We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on the Beach in Manuel Antonio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verde Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Verde Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Verde Mar
, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best location on the Beach in Manuel Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Verde Mar six or seven times, and it has always been a pleasure. There are plenty of fancier hotels on the hill leading into Quepos, but if you want a great hotel on the beach, this place is for you. The location is ideal -- you can walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park. You can walk to Super Joseth grocery which stocks food, beer, wine and Costa Rican coffee. We always get one of the rooms with the kitchette and fridge and it is great. Our favorite beach bar, Balu, is just steps away. If you are not at Balu for happy hour, grab a cerveza frio from your own fridge and enjoy a spectacular sunset on the beach. There is a sloth in the tree right outside the hotel, monkeys cruise through in the afternoon, and you often hear howler monkeys in the early morning. It's not fancy, but the luxurious simplicity of the beach and the natural wonders keeps us coming back year after year.

Room Tip: The WIFI works well in the rooms. It's a small hotel. We have stayed in many of the rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    166
    62
    38
    32
See reviews for
125
161
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great location. Easy access to the beach, within walking distance of the park, shopping and restaurants. The staff is supper friendly and always willing to help. The only problem we had was the gate to the beach was not always working. You would sometimes have to go through the adjoining lot that wasn't maintained.
There is a sloth that lives in the trees on the property, that was very exciting to see for me.
We did not have a TV in our room, not sure about the other rooms, but we did stay in two different rooms and neither had a TV. (we changed rooms because my husband had a injury to his leg and the new room required less steps, not due to a bad room). The Wifi worked very well.
We did not try the food at the hotel, but did eat at the Surf shack located just behind the hotel on the beach and it was very good and low cost(not cheap, but reasonable).

Room Tip: Avoid the loft, it is a beautiful and big room, but the spiral stairs are tight and there is no outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Verde Mar seems custom made for families traveling on a budget. The plain, minimally appointed rooms, which have kitchenettes, did not invite one to linger in there longer than just for sleeping and bathing. They have a decent and heavily used pool. But the nicest thing about the Verde Mar is that it has direct beach access and is also within easy walking distance to the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and the restaurant complex just outside. Agood choice considering the price point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel met all of the needs of our family. We have 4 kids (10-17) so we had to get 2 rooms, but they had kitchenettes, so that saved us some money. There's a grocery store in walking distance-- it's pricey, but has some American offerings for when the kids just wanted spaghetti. The beach is right in the backyard, everything is in walking distance, there were monkeys in the trees outside, the hotel rents body boards, and we really enjoyed our stay. I gave it a 4 just because it wasn't quite as nice as the other places we stayed in Costa Rica, but I don't really have any complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently stayed five nights at Verde Mar. It was a good experience all the way around. My room was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect on the best beach in Costa Rica! Hats off to the chef for preparing a great Lobster dinner for two. Anna was very helpful at the front desk as all hotel staff were very friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was my second trip to Hotel Verde Mar, having stayed there in 2010 as well. It is a basic, conveniently located hotel right on the beach and within walking distance of the park. Most of the staff were very helpful. So why the poor rating?

We wanted to eat at a restaurant at the top of the hill. Since we were wary of taxi drivers who overcharge and take advantage of tourists, I asked Carlos at the desk if he could call a taxi. At other hotels where I had stayed, this was a good way to find honest, reliable transportation. Carlos said he had a "friend" who was a taxi driver. His friend charged us 4 times the rate it should have been. We walked home after dinner. After I complained, Carlos was not particularly friendly for the rest of the trip. I understand that hotels make commissions for booking tours--that is fine. But I also want to stay in a place where I can trust the staff not to take advantage of customers by setting us up with a "friend" who is ripping people off.

Then, when I was looking for a shuttle to San Jose, Carlos told us it would be a lot more expensive than we had originally been told. I walked down the street to a restaurant that booked tours. He made one phone call and booked us a shuttle for $40 cheaper!

This could be a perfect place to stay if the management did not allow a staff member to treat customers this way. (All other staff members were most helpful).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We found the hotel to be basic but very comfortable, we stayed for 8 nights, nice with kitchenettes so we could fix our own breakfasts, the staff were very friendly and helpful, aranged some activities for us with just 1 days notice, very close to the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park and the fabulous beach, close to the bus stop if you want to go into Quepos which takes around 15 minutes, close to shops, supermarket and restaurants. Would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#23 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karahe Hotel
Karahe Hotel
#33 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#17 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#30 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#34 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verde Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Mar

Address: , Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Verde Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verde Mar Hotel
Hotel Verde Mar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verde Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.