We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verde Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Verde Mar
Save
You added Hotel Verde Mar to your Saves list
Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Topeka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice clean spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great location. Easy access to the beach, within walking distance of the park, shopping and restaurants. The staff is supper friendly and always willing to help. The only problem we had was the gate to the beach was not always working. You would sometimes have to go through the adjoining lot that wasn't maintained.
There is a sloth that lives in the trees on the property, that was very exciting to see for me.
We did not have a TV in our room, not sure about the other rooms, but we did stay in two different rooms and neither had a TV. (we changed rooms because my husband had a injury to his leg and the new room required less steps, not due to a bad room). The Wifi worked very well.
We did not try the food at the hotel, but did eat at the Surf shack located just behind the hotel on the beach and it was very good and low cost(not cheap, but reasonable).

Room Tip: Avoid the loft, it is a beautiful and big room, but the spiral stairs are tight and there is no outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    133
    51
    31
    27
See reviews for
94
134
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Verde Mar seems custom made for families traveling on a budget. The plain, minimally appointed rooms, which have kitchenettes, did not invite one to linger in there longer than just for sleeping and bathing. They have a decent and heavily used pool. But the nicest thing about the Verde Mar is that it has direct beach access and is also within easy walking distance to the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and the restaurant complex just outside. Agood choice considering the price point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel met all of the needs of our family. We have 4 kids (10-17) so we had to get 2 rooms, but they had kitchenettes, so that saved us some money. There's a grocery store in walking distance-- it's pricey, but has some American offerings for when the kids just wanted spaghetti. The beach is right in the backyard, everything is in walking distance, there were monkeys in the trees outside, the hotel rents body boards, and we really enjoyed our stay. I gave it a 4 just because it wasn't quite as nice as the other places we stayed in Costa Rica, but I don't really have any complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently stayed five nights at Verde Mar. It was a good experience all the way around. My room was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect on the best beach in Costa Rica! Hats off to the chef for preparing a great Lobster dinner for two. Anna was very helpful at the front desk as all hotel staff were very friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was my second trip to Hotel Verde Mar, having stayed there in 2010 as well. It is a basic, conveniently located hotel right on the beach and within walking distance of the park. Most of the staff were very helpful. So why the poor rating?

We wanted to eat at a restaurant at the top of the hill. Since we were wary of taxi drivers who overcharge and take advantage of tourists, I asked Carlos at the desk if he could call a taxi. At other hotels where I had stayed, this was a good way to find honest, reliable transportation. Carlos said he had a "friend" who was a taxi driver. His friend charged us 4 times the rate it should have been. We walked home after dinner. After I complained, Carlos was not particularly friendly for the rest of the trip. I understand that hotels make commissions for booking tours--that is fine. But I also want to stay in a place where I can trust the staff not to take advantage of customers by setting us up with a "friend" who is ripping people off.

Then, when I was looking for a shuttle to San Jose, Carlos told us it would be a lot more expensive than we had originally been told. I walked down the street to a restaurant that booked tours. He made one phone call and booked us a shuttle for $40 cheaper!

This could be a perfect place to stay if the management did not allow a staff member to treat customers this way. (All other staff members were most helpful).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We found the hotel to be basic but very comfortable, we stayed for 8 nights, nice with kitchenettes so we could fix our own breakfasts, the staff were very friendly and helpful, aranged some activities for us with just 1 days notice, very close to the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park and the fabulous beach, close to the bus stop if you want to go into Quepos which takes around 15 minutes, close to shops, supermarket and restaurants. Would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel Verde Mar is a BASIC, inexpensive choice of accommodation, walking distance to to Manuel Antonio National Park. This being said, we found the rooms to be spacious and clean, and the staff was very helpful, friendly, and did what ever we asked to make our stay a good one. The little kitchen areas in each room were great! They were well equipped with dishes, pans, and coffee maker, and they were tiled in cheery yellow and blue Mexican tile. I also loved the monkey themed bedspreads and curtains on the large windows.

We were a large group, so we had all three types of rooms:
1. a room with two queen beds, a kitchen, and large walk in closet with shelves on the second story.
2. a room with king bed and kitchen by the pool (kind of loud until the pool closed).
3. a one bedroom with kitchen and sofa bed located just under the office. (This room smelled quite strongly of mold, so I would not recommend this room during the wet season or if you are allergic to mold.)

We liked the location, however the beach was so, so very crowed. We went most days to the beaches at Manuel Antonio. It was worth the $10 and the walk. We took the bare minimum... towel, water, and snacks and stayed the day.

Room Tip: Rooms by pool could be noisy in the evenings before the pool closes. Room under the office had a str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Verde Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Mar

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Verde Mar Hotel
Hotel Verde Mar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verde Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.