We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Teca

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Teca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Teca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really bad at many levels, but the worst is the security. I came with my family by the end of may and apparently the staff was downsized because of the low season so there was no one at the front desk during the night. We needed some one to come to our room and the hotel appeared to be completely unguarded. I can't imagine if a real emergency happens at this place! The hotel is entirely left alone during the night until tha staff shows up in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    17
    17
    20
See reviews for
13
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of December 2012 and was very disappointed by this place. The room, especially the bathroom was not very clean. The staff was not helpful and the restaurant was only open for breakfast really. They did open it for dinner a couple nights but we did not eat there assuming the food would not be very fresh. For the price it just wasn't worth it, I would rather have stayed in a hostel and it probably would have been nicer. I also recommend staying closer to the beaches if possible, this place is almost in Quepos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The location of this hotel is fine. About 10 minutes by car to the entrance of Manuel Antonio park; about 5 minutes from Quepos. Built on a hillside, the rooms are all individual cabins or "casitas". The grounds are lovely - lush gardens abound complete with many varieties of birds and monkeys. The rooms are terrible though! Our first room smelled awful - mould, I think, and the shower was stone cold. Beds, however were ok. They moved us to another room that didn't stink and had hot water, but the bed was AWFUL. The dining room is large and well appointed, but leaked in spots thru the roof. They only served us breakfast due to low number of guests. Brekky was fine but not great. The staff, however, were absolutely wonderful. Very kind and trying their best to be helpful in a situtation that is clearly beyond their capabilities to fix. Somewhere, an absentee owner is leaving them with little to work with. The pool needs repair and had only 3, very uncomfortable chairs. This was once a beautiful hotel that has been neglected and needs some TLC to bring back to life.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our first experience with the hotel was bad because the staff member who was working when we checked in was very rude to us. Things just got worse because we couldn't get the hot water working in our shower, the sheets pulled off the mattress with the slightest movement, and the shower curtain was moldy. The price was right, but our stay was not very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel is a decent place to stay in Manuel Antonio. The villas are scattered around the property. Great pool area. We were there during their low season as we (8 rooms) were the only occupants.
It isn't walking distance to Quepos or Manuel Antonio but there is a bus stop a short walk from the hotel.
When we stayed there the restaurant was only open for breakfast, no other meals or beverages were available. We had to plan ahead to ensure we ate lunch & dinner elsewhere. We were able to grab beers, etc at the grocery store and bring them back to our rooms.
If you are staying out late remember to bring you keys with you as the front office closes. This happened to someone in our group and it took 1 hour to track down someone to let them in their room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Made our reservations late, this was one of the few hotels available. I was nervous after reading previous reviews (most recent from several years ago), but it worked out fine. Got two rooms for one night. Rooms were small but reasonably clean, no bugs. Showers had hot water in the evening but for some reason not in the morning (though a "cold" shower there isn't so bad really). View was **gorgeous**, I enjoyed sitting on the chairs on our porch and staring out at the rain forest -- even saw a monkey in a tree in the distance. The pool was fantastic -- big, comfy, clean, we really enjoyed our evening swim. A colorful frog jumped in and swam around for a while, how fun. Breakfast was solid -- toast, eggs, fruit plate, juice and coffee, just right for us. The door locks were fine, key on outside, manual on the inside (a previous review mentions key lock on both sides -- not the case, at least for our two rooms). AC was strong. The staff guy we met was really super nice and helpful.

The place is about a 5-8 minute walk off the main road if you take a bus; a taxi will take you straight to the door of course. The walk is through a residential area and felt safe. A bus runs along the main road about every 20 min, taking you to the beach, the national park, or back into town (Quepos). We did that, and also took a taxi (cost $8). We took the direct bus from San Jose, and the driver dropped us off at the road (even though a sign on the bus said no unscheduled stops, but everyone does it anyway). There's a restaurant a 3 minute walk from the hotel, didn't eat there but others told us it was great and had nice staff. The hotel restaurant only serves breakfast, is closed the rest of the day. Overall, the place served its purpose, beautiful view, comfy sleep, good AC, nice pool, decent price.

If we came to the national park again, we'd try to stay at a hotel next to Manuel Antonio National Park at the end of the road, so you could walk around at night at would be near restaurants and a grocery. We would NOT stay in Quepos itself, where we'd originally reserved -- it seems like a busy town and other reviews said there were prostitutes out at night, and we did see a big sign at the bus station near the Best Western (our original reservation) telling people not to solicit prostitutes -- it was fine in the day waiting for the bus, great fruit stands, great sodas (that's there name for little cafe), but I can see how that area could get questionable at night. The beach area near the national park, on the other hand, seemed a little nicer.

Oh, Manuel Antonio National Park is really nice, we enjoyed a leisurely walk looking at a few sloths, lizards, and a few monkeys, and a nice swim in the bay. Definitely cool, the kids liked it too.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, cal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had 7 rooms and when we arrived we had the following problems: toliets did not work, toliet paper holder not there, no pillows, one room 64 steps to room, sheets very old ready to fall apart, air not working in rooms. Once we settled in we could not eat since the kitchen had no propane. We were charged for ice, shower was not clean and had little water pressure. Breakfast was no charge unless you wanted bacon or ham, then you had to pay extra. Also, the office was not always open, so you had to learn the hours.
The staff in general was nice and helpful. They did the best they could with this run down hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more going to better hotel or private house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Teca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Teca

Also Known As:
Hotel Teca
Hotel Villa Teca Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Teca 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Teca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Teca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.