We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Teca

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Teca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Teca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel is between Quepos and the beach (and NP) but is easy to reach with the bus. There are some nice restaurants within walking distance. We stayed for 3 nights and that was long enough. The room was small and the walls were really thin. You could hear your neighbors talk or their tv. The restaurant was closed (only open for breakfast) when we arrived because we were the only group. The swimming pool is ok, but not really big. I wouldn't describe this hotel as poor so I give it 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    19
    17
    20
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

You can rent a room in a small lodge. The rooms are a little bit outdated, but the surrounding (the nature, green) make up for this.
The staff is friendly.

The location is great, between Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Very helpful and accommodative staff. We were traveling with open vouchers for hotels and though no hotels were listed for Manuel Antonio when we showed up at the Villa Teca Anna gladly accepted ours for two nights. Anna showed us a nice cabana overlooking the beautiful jungle setting. Our room was clean and quiet (except for bird songs). The pool was nice in the afternoon after spending the days around MA. Breakfast was served buffet style in the open area restaurant and very satisfying. The restaurant was closed both nights we were there due to a baby shower on Saturday and Sunday night they just weren't open. It was o.k. because we had plans for dinners away from the hotel.

Another plug for Anna at the front desk. She was nice to help me make reservations for the next leg of our trip. My Spanish is poor and she was very helpful to me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new paltz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We are very experienced with the hotels in this country, and took a chance on the location of this place, it seemed so tranquil and off the main street. We booked in for our last night and were told that we would be given a wake-up call before the breakfast was over, there was no call...we made it in time though unfortunately to the worst meal we had been served in the two weeks of our adventures in Costa Rica. The people in the adjoining room, woke us as the rooms have the thinnest walls in the history of hotel walls. We finally got served the last of everything in the buffet, bologna and deep fried hot-dogs, and some kind of strange cheese-like butter, all of the food tasted off!!! The worst off it all is we have had to deal with Bed Bugs!!!!! They are all over my partners behind, and he has not been able to get over that!! Do NOT stay here, under any circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

In August I had my vacations in Costa Rica for 10 days, my last 3 days I stayed In Manuel Antonio, Villa Teca Hote. This is a medium class place but surrounded by tropical gardens. The first morning we went for breakfast at the terrace and the funny thing was looking the monkeys trying to still my food.
Since this day every morning we shared our food with them. The beach is only 15 minutes away from Playa Espadilla and Manuel Antonio national park is about 10 mins driving.. My next time in Costa Rica I´ll spend it here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had a great time at the hotel. This people need to realize that they are in a third world country. This hotel is not an American style hotel. So dont expect that... if you want that then stay at the holiday inn somewhere. This hotel is a perfect and wonderful Costa Rican hotel.
The staff was friendly and were ready to help with any request you have. They speak English and are a fun group. I stayed with three of my close friends, just out of college we all wanted to have a good time... and we did.
The resturant is a little pricey... but it is good and its right there... the drinks are wonderful.
I think one of the owners (Spainsh guy, we didnt talk to him) and an American friend from DC were staying the same time we were. The American was very friendly and made us feel like we were among friends. We say them often and he always was friendly and spoke to us.
The groups are filled with lush greenery and the most amazing blooming flowers. The staff helped us plan a couple trips and even recommened a nice place to watch the sunset. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Do not book your honeymoon through Flight Centre, or you will end up spending the last days of your honeymoon in a dive like Villa Teca, as we did. Flight Centre booked the wrong dates for our tour and refused to refund or change it so we had to cut our Costa Rica trip short and ended here...big mistake.

First the positives. The cleaning staff were wonderful - they made very artistic use of towels and flowers that were a pleasant surprise when returning to our room. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to a bus stop which will get you to Manuel Antonio for about 50 cents US, so in the day you can save money on cab fare. Elias, who worked there did his best to make us happy when he read the disappointment on our faces. He provided an upgraded room for $35 a night and even threw in a bottle of wine when we told him it was the last days of our honeymoon. This was a nice touch and he certainly did what he could to improve the situation. Unfortunately, the negatives are too numerous to allow us to recommend this hotel.

Negatives. Upon being shown to the room, I nearly said out loud "are you serious?" The room was closed off by a huge solid black wood door that was riveted all around by metal bolts. It literally looked like we were being brought into a medieval dungeon. Inside was a dimly lit small room with barely enough space to put our backpacks on the floor. The beds were equipped with a single sheet, no blankets or comforters. There was a small 2' x 2' window at the back end of the room. I went to open the blinds to let some light in only to find that the window was 2 feet away from the crumbling drainage ditch which rose half way up the window. The remaining view was the grassed slope which was maybe 10 feet away. After spending 10 minutes in the room I felt a panicky sense of claustrophobia and had to leave. The upgraded room was much nicer with larger windows that actually looked out to a garden; blankets on the bed; nice decor and a comfortable private terrace. That said, the price they charge for this room is ridiculous compared to the other hotels available in Manuel Antonio, we were just lucky that it was the green season and they were happy make the extra $140 over 4 nights than have the room unused.

Even in the upgraded room, there were no phones so you are on your own for wake up calls and can only arrange a taxi when the office is open. When we arrived, we were told that the restaurant was closed for the first 2 days we were there and were told that breakfast was served from 7 - 10. However, when we arrived at 9:20 for breakfast, we were told that breakfast ended at 9:00. Given the way my stomach felt after one breakfast though, it may have been a blessing in disguise.

Not having the restaurant open meant walking about 15 minutes to the nearest restaurant along the dark highway with no sidewalk and ridiculous drivers, so we cabbed after a few harrowing encounters with vehicles.

We ended up sacrificing our payment for our last night and booking at another hotel so that our honeymoon would end on a high note. Again, this is as much Flight Centre's fault as Villa Teca's, since we had planned on staying at Lapa Rios as our Grand finale but couldn't due to the fact that the wrong dates were booked.

There are lots of great hotels in the area, look elsewhere. If you get booked here through GAP adventures as we were, ask if there is any alternative as soon as you can.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Teca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Teca

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Teca 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Teca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Teca
Hotel Villa Teca Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Teca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.