcomings. The bed is just OK and the sliding balcony door didn't seal completely shut, though it locked fine. Also, a rooster lives nearby that likes to start "speaking" early in the morning, so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. However, these are all trivial oversights when factoring in the tranquil ambience and amazing view.

The location was perfect. A short bus ride to the beach and a fairly easy walk to favorite restaurants such as Ronny's or El Arado. The market is just up the hill, right by the bus stop.

Breakfast is included in the morning, and there's free wi-fi throughout. The owner's have a couple very cute cats and dogs, so this is a great place for animal lovers.

I would definitely want to stay here again!

Room Tip: Splurge a little more for the ocean view room. Buy some snacks and drinks from the nearby market an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colina

Address: Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Colina is perched on a hill overlooking Manuel Antonio Bay (The Pacific Ocean) and nestled in the rain forest, home to many tropical animals. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and iguanas are commonly seen on the property. You can lounge near the pool or watch the sunset from the NEW SteakHouse restaurant while having a cool tropical cocktail on the bar.The hotel is centrally located in Manuel Antonio, just off the main road, a five minutes drive to some of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica and the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park. Many shops and restaurants are nearby.Taxi service and public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel. All rooms have full size beds, A/C, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water,in- room safe, and high speed WiFi & Wonderfull Breakfast a la carte Included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colina Hotel
Hotel La Colina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Colina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.