We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas El Parque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas El Parque to your Saves list
Villas El Parque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
South Padre Island, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed in #15 down, which is privately rented by owner. The price was about $120 per night and we were right at the top of the hill before getting to Manuel Antonio Park. from our balcony we had a gorgeous view of the forest leading down to the Pacific Ocean. We were entertained by watching the birds and moneys in the trees with binos from the balcony. The kitchen was meagerly furnished but had a coffee pot and the essentials which was fine for us since we ate simply or out. Sometimes the Electricity would go off for an hour and the water pressure disappeared almost every morning for a short time. But it wasn't much of an inconvenience considering we were far from a city of any size. Location put us in walking distance of several nice restaurants and across the street from a wonderful private nature preserve called Fincas Naturales, associated with Hotel Si Como No and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We checked in with no prior reservations and asked to see the rooms first. There was much fussing over the proper keys -- which comes into plays all too often. Nice location in Manuel Antonio but that is where the good stuff ends for the most part. There are lots of stairs which is an utter pain if you have a fair amount of baggage -- and you are encouraged to leave NOTHING in your car. This would be fine if the room was secure, but really I think we'd be better off with our stuff in the car!

Overall: The place is very dated and needs repairs and sprucing up throughout. Management seems well-intentioned, but utterly clueless and maybe, just maybe, they will read this and give the place the makeover it so badly needs.

Room: Dead bugs, dried centipedes, spider webs, etc. We're not that squeamish, but it just reinforces the whole vibe of neglect. Bedside lamp was broken -- though I fixed it in about 5 minutes. Bathroom is dingy, shower curtain is old and thin. No washcloths.

Security: There is a patio door that locks, but you can easily reach in between the wooden vent slats and unlock it. The lock is useless! Then the bedroom has a different door and lock, even though your bathroom is screened from about 5 feet up to ceiling height to that patio. You can easily get into a room with little noise or hardware.

So they give you a locking closet with yet another key. You are always fumbling for which key opens what...and it feels futile. There is a safe in the closet... with a dead battery. Useless. Equally annoying is that you have to essentially pack and unpack every time you leave. You take all your stuff in and out of the locked closet. (Probably the maid has a key anyway!)

There are oddly placed pieces of furniture in the bedroom that you can't even put your clothes away in because you're told to lock everything up. Just get rid of this bulky furniture and put some hooks on the walls.

Another low point was my friend with a head full of shampoo hollering to me on the patio "what is happening?!" as the water came to a trickle and then a halt. Management told us they knew the water was being worked on (but neglected to tell us!)

We were also saddened to read here on Trip Advosor that there was a jungle trail to the water that we would have LOVED -- but we had no idea! MGMT said nothing. At least tell us the things that are redeeming about your place! They also recc. a restaurant (Salsipuedes) that was expensive and bland. Skip that one for sure.

Beds are fair, linens are dreadful. Like sleeping on a loofah? This is your bed! Blanket is thin polyester, feels terrible on the skin.

A/c works, which is nice to drown out the sound of the band playing at the hilltop restaurant.

We did love hearing the howler monkeys and seeing the beautiful water...unfortunately Villas can't really take credit for either.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I loved this place. So much so we are buying the unit we stayed in. Not for what it is, but what it could be. This place is in the perfect location if you want to really experience Manuel Antonio. The units are individually owned, so you really need to know which one you are getting. Most can be reserved through the owner. Units 15 and 17 have the best views and are the furthest from the road and restaurant (both of which can be noisy). Unit 17 is the unit we stayed in and it needs some work (but wait until we get our hands on it). Also these two units are street level. If you stay in the upper level of these units you walk right from the car park to your unit, no stairs. If you stay in the lower unit, you only have to deal with one flight of stairs. To be clear each unit is really two units, one up and one down. The upstairs unit has just a bed/bath and large terrace. The lower unit is much larger and has a kitchen and living area. So you would rent 17up or 17down or both.

The view is the best in Manuel Antonio. Hands down. Plus you are right in the middle of it all. The pool area is adequate and I thought the breakfast guy was nice (contrary to previous reviews). The breakfast is just adequate, so if it is an add-on, skip it. My advice would be to reserve through the owner and know the unit you are renting. See picture of that actual unit. Once you get those things down, you will have a great time at this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

This is the second time I've stayed at Villas El Parque and I WILL be going back. I feel nothing but safe here. There are security gates (with cameras) and a night watchman. Plus they provide closets with a lock and key so you can store your stuff while out. All pathway lights were illuminated during our stay and there was no evidence of cut shower screens as indicated by the reviewer before. The staff was also amazing and not only that but lifesavers! Carlos, a manager there, had hired a driver to pick us up at the San Jose airport (3 hours away) however, the driver cancelled that morning. There was no way to get in touch with us since we were flying so Carlos, on his day off, drove the 3 hours to pick us up. He even took us to his favorite soda on the way and bought us lunch! Not too many people would do such a thing. He really came through for us. Where to start with the views... they are spectacular! The squirrel and capuchin monkeys come by daily for your entertainment. There are also great restaurants within walking distance (Agua Azul right next to the hotel is one of the best). The beach is also a short walk down a jungle path where more monkey, sloth and lizard sightings are sure to happen. We saw all these creatures daily. I love this hotel and it’s value and plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We rented villa#15 (which is for sale by the way).Upon arriving, no lights at the complex, had to use cell phone lights to get to unit. Found there was no way to secure upstairs villa due to indoor/outdoor screen in shower. People could come across roof of porch and cut screen to villa. Several villas screens were ALREADY cut we found out in daylight. Manager offered to rent a different villa. Upon checking it out, although listed as vacant, manager found evidence of someone staying there. We opted for elsewhere. Only saw a security guard there 2 nights out of 7. Complex in TOTAL DARKNESS AT NIGHT. VERY SCARY! Owner refuses to refund our money. BUYER BEWARE! May have been nice in 1980's when built, but not now. Find other lodging.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

This was the perfect hotel to be right in the heart of it all in Manuel Antonio. We stayed in a duplex with a full kitchen, 2 private patios with amazing ocean views, for the price of a tiny room in a nearby hotel. Great service as well!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

This villa had an amazing view from the open porch with a hammock on it. Clean and newer bed covers etc, fully stocked kitchen in our unit. We saw tons of wildlife from the porch, staff was pleasant and maids cleaned the room daily. Unfortunately though it did not come with breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas El Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas El Parque

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas El Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villas El Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas El Parque Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel El Parque
El Parque Hotel
Villas El Parque Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas El Parque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.