We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vela Bar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Vela Bar to your Saves list
Hotel Vela Bar
Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights to hike Manuel Antonio NP. The hotel was one and a half blocks from the town beach and within walking distance to the National Park entrance. The room price was very reasonable and included a nice breakfast, room service, wifi, beautiful landscaped grounds, privacy, cleanliness and a well-kept swimming pool. The bellowing of Howler Monkeys in the nearby forest served as our wakeup call the first morning! Spider monkeys entertained us the next day.
There were also plenty of restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance and we never moved the rental car once we arrived. Laundry service was available across the street. All-in-all a perfect place to stay for us!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This year is the third time we have stayed at Hotel Vela Bar, with the first two times being in 2012 and 2013. Since we last stayed there, Hotel Vela Bar has changed ownership and undergone extensive renovations, most notably with the addition of a pool and a new wing of deluxe rooms.

While we didn't recognize any of the staff this time, they were extremely friendly and accommodating. Not knowing about the changes that had taken place since our last visit, we didn't know about the new rooms. Upon arrival, we requested to move, and they were very helpful. I can say without exaggeration that the deluxe rooms we stayed in (we had to move rooms, as we got them last minute) were the two nicest hotel rooms we have stayed in in Manuel Antonio (and that includes at more expensive places further up the hill). Everything was brand new, and very clean. They have provided new beds not just in the new wing, but also in the older rooms, and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. I haven't been this well rested in Costa Rica before!

Prices have gone up a little, as one might expect after a major overhaul. That said, the older rooms are still eminently affordable (available for under $100/night), and the deluxe rooms are only about $150/night before tax (and well worth it).

The only very minor suggestion I have would be for the management to work on the wifi situation. In several of the older rooms (based on previous experience and our first night in one of them this time), there is no reception at all. The reception in the deluxe rooms, it should be noted, is very good. Granted, one doesn't want to spend one's vacation in Costa Rica online all the time, but it's important for many travelers to have this service.

The new pool is lovely, but perhaps a little more shade can be provided over part of the pool itself. This is especially advisable considering that the pool rules ask guests not to be in the water with sunscreen (though I never saw this rule enforced).

Come to Hotel Vela Bar if you want to be close to the park in a comfortable, friendly environment, and pay a little extra for the deluxe room!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have wifi in the room, older rooms often don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located only 1/2 km from from Manuel Antonio National Park and Playa Espadilla del Norte.

Pros:
- Location, location, location
- Free breakfast
- Friendly, helpful staff
- Cleanliness

Cons:
- Our room was small, but I think they have larger rooms to choose from
- VERY basic

Room Tip: Don't go with the budget room like we did. It's worth it to spend a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Vela Bar for three nights while visiting Manuel Antonio. The location is fabulous. It's an easy walk to the park and to the public beach. The rooms are clean and cozy. The restaurant had some of the best meals we had eaten during our Costa Rica visit. The restaurant staff was very helpful and welcoming.

Danika, who works at the front desk, was amazing. We came to Manuel Antonio with no set plans. When Danika asked us what type of activities we liked, she worked to find us guides for the Park (during a rain storm) and for a mangrove kayak tour. She also helped us to practice our minimal Spanish.

We highly recommend Hotel Vela Bar......it is a wonderful place to stay. ....

Hotel Vela Bar es muy excelente!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Hotel Vela Bar for two nights and were satisfied. The grounds and the rooms are nice and private even though the location is very close to the Park....just a minute or two walk to the gate (and also just a walk down the road to the beach). Our room was wonderfully clean..spotless and the a/c worked great! In room safe. Simple breakfast included. Beds were really comfortable...we slept great. No regrets about staying here.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Beautiful property, beautifully maintained gardens and pool, very good breakfast included in the stay, fantastic location, very private, and very comfortable beds (best of the 4 hotels we stayed in on our trip).

Cons: rooms could use some updating. Bathroom was pretty basic: cracked tiles, no hot water in the sink, still use "suicide shower" (that is, no hot water supply - water is electrically heated on demand with an element that was taped to the shower head with masking tape)...

Reception wasn't overly warm but pleasant enough!

Would recommend if price is right. You didn't come to Costa Rica to stay inside your hotel room, after all!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Vela Bar doesn't have the nicest rooms, but the location is pretty unbeatable. It is both walking distance to the free beach and to the entrance of the park. The customer service is pretty good and the hotel grounds are nice. If you are looking for a relatively nice place to stay that is in the perfect location, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vela Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela Bar

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Beach hotel located in one of the most beautiful areas of Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio Beaches in Puntarenas Quepos, just 200 meters from the entrance to the most visited Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park, characterized by beautiful beaches, stunning National Park views, incredible sunsets, where you can admire a unique nature, few of his steps to admire the beauty of a troop of titi monkeys, or delight your ears with the murmur of the howler monkeys or the acrobatics of white face monkeys, in order flora and fauna within your reach in a natural setting. Come and enjoy it and remember Costa Rica is "PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vela Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vela Bar Hotel
Hotel Vela Bar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vela Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.