We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The two biggest jerks in the Happiest place on Earth!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Colina to your Saves list
Hotel La Colina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The two biggest jerks in the Happiest place on Earth!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Manuel Antonio spur of the moment from Grecia area and brought a couple we met at our prior hotel with us. We found an available room at La Colina and jumped at it. We had an ocean view room with two beds that was overpriced to say the least.

The room was not very clean looking and the bathroom boasted a sign about not flushing toilet paper; instead we were to throw it into a trash receptacle in the bathroom. The room was small for four people.
After spending a great day at the beach we went back to the hotel to relax, have a drink, and eat dinner at the agave grill which is the hotels bar/restaurant. I met the owner Mike, a Virginia native, as well as the bartender who is from Toronto. While sitting in the pool we overheard the bartender complaining about some girls who ordered waters instead of drinks with their dinner. "Real big spenders" was his observation.
When the four of us decided to eat we took our seat and ordered our drinks which took around 20 minutes (even though only three other guests were in the lounge area). My frozen margarita was melted by the time he brought it to me. Our dinner took around 1 hour to arrive and our new friends received the wrong food.. They left the wrong portion and said that she would not have to pay for it. It was barely touched. The Ahi tuna was cooked well done which is ridiculous and the rice was a solid mass object that could have been used to divert angry dogs from attacking us. It seems this was the only purpose for the rice as it was inedible. After another 40 minutes of waiting or so the new piece of meat arrived and she no longer wanted to eat. She told the bartender she did not want the food. When we asked for the bill the reply we received was, "Wasn't a free meal enough?". I attempted to talk to the owner about the issue and he was not receptive.
Stay away from this hotel! The staff are not friendly and the $100+ you spend for an ocean view room is not a value whatsoever. As previously stated, "The two biggest jerks in the Happiest place on Earth.

Room Tip: Stay away! Much more reasonable rooms closer to the beach with much nicer staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    40
    23
    26
See reviews for
18
95
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to stay in Manuel Antonio a few extra days. We walked down the street for a bit and came upon La Colina. Pure serendipity!

This was exactly what we were searching for: a charming place that seemed lively yet calm. We took the ocean view room way on the top (which the owner graciously let us view before we committed to it). This was by far my favorite room of our entire trip. We had a perfect view of the sunset each night, and the room received plenty of natural light with a beautiful yellow/orange color scheme.

The room amenities did have some shortcomings. The bed is just OK and the sliding balcony door didn't seal completely shut, though it locked fine. Also, a rooster lives nearby that likes to start "speaking" early in the morning, so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. However, these are all trivial oversights when factoring in the tranquil ambience and amazing view.

The location was perfect. A short bus ride to the beach and a fairly easy walk to favorite restaurants such as Ronny's or El Arado. The market is just up the hill, right by the bus stop.

Breakfast is included in the morning, and there's free wi-fi throughout. The owner's have a couple very cute cats and dogs, so this is a great place for animal lovers.

I would definitely want to stay here again!

Room Tip: Splurge a little more for the ocean view room. Buy some snacks and drinks from the nearby market an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Yes there are stairs to climb here - get over it and get some exercise, it will be worth it. We were two friends on a one week CR road trip, stayed here three nights in "the Treehouse". Nothing fancy, quiet except for some noise from the nearby road, clean and welcoming and for the cost could not be beat. Breakfast quite nice, spotted some critters in the trees every morning. Ate dinner here twice, fabulous salads, mahi and tuna. Hung out a bit in the evening with a few drinks and got acquainted with some local expats and owners Mike and Natasha and their various mascots - Steve the cat, and pooches Colina and Guido - all charming and friendly. One of the hotel staff helped me glue/put fender back together on rental car after it was dented by a crazy CR driver (and car made it past rental company inspection!).

Would return in a heartbeat, but would probably book an oceanview room for a few $ more.

Room Tip: Treehouse room was OK. Would advise oceanview room if you're not afraid of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Property is quite lovely- it feels like staying in the National park. Some of the rooms are with ocean view. There is a pool, or couple pools, one attached to the bar with seats in it, so one can sit in the water and have a drink.
The owner- Mike is also a chef. The food is incredibly good and the whole atmosphere is very pleasant. People working there are helpful and friendly.
Definitely to recommend to anybody.
Jara P.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent 3 nights in the ocean view room, but would have found different accommodations if we hadn't prepaid. After rereading some of the reviews upon our return, which seemed so great prior to our stay, I think we should have requested a room change. Hardest part of the stay was roosters "cock-a-doodle doing" throughout the night and the bed was kind of a lumpy plywood mattress which made squeaky noises with every move waking up you and your partner all night. Other little things that I've come to expect that were not available included no hairdryer (not even in the front desk), no telephone, no clock, and getting two clean pool towels caused an in-depth staff search in the laundry room even though only 3 of the 12 rooms were filled every night we were there. Finally got 2 bleach-stained towels.

Also was a bit concerned about the sliding glass doors of our ocean view room. They only had the standard lock which was very worn and the lock could have easily been flipped from the outside. Our balcony was accessible from the main stairs so we never felt 100% safe. Also, the deadbolt once you are inside the room is initiated with a key, which seemed like a fire hazard.

Breakfast was fine - place your order from a pre-fixe menu. Onsite restaurant is only open for breakfast - don't expect lunch or dinner. Maybe this is because we were there during rainy season.

Location was ok - anywhere on the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio is easy walking distance to a bus stop or taxi to get you where you want to go. Front desk was helpful with directions or calling a taxi.

This is a computer right next to the reception desk with internet, but the staff was nosy and watching every click.

Overall, it wasn't comfortable, not relaxing, not 100% safe. Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Visited here during the rainy season, but was blessed with great weather the whole time. This hotel is great if you plan on spending much of your trip outside, as there isn't much for indoor entertainment. The rooms are extremely cozy though, very comfortable, and pleasant to live in. The staff is fantastic too, everyone was so helpful in answering questions, going out of their way to accommodate you, and help facilitate/set up activites and tours (rafting, ATV, snorkeling, etc.) Good breakfast included, very cool swim up bar in the pool. Also an amazing view if you get the right room. Great location too, situated right between Quepos and the beach . Will definitely back, and would definitely recommend it to anyone vacationing in the area!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbank, BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

A very reasonable off season rate for a clean and comfortable room that included a full breakfast. They have a pool, bar for guests and restaurant. It was nice and quiet and they gave us the owls nest, the highest part of the property and what a view, but I paid for it with the climb. Almost have to be a mountain goat.

Some off street parking is also available.

Room Tip: Clean and comfy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colina

Address: Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Colina is perched on a hill overlooking Manuel Antonio Bay (The Pacific Ocean) and nestled in the rain forest, home to many tropical animals. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and iguanas are commonly seen on the property. You can lounge near the pool or watch the sunset from the NEW SteakHouse restaurant while having a cool tropical cocktail on the bar.The hotel is centrally located in Manuel Antonio, just off the main road, a five minutes drive to some of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica and the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park. Many shops and restaurants are nearby.Taxi service and public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel. All rooms have full size beds, A/C, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water,in- room safe, and high speed WiFi & Wonderfull Breakfast a la carte Included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colina Hotel
Hotel La Colina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Colina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.